• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Why Malays find their Muslim identity to be more salient than their "Malay" ancestry

flatearther

Re: Why Malays find their Muslim identity to be more salient than their "Malay" ance

No Malay Christians, No Malay Jews, No Malay Hindus, No Malay Buddhists. I think it's more appropriate to call them Muslim Malays, they are homogeneously muslims.
Yes, I agree; either "Malay Muslims" or "Muslim Malays". :wink:

Do al ara-m&ds (the Malays) have an identity independent of foreign religions and cultures?
They used to:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Melayu_Kingdom
but not anymore:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Malays_(ethnic_group)#Religion
wikipedia.org/wiki/Malayness
wikipedia.org/wiki/Article_160_of_the_Constitution_of_Malaysia
"The article defines a “Malay” as a person who professes the religion of Islam, habitually speaks the Malay language, conforms to Malay custom and (a) was before Merdeka Day born in the Federation or in Singapore or born of parents one of whom was born in the Federation or in Singapore, or is on that day domiciled in the Federation or in Singapore; or (b) is the issue of such a person; As a result, Malay citizens who convert out of Islam are no longer considered Malay under the law. Hence, the Bumiputra privileges afforded to Malays under Article 153 of the Constitution, the New Economic Policy (NEP), etc. are forfeit for such converts.

Likewise, a non-Malay Malaysian who converts to Islam can lay claim to Bumiputra privileges, provided he meets the other conditions.
"

whoami

Re: Why Malays find their Muslim identity to be more salient than their "Malay" ance

Oh so he is Indian Christian. I know this duluxe is Indian all along but not the Christian part. He must be the mudlander ah neh together with SINKIE and other JB bastards mudlander thieves stealing my pics and in cahoot with filthy shit skins from India commited filthy shit crime.

So many JiuHuKia n pundek kia. Shld fcuk them out of Msia..back to their ancestral hole.

Ed Chigliak

No Malay Christians, No Malay Jews, No Malay Hindus, No Malay Buddhists. I think it's more appropriate to call them Muslim Malays, they are homogeneously muslims.

I have worked with Philipinos a long time ago. Their identification document shows their race as "Malay" and religion as "Catholic" i.e Malay Catholics.

From what I understand from the Spore government, they do no "recognise" these group of Philipinos as "Malays" in the spore context. They are considered as "Others".
Things might have changed now...I do not know.

In the same line, you have Chinese-Christians, Chinese-Muslims, Chinese-Babi (in the case of Jah's clones), Indian Christians, Indian Muslims. And yes..there are Singaporean Malay-Catholics. For the most part, I will loosely put that most of our Spore malays are Malay-Muslims.

EC

So many JiuHuKia n pundek kia. Shld fcuk them out of Msia..back to their ancestral hole.

Yes like my barbarian mudlander Chinese neighbours and the mudlander chinese/Ah neh bastards in this forum harming me non stop certainly deserved to be sent back to China and India.. what's the use of being same race when they don't care and cahoot with other race to step on you?

Devil Within

I have worked with Philipinos a long time ago. Their identification document shows their race as "Malay" and religion as "Catholic" i.e Malay Catholics.

From what I understand from the Spore government, they do no "recognise" these group of Philipinos as "Malays" in the spore context. They are considered as "Others".
Things might have changed now...I do not know.

In the same line, you have Chinese-Christians, Chinese-Muslims, Chinese-Babi (in the case of Jah's clones), Indian Christians, Indian Muslims. And yes..there are Singaporean Malay-Catholics. For the most part, I will loosely put that most of our Spore malays are Malay-Muslims.

EC

I have heard of an ex-Muslim converted to Buddhist and has to change his Muslim name to Chinese name because he was not allowed to retain his original family Muslim name. Needlessly to say his Muslim family disowns him.

whoami

I have heard of an ex-Muslim converted to Buddhist and has to change his Muslim name to Chinese name because he was not allowed to retain his original family Muslim name. Needlessly to say his Muslim family disowns him.

My indon maid told me during Suharto downfall many poor indon jobless n went hunger. Lots of ceweks marry foreigners. Sm married to sinkies.... retained her indon muslim names but practise buddhism....ate pork. Her chdn all Chinese names.

I also know of couple of Sinkie Malays. One i knew....worked as a caretaker in one of the churches here. Parents nvr disown him..though we knew he has chg his belief.

duluxe

Ehhh....born again Indian xtian duluxe

To me...I m a Malay muslim. I am fine following Islamic way of life. So hw abt u? I know ur race. I know ur belief? So did u follow ur culture, mamak?

Aramud Al-whoami,
You are damn lost and confused! Malay makanan was heavily influenced by Indian food. Bomoh some m&ds still practice is also Indian influenced. Indians give m&ds religions, culture and identity. See how great Indian culture is! Just look at your own reflection to know Indian culture greatness. Be grateful to Indians.

Ed Chigliak

The bullshit drama of the family ostracising a family member just because he/she married out of the ethnic/religious group, IMHO is just rubbish. It is all about the family face.

Once the individual is an adult, he/she can marry whomever she wants, regardless of race, lancheow or religion. If the farking mat family (or chinks/ahneh for the matter) want to disown you, I say “fuck you”. And if one wants to change their name, just get a deed poll and change it. The family cannot dictate that you change your name. It’s all within the Singapore law. The farking mats have no say or control (well except.. you kana potong when u turn 11). All they can do it kick you out of the flat.

So what? If you are adult enough to get married outside the race, then you are adult enough to start a new family with your spouse.

Of course, make sure you collect your hdb keys first hor? ;-)

Otherwise you might have to sleep under the void deck with your fellow vagrants and jobless sporeans. And every morning watch your FTs get out of the lift to go to the carpark to drive thier expensive car to office.

Devil Within

The bullshit drama of the family ostracising a family member just because he/she married out of the ethnic/religious group, IMHO is just rubbish. It is all about the family face.

Once the individual is an adult, he/she can marry whomever she wants, regardless of race, lancheow or religion. If the farking mat family (or chinks/ahneh for the matter) want to disown you, I say “fuck you”. And if one wants to change their name, just get a deed poll and change it. The family cannot dictate that you change your name. It’s all within the Singapore law. The farking mats have no say or control (well except.. you kana potong when u turn 11). All they can do it kick you out of the flat.

So what? If you are adult enough to get married outside the race, then you are adult enough to start a new family with your spouse.

Of course, make sure you collect your hdb keys first hor? ;-)

Otherwise you might have to sleep under the void deck with your fellow vagrants and jobless sporeans. And every morning watch your FTs get out of the lift to go to the carpark to drive thier expensive car to office.

It is common knowledge that if you want to marry a Muslim girl or guy, you will have to convert to Islam and not the other way round. You can say there are some, but I think it is such a minority that it can be counted with one hand. Why do you think that is the case?

Devil Within

My indon maid told me during Suharto downfall many poor indon jobless n went hunger. Lots of ceweks marry foreigners. Sm married to sinkies.... retained her indon muslim names but practise buddhism....ate pork. Her chdn all Chinese names.

I also know of couple of Sinkie Malays. One i knew....worked as a caretaker in one of the churches here. Parents nvr disown him..though we knew he has chg his belief.

Indo are different They retain their cultural Indo names unlike Singaporean Malays. Also, there are Christian Malay, Buddhist Malay in indo, but not Singapore.

Also, your Singaporean Malay friend who changed his belief, has he renounced his Islamic faith and changed his IC's religion? Go and check.

If he hasn't change it in his IC, then technically, he is still a Muslim.

whoami

Aramud Al-whoami,
You are damn lost and confused! Malay makanan was heavily influenced by Indian food. Bomoh some m&ds still practice is also Indian influenced. Indians give m&ds religions, culture and identity. See how great Indian culture is! Just look at your own reflection to know Indian culture greatness. Be grateful to Indians.

I am only grateful to my religion.

N y r u ignorg my previous questions?

Any proof that i am islampig's clone? You must be whoami + Chinesedog's clone then.

Now i ustand when sm ppl here called u 1/2 breed indian/cina too. Double headed snake...putting words into my mouth. Jah Jamban brag being so proud of ur culture. Tats i highlighted to u again. One day ur hse kena touch to ashes. Hope u b so proud of it n post ur burning hse here. But dont cry baby boooooo n accuse Malays n Indians as the culprites. Dah!

Chaopappypoodle aka pig aka Jah Jamban aka aka aka...

Y create so many clones? Truely a jamban creating so many shits. "Supportg" one another. Bwahahah....

Any proof that islampig is my clone? Ed chilak must be your clone and Chinese dog. :rolleyes:

Jah Jamban got burn joss stick meh? Good. Be sure to burn money also. Oh ya. Dont buy those xtian caskets. U must buy those chinese coffin ya. Must be proud n follow all ur culture n tradition. Also be sure ur wife daughter wear cheong sam. Dont ape western culture. Make sure they bind their feets too. More ladylike! Thumbs up on tat! Bwahahah.....

Jah Jamban. Can show us ur wedding photos? Wish to see how bitchie u r wearing those traditional cina wedding costumes.

Boleh? Bwahahahaha...

Chinese wear their traditional clothes along with the western one. It's up to every couple. See you're wrong again.

Ehhh....born again Indian xtian duluxe

To me...I m a Malay muslim. I am fine following Islamic way of life. So hw abt u? I know ur race. I know ur belief? So did u follow ur culture, mamak?

You are weird. You ask a christian shit skin if he follows his culture while you take up arab culture but are not arab and don't see any irony in it? :rolleyes:

ROFL earlier you were putting you m&ds and shit skins on the same side but later you start to call them pundek. Why no more alliance liao? :rolleyes: I find it the biggest joke when i see some m&ds you included kiss up to shit skins all the time then later played out by them. :biggrin:

duluxe

I am only grateful to my religion.

N y r u ignorg my previous questions?
Your answer confirmed my points and the thread title -To be considered a Malay is a must to be a Muslim.

I eat curry, read and write tamil, listen to hindi music, retained my family name. Indians regardless of religions will still be Indians.

You still haven't any of the questions people asked you here?

Ed Chigliak

It is common knowledge that if you want to marry a Muslim girl or guy, you will have to convert to Islam and not the other way round. You can say there are some, but I think it is such a minority that it can be counted with one hand. Why do you think that is the case?

Again..there is NO common law that states that an adult must convert to islam once you marry an adult Malay-Muslim. If the non-muslim individual converts to islam, it simply means one thing...that person has agreed on thier own “free will” to make the conversion.

U might not like it, or I might not like it...but our personal views mean nothing.
And yes, statistics shows that more individuals convert to islam if thier spouse has islamic faith. But doesn’t stop these individuals from whacking on pork noodles every chance they get.

Devil Within

Again..there is NO common law that states that an adult must convert to islam once you marry an adult Malay-Muslim. If the non-muslim individual converts to islam, it simply means one thing...that person has agreed on thier own “free will” to make the conversion.

U might not like it, or I might not like it...but our personal views mean nothing.
And yes, statistics shows that more individuals convert to islam if thier spouse has islamic faith. But doesn’t stop these individuals from whacking on pork noodles every chance they get.

There is a strong social pressure from their Muslim community for them to follow the "common knowledge". Anyone who want to be individual will most likely not welcome and might even be ostracized by his/her Muslim community and view as traitor or blasphemy.

You may want to be an idiot and continue to pretend that there is no such thing, but the fact is, if they want to renounce their Islamic faith, they will face obstacles from their Islamic families and Muslim community.

duluxe

There is a strong social pressure from their Muslim community for them to follow the "common knowledge". Anyone who want to be individual will most likely not welcome and might even be ostracized by his/her Muslim community and view as traitor or blasphemy.

You may want to be an idiot and continue to pretend that there is no such thing, but the fact is, if they want to renounce their Islamic faith, they will face obstacles from their Islamic families and Muslim community.

When a non-muslim married to a m&d, the norm is to masuk Islam. When a minah married to a non-muslim man, it can be either way. Many chink men married minahs in the past and they still continued with their way of life and religion.

With increasing arabisation, it could be very different now.

zeebjii

When a non-muslim married to a m&d, the norm is to masuk Islam. When a minah married to a non-muslim man, it can be either way. Many chink men married minahs in the past and they still continued with their way of life and religion.

The problem is not with islam or malays, the problem is with sinkie chinese.

ALL the sinkie chinese i know who married christians converted to christianity, married malays became muslims. And friends and colleagues who have chinese/malay parents have zero 'chineseness' in them. It took less than one generation to wholly lose their chinese identity.

I have 2 indian friends who married minahs. They didn't change their religion, their children didn't become muslims.

Sinkie chinese are wimps.

Semaj2357

furthermore, as compared to the chinks, there were lot's more gragos that married minahs but still indulged in their curry feng during christmas - jingli nona! :wink:

Ed Chigliak

You fool. Pretend for fark? I already clearly said that more individuals convert to the islam faith.

If an individual want to marry a mat/minah and convert, that is their problem. They are the ones who have to put up with norms of their community. Not you.
How come you are so overwhelmed by it? Who the fark are you to impose your own personal ignorant views on other peoples personal fate in life.

Oh wait..dont tell me your heart bleeds every time a Chinese girl marries a mat. Seriously, are you a wimp?