• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thinking of getting E bikes

nayr69sg

Staff member
Seems nice. Fat tires will be comfortable too.
From the video they mentioned the safety aspect of the battery at 4:50

Got UL2271 safety standard also over charge, over temperature and individual cell monitoring protection.

Does that sound good to you?

CharKuayTeow

From the video they mentioned the safety aspect of the battery at 4:50

Got UL2271 safety standard also over charge, over temperature and individual cell monitoring protection.

Does that sound good to you?

Yes. UL2271 is an excellent safety standard for the battery assembly. Does it also have UL2272 certification for the electrical system as a whole? You want both.

CharKuayTeow

No UL2272 certification, but they say their electronics monitors individual cells and also protects against over temp and over voltage, so you should be ok. They use a Bafang motor, which is well regarded.

Better practice lifting heavy things though, it’s 28kg, par for the course with e-bikes.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Yes. UL2271 is an excellent safety standard for the battery assembly. Does it also have UL2272 certification for the electrical system as a whole? You want both.
No mention on electrical system

Seems to be a USA company in Washington

nayr69sg

Staff member
No UL2272 certification, but they say their electronics monitors individual cells and also protects against over temp and over voltage, so you should be ok. They use a Bafang motor, which is well regarded.

Better practice lifting heavy things though, it’s 28kg, par for the course with e-bikes.
Thanks!

Looks good quality wise. Price is slightly above what I wanted for myself but is a lot more than the Gotrax one for wife.

I guess safety important. And Costco return policy is the best around.

CharKuayTeow

And Costco return policy is the best around.

Best company ever.

15 years ago, I foolishly bought a king sized pillow top mattress from them. A year later, the mattress had developed a depression in the center (duh, I should have known better). My back was killing me, so out of desperation, I called, somewhat embarrassed, to ask if there was anyway to return the mattress. Costco not only refunded my money, but arranged for people to come by and pack/ship the mattress back for me!

I’m a loyal customer for life!

Best company ever.

15 years ago, I foolishly bought a king sized pillow top mattress from them. A year later, the mattress had developed a depression in the center (duh, I should have known better). My back was killing me, so out of desperation, I called, somewhat embarrassed, to ask if there was anyway to return the mattress. Costco not only refunded my money, but arranged for people to come by and pack/ship the mattress back for me!

I’m a loyal customer for life!

Good marketing attracts new customers.

Good aftersales service retains old customers.

Don't mean to derail but wanna ask TS why not consider getting a real bike? My life was forever changed since July when I got a real bike or rather two.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Don't mean to derail but wanna ask TS why not consider getting a real bike? My life was forever changed since July when I got a real bike or rather two.
We got real bikes already. As mentioned earlier we had trouble getting around in the mountains with the uphills. We not fit lah.

Also I think we used the gears wrongly. Will go try again maybe this weekend and see if use of gears properly results in being able to pedal uphill better or not.

Wife is the one say she wants to get e-bike. Our little girl rides with her so she has added weight on her bike. The good E bikes are costly. Our bikes cost around $100+ bought 10 years ago.

20211014_091423.jpg

LordElrond

My uncle think for a cuntry without any leestrictions a ebike comes verlee handy for dailee convenience . Yesterday my uncle saw a abled chio milf around 40s used a motorised wheelchair to overcome the leestriction of a ebike to fetch her kindergarten son or grandson to class and doing marketing KNN my uncle thought she is a leesabled until when she unmounted from the wheelchair to carry the kid wtf KNN
Also commonly used by obese old farts

CharKuayTeow

Good marketing attracts new customers.

Good aftersales service retains old customers.

Another fun story... years ago, I bought something at a Costco in the US. Later that year, I was in Taiwan and actually returned it to them there. Costco in Taiwan didn't even sell the thing (I can't remember what it was now, but it wasn't expensive), but still honoured their return policy. I don't know if they do this these days though.

CharKuayTeow

Also I think we used the gears wrongly. Will go try again maybe this weekend and see if use of gears properly results in being able to pedal uphill better or not.

Looks like you have mountain bikes. The fat tires will absorb some of your energy, so keep them inflated to the right pressure. They should have low enough gears.

Plenty of videos about how to use gears properly. Here's one article: https://mountaintreads.com/guide-to-mountain-bike-gears/

If gears not low enough, ask your local bike store to see if your cassette (rear nest of sprockets) needs to be changed out, they are sometimes still too high since a lot of people with mountain bikes never actually go mountain biking, so companies put higher gears in them to for more speed on flat surfaces.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Looks like you have mountain bikes. The fat tires will absorb some of your energy, so keep them inflated to the right pressure. They should have low enough gears.

Plenty of videos about how to use gears properly. Here's one article: https://mountaintreads.com/guide-to-mountain-bike-gears/

If gears not low enough, ask your local bike store to see if your cassette (rear nest of sprockets) needs to be changed out, they are sometimes still too high since a lot of people with mountain bikes never actually go mountain biking, so companies put higher gears in them to for more speed on flat surfaces.
Thanks for the link. Good article!

Yeah I understand it better now. Might end up not needing the e bikes. Haha!

nayr69sg

Staff member
Another fun story... years ago, I bought something at a Costco in the US. Later that year, I was in Taiwan and actually returned it to them there. Costco in Taiwan didn't even sell the thing (I can't remember what it was now, but it wasn't expensive), but still honoured their return policy. I don't know if they do this these days though.
All this Costco return policy stuff is quite amazing.

I have seen people in queue with a dead plant in pot or tree with no more leaves and they return it at Costco. They will say oh it died over winter. And they get refund!

Trays of beef steaks, chicken, melted ice cream also all can return and get refund.

And these are people of all races. White, hispanic, filipino, chinese, indian, middle eastern, african.

I was joking with the wife. We can buy the e bikes and when the battery is dead ------return to Costco? Despicable right? But then I am sure many do it and they do get their money back.

We got real bikes already. As mentioned earlier we had trouble getting around in the mountains with the uphills. We not fit lah.

Wife is the one say she wants to get e-bike. Our little girl rides with her so she has added weight on her bike. The good E bikes are costly. Our bikes cost around $100+ bought 10 years ago.

View attachment 125055
I do apologize for the misunderstanding when I mentioned real bike I actually meant like them

nayr69sg

Staff member
I do apologize for the misunderstanding when I mentioned real bike I actually meant like them

Oh.....LOL!

Uhmmm that one need to take lessons and pass licence test etc.

No lah. And I dont intend to use e bikes on road at all. Only the pathways in mountain and around my neighborhood. Maybe if can use it on biking trails also.

Motorbike.......different lah.