• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Low ratings for local dramas

metalslug

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=33854

Low ratings for local dramas

Viewers say the lack of variety, unrealistic dialogue and similar plots turn them off.

Is local TV drama in dire straits?

Even Singapore's original TV First Couple, Huang Wenyong and Xiang Yun, cannot prevent current MediaCorp Channel 8 drama series, The Score, from, well, failing to score good ratings.

In fact, it might even have less than half the number of viewers a top-rated local drama gets.

Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao recently reported that The Score has a viewership rating of between 10 and 11 per cent since it debuted in the traditional prime time slot of 9pm on Oct 4. On some nights, the rating even fell to a single digit. The series, a soap opera *** crime drama, will end next Friday.

In 2007, Like Father Like Daughter, a popular Channel 8 drama in the same time slot, achieved 20.5 per cent in ratings. The Little Nyonya, MediaCorp's most-watched series in the last eight years, chalked up a rating of about 26.3 per cent, or about 934,000 viewers.

One percentage point is equivalent to 1 per cent of all TV households in Singapore.

A MediaCorp spokesman responded to Life!'s queries, saying: 'The average reach of The Score is 14.3 per cent.'

However, she did not refute the lowest-rating figure of a single digit, as reported in the Chinese paper.

The Score's poor showing may not be an exception. Earlier this year, Korean drama Cruel Temptation, which ended its run on Channel U recently, dealt a ratings blow to Channel 8's home-grown production, the family drama Your Hand In Mine. The 94-episode drama became the first Korean series to beat a local production showing in the same time slot on Channel 8.

The poor ratings do not surprise some viewers who have stopped watching Channel 8 dramas.

Customer service manager Eva Siow, 30, says: 'Local scriptwriters and producers lack creativity. The plots of many Channel 8 drama series are very similar and sometimes I can't even tell them apart.'

Lianhe Wanbao entertainment journalist Tan Chew Yen agrees. She says: 'The main problem with local dramas is their lack of variety. All year round, we get regular doses of family drama.'

Account executive Ken Kuan, 28, says he and his family have not followed a Channel 8 drama since they subscribed to cable TV more than five years ago.

His biggest bugbear is the 'unrealistic dialogue' in local dramas. 'Who talks like that in real life? I cringe every time I switch to Channel 8.'

Life!'s Asian TV reviewer Foong Woei Wan elaborates on this shortcoming in local drama scripting. 'With some Channel 8 dramas, you don't get a sense of the complex, multilingual reality of Singapore,' she says. 'In the Zoe Tay housewife drama La Femme, you have people saying 'songbing' and not 'muffin'. Who says 'songbing'?

'It's more believable to have characters who can discuss important dramatic stuff in Mandarin, but who would still say 'muffin'. But as it is, some dramas seem to take place in some strange parallel universe.'

She compares the situation here to Hong Kong, where TV scriptwriters have no qualms about using English buzzwords to add a dose of reality to the lines.

While retail supervisor Chen Wenxin, 38, says he watches Channel 8 dramas, he notices 'the TV company seems to like to promote the good-looking actors, rather than the experienced ones'.

The result, he says, is mediocre acting dished out by 'the newbies'.

This also bugs Ms Foong, who misses former TV thespians such as Xie Shaoguang, 'who are charismatic actors capable of filling up the screen on their own'.

Consultant Wayne Weng, 29, says he watches local dramas, but only some of those shown on Channel U, as 'they usually have better cinematography and direction and are more innovative as well'.

He was referring to recent Channel U shows such as The Illusionist, which aired in March and starred Thomas Ong.

Despite the recent spate of poor ratings, Channel 8 dramas still have their regular supporters.

Retiree Wee Siew Eng, 60, says she enjoyed Ann Kok's portrayal of an abused wife in The Family Court, which aired just before The Score.

'She is pretty and acts well. If we don't watch local shows, who will?'

Despite his grouses, Mr Chen will also continue to watch Channel 8 dramas - out of necessity.

'The cost of living is already high enough, so I don't want to spend more money on cable TV subscription. Besides, Channel 8 dramas can be rather entertaining in terms of how bad they can be.'

No wonder the people who work there get so little bonus. Local TV is just getting from bad to worse. I've not tuned in to a local production for..erm, more than a year?

Local drama taken over by Taiwan/Korea. Singapore are doom. Most cannot act in natural way. All just read script with very fake acting.
Boring script with lousy actor& actress.

metalslug

Must pay that $100+ so-called TV License to those suckers some more...

Local drama taken over by Taiwan/Korea. Singapore are doom. Most cannot act in natural way. All just read script with very fake acting.
Boring script with lousy actor& actress.

... Low ratings for local dramas

Viewers say the lack of variety, unrealistic dialogue and similar plots turn them off. ...
datz impossible! ...

mediacorp has boasted winning so many awards ... how can ze local dramas b lousy? ... :rolleyes:

it muz b dat local peasants have no hi crass, elite taste ... gif dem world crass shows dey oso dunno how 2 appreciate ... :mad:

MediaCorp wins 13 awards at PromaxBDA World Gold Awards

SINGAPORE: MediaCorp garnered 13 awards at the 2010 PromaxBDA World Gold Awards in Los Angeles.

The broadcaster won four golds, four silvers and five bronzes in the event held from June 22-24.

PromaxBDA is the world's premier body for marketing, promotion and design professionals working in the entertainment and information industry.

BusNo64

everytime when i see these cheebye kia fuckers, i will turn off my tv:

1. Mark lee :oIo:
2. Gurmit singh :oIo:
3. Desmond koh :oIo:
4. Bryan Wong :oIo:

Who's that younger guy who's trying to imitate Jack Neo cross-dressing as auntie? He's the worst of all!

BusNo64

Who's that younger guy who's trying to imitate Jack Neo cross-dressing as auntie? He's the worst of all!

zhou chong qing 周崇庆

images

if i am his parents...i go commit suicide liao...wat a fucking disgraceful chow ah kua....siah sway lang...:mad:

Sideswipe

Auntie Lucy makes me want to puke but many viewers enjoyed that otherwise "she" wouldn't be appearing so often on TV.

NoelVermillion

Mediacorp dramas has already been going downhill since the start of the new millennium. The dramas in the 80s and 90s were pretty decent imo. And about Mediacorp winning awards, I am sure there are many competitors in Singapore. :rolleyes:

silverfox@

datz impossible! ...

mediacorp has boasted winning so many awards ... how can ze local dramas b lousy? ... :rolleyes:

it muz b dat local peasants have no hi crass, elite taste ... gif dem world crass shows dey oso dunno how 2 appreciate ... :mad:

The other time my friend told me this funny article he read in papers.

People complain to Mediacorp about this taiwan drama serial "Ai Love".

They complain every week only on Sat and Sun and so few hours. By the time drama serial haven't finish, they also have to submit IC.
I supposed the writer must be in the elderly group.

So Mediacorp start to put it on Monday to Sunday. Extra hours on Saturday, Sunday. Then another group of writers complain again. They complain, every day put "Ai", they cannot go out with friends, must go home chase drama.

This is the dilemma:biggrin: No matter do how good also will have people complain

QXD

We used to laugh at Hindi movies rehashing the same formula over and over again in all their movies, i.e.- Couple dancing around trees, mass calisthenics a.k.a the group dance.

Now we pay TCS millions in TV licensing to watch the same crap and see butt-fuckers get kelong star awards for acting and producing shit year after year.

Ironic.

BusNo64

i really really hate dat fucking song...every evening hear dat fucking song 7pm sharp at coffeeshop or foodcourt...fucking irrating....KNNBPCB...:mad::oIo:

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Yk40MHby3bQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Yk40MHby3bQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Talking Donkey

Alfrescian (S)
Mediacorp has got to wake up their ideas,all their drama is boring...the director and producer need to be shot..
They should do more hot sizzling scene in which actress like xiang yun,felicia,fann,pang lingling,zoe,ann kok,joanne..etc..hot scenes which allow the actors to slowly taking off their bra..or in the shower...dun have to really show their nipples just 1/3 of their breast will do..these actress also need to sometime without their bra wear tight polo shirts or see through shirt to show their nipples like those western dramas serials...
if the director or producer can do what i have suggest all the above he can rest assure their rating will shoot up right across the board to an all time high never seen before.:wink:

hotbot

i find 爱 very boring, suits pple without much brawns or simply naive,like PAP supporters. if one enjoy seeing women bitching around,this is a good show. There was once while having makan, i heard the ringtone of an uncle's handphone also put the theme song. I laughed!:p:biggrin:

They complain every week only on Sat and Sun and so few hours. By the time drama serial haven't finish, they also have to submit IC.
I supposed the writer must be in the elderly group.

So Mediacorp start to put it on Monday to Sunday. Extra hours on Saturday, Sunday. Then another group of writers complain again. They complain, every day put "Ai", they cannot go out with friends, must go home chase drama.

This is the dilemma:biggrin: No matter do how good also will have people complain

Varuna

I see it as their own doing. They chose to live like a frog in a well by creating STAR AWARD yearly to deceive and self-reward themselves with the honour they think they should be getting. The well creates a comfort zone full of self-praise and false illusions, totally sheltered from the harsh reality out there. The result we see today is the manifestation of the mentality and "fall-sight" of the management. I think they decide to play it in their own small league of no competition. Like that, it will be too much of us to ask of them to be good or improve. We can't force a horse to drink water if it doesn't want to. We will go for other horses.

silverfox@

i find 爱 very boring, suits pple without much brawns or simply naive,like PAP supporters. if one enjoy seeing women bitching around,this is a good show. There was once while having makan, i heard the ringtone of an uncle's handphone also put the theme song. I laughed!:p:biggrin:

You must be watching it regularly, to find it boring :p

Sideswipe

i really really hate dat fucking song...every evening hear dat fucking song 7pm sharp at coffeeshop

don't know why Mediacorp didn't change the theme song at all throughout the mega long drama. ( copyright issues? ) Taiwan version has 5 theme songs.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/KUQMnR08x7Q?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/KUQMnR08x7Q?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>