• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nice weather in bangkok this morning

Let me check for you the different types of long term visas available here and conditions. Obviously mine is work permit that requires to be renewed annually and had been doing this for the past 4 years. (they rarely give more than a year as what I heard cos the agencies that help foreigners get visa legally charges quite a bit and pay coffee money to immigration so this is a constant income for them but its worth and fair).

I do not think he has much options. Visa run is the only cheap option for him.

Drift does not seems to want to set up a company in Thailand. He can do his own visa run up to 90 days and then using agent help to get another 90 days. So this will set him and his wife up for 6 months. Do that every 6 months. That is tourist visa. But pls check the law for that if the thai authorities will ask you for coffee for this. My farang frens uses a mixture of all these to stay long term.

Or Both of them can sign up to learn Thai language but that is only up to maxi of 5 years with yearly renewal and they will test ur thai language skills yearly. So this is not a very good option for him if he wants to retire.

Or he can use a fake company. hehe.. check with property agent. Many farang do that to own a house but got to pay the property agent all the fees for that. I do not recommend this unless you have business or welfare system in other country to feed you.

My personal choice is to find a job in thailand or have a real business in thailand. and then marry in thailand. That means to middle finger the sinkie govt while enjoying life elsewhere without much legal hassle.

Thanks. I got the lights from a LED shop who also does advertising sign boards just 3km from my place. I got 36 tubes each 80cm long. The shop supply and install because lots of wiring required including 3 control boxes. Took 5 fellas 5 hours to install all these on my 7 trees.

I've been renting this place for 2 years now and I spent quite a bit to redo the entire garden and even some parts of the house with the agreement that I must leave all these here when I move. But its all worth. Also just signed with owner for another 2 years and 6 months while my own place is beginning to start work Q2 of next year. (of course must use company to buy la, foreigner can only buy condo, so legally own by company and lease to me for like 200 years or something). This is the way to overcome the laws here. Every foreigner does that.

wow...not easy to install those lights ...i thought just hang on the trees and on the switch ..:wink:

if i dont have a company in thailand ...can i buy house and not condo in thailand ?

Phuket, half-town half-beach atmosphere, best of both worlds. :smile:

i used to stay in phuket for about 2 years ...i still prefer koh samui cause once a month i can take a 45mins ferry to koh phanghan for the full-moon party ....:biggrin:

Let me check for you the different types of long term visas available here and conditions. Obviously mine is work permit that requires to be renewed annually and had been doing this for the past 4 years. (they rarely give more than a year as what I heard cos the agencies that help foreigners get visa legally charges quite a bit and pay coffee money to immigration so this is a constant income for them but its worth and fair).

so its possible that farang without any work permit to stay in thai ? during my stay in phuket i have to go out thailand every 3 months ..its troublesome . i dont mind paying for one year visa ...heard its just 10,000bht .

Forvendet

i used to stay in phuket for about 2 years ...i still prefer koh samui cause once a month i can take a 45mins ferry to koh phanghan for the full-moon party ....:biggrin:

Oh, so you more Thailand expert already. I'm tourist only, the usual places, Bangkok, Phuket, Hatyai...

Drift does not seems to want to set up a company in Thailand. He can do his own visa run up to 90 days and then using agent help to get another 90 days. So this will set him and his wife up for 6 months. Do that every 6 months. That is tourist visa. But pls check the law for that if the thai authorities will ask you for coffee for this. My farang frens uses a mixture of all these to stay long term.

Or Both of them can sign up to learn Thai language but that is only up to maxi of 5 years with yearly renewal and they will test ur thai language skills yearly. So this is not a very good option for him if he wants to retire.

Or he can use a fake company. hehe.. check with property agent. Many farang do that to own a house but got to pay the property agent all the fees for that. I do not recommend this unless you have business or welfare system in other country to feed you.

My personal choice is to find a job in thailand or have a real business in thailand. and then marry in thailand. That means to middle finger the sinkie govt while enjoying life elsewhere without much legal hassle.

Looks like you're the man Tonychat. Sums up everything. But Drifter, I'll still check with my agent if there're additional choices to what Tonychat had advised.

I'm very lucky to have very good Thai (Chinese) partners here. And they "get things around" like I pay no tax here while income is transfer to Singapore and also pay no tax in Singapore as income is derived from overseas (I got IRAS to give me an email to confirm this already). Bestest of the best. All expenses "ah gong siao". Cannot be bester than this bestest anymore. And of course life is so SABHAI here.

thankyou for your infor ...by the way is internet business consider as business in thailand ? thought of doing some art work and sell on the net .

wow...not easy to install those lights ...i thought just hang on the trees and on the switch ..:wink:

if i dont have a company in thailand ...can i buy house and not condo in thailand ?

Drifter, many farangs own very beautiful beach side or mountain mansions in Thailand without a company here. I don't know how they did it but in Thailand everything is possible because THB connects people with solutions.

yes...i know that , i also dont know how they do it .... :confused:

Forvendet

not really expert ...i just know a little bit more then tourist ...:smile:

my house in phuket ( blue colour buliding ) from the balcony seaview ..

http://s696.photobucket.com/albums/vv329/reptileslover/?action=view&current=PHUKET005.jpg

http://s696.photobucket.com/albums/vv329/reptileslover/?action=view&current=PHUKET032.jpg

That's very nice. Congrats! :smile:
icon14.gif

Wah lau eh. You really into sea sports. Ya ya islands will be your choice. Cool.

im really sick and tired of city life ...even in japan , every weekend during summer i will take a one hour drive to chiba for surfing . and for winter i will go nagano for snowboarding .....:smile: . i wish to get out of city as soon as possible ..

That's a big house for Tokyo. You live in Tokyo now? If you sell that house and move to Thailand, you become royalty!

i dont wish to sell ...maybe just rent out ... as i said , im in half retired mode now ..:smile: by the way , i just sold my business recently ...going to be full-time artist ....in thai . :smile: yes , i stay in tokyo , edogawa ku . anyway , its not that big , only 3 bedrooms ..

thankyou for your infor ...by the way is internet business consider as business in thailand ? thought of doing some art work and sell on the net .

There is an option to register an internet business. They have an option particularly for that but i think you need a thai to register that as well with you. You got to do more homework beside asking for info here. Thaivisa.com and some thai business or embassy website. google pls.