• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Puteri Harbour Community

Investor888

Properties value never go down to zero. My best investments are all in properties.. not even stocks and shares come close.

It is never wrong to invest in properties. Some will have better capital appreciation while others will take time.
But is interesting as you build a portfolio across all types and maybe in 10 years time, you look back and say "I really do not know how I did it"
Keep stabbing. You are on the right track.

Tekkun

Properties value never go down to zero. My best investments are all in properties.. not even stocks and shares come close.

Agreed. In fact most of my properties had gained a lot in CA. Never looked back ever since I first bought in 1984.
It is fun when you open the Excel to keep track of all the details of the portfolio on title details, taxes and rentals you collect.
That is the time you share with your wife what you had and you said..how the hell did I get all this? Quietly smiling to oneself is how you best describe your feeling. :smile:

xebay11

Sure, if you are immortal then what you say is true. But since you are most likely not immortal and that your life is finite, if you meet a point in time of your limited lifetime that you have to sell and sell at a loss, that is painful, zero value or not, a loss is still a loss, or if you leave it for your future generations, you never taste the fruits of your hard work, which makes life meaningless, all because you cannot enjoy the fruits by making the wrong decision.

Even a time frame of 25 years to see any gains is not a feasible one for some on this forum.

xebay11

Agreed. In fact most of my properties had gained a lot in CA. Never looked back ever since I first bought in 1984.
It is fun when you open the Excel to keep track of all the details of the portfolio on title details, taxes and rentals you collect.
That is the time you share with your wife what you had and you said..how the hell did I get all this? Quietly smiling to oneself is how you best describe your feeling. :smile:

Have you defined the category of properties? In Singapore, retail properties, especially coffeeshops will most likely never see a loss and huge capital gains, but residential? Many recent luxury residential properties have made million dollar losses, come on you are a savy investor but I am surprised at a such a statement from you.

So you have to tell forummers here what sort of properties you made good rental yield from and CA, I believe they are industrial properties.

Tekkun

Have you defined the category of properties? In Singapore, retail properties, especially coffeeshops will most likely never see a loss and huge capital gains, but residential? Many recent luxury residential properties have made million dollar losses, come on you are a savy investor but I am surprised at a such a statement from you.

So you have to tell forummers here what sort of properties you made good rental yield from and CA, I believe they are industrial properties.

I am talking about my own properties. And I have a few industrial, a few landed terrace and condos, some locally and overseas, actually in London.

A point or two in my investment method. I am not a savvy one but I am happy with what I have now.

Never plough all into single type of property. We all know about economic cycles. Sometimes industrial do well, sometimes rsidential do well. Sometimes too, Oil and Gas is not doing too well and banking circles is down these days.

Your investment target is in which sectors. Oil & Gas, Financials are mostly expats and they pay good rentals. They seldom buy properties as usually they are contract staff. So your high end condos is attractive in good times. But what about bad times? That's why my condo (uncompleted PH) is my reward holiday home while in London fetches good rentals and CA.

Industrials is the same. Do not go for big big factories. Go for those smaller ones less then 10,000 sq ft. Buy multiple if you want. Easier to rent out and risks is spread among many tenants instead of lumping into single large tenant.

Terrace houses are very safe bets. Buy into guarded ones as security is a concern. Make sure it is a proper guarded one with fixed perimeter fencing and not those with oil drums. All my units here are doing very well. Not so much in rentals but in CA is at least 2x to 3x.

Sorry, I do not like retails. Turnover of tenants too high and shophouses are a hassle. Grd floor can rent out easily but not the upper floors.

Last word of advice, never never depend on success of others to make good on yours. Good luck. Happy CNY.

Dfiris

Read the edge today.

The waves by UMLand & UEM.

Hotel component is in talks with Hyatt Group.

3D Theme Park could be operated by Japanese to complement Hello Kitty.

Shopping Mall could see banks, supermarkets and other amenities to cater to nearby residents.

Will post link as soon as I get hold of.

Frodo

Well....I hope to have this feeling 20 years later down the road.:smile:

xebay11

I am talking about my own properties. And I have a few industrial, a few landed terrace and condos, some locally and overseas, actually in London.

A point or two in my investment method. I am not a savvy one but I am happy with what I have now.

Never plough all into single type of property. We all know about economic cycles. Sometimes industrial do well, sometimes rsidential do well. Sometimes too, Oil and Gas is not doing too well and banking circles is down these days.

Your investment target is in which sectors. Oil & Gas, Financials are mostly expats and they pay good rentals. They seldom buy properties as usually they are contract staff. So your high end condos is attractive in good times. But what about bad times? That's why my condo (uncompleted PH) is my reward holiday home while in London fetches good rentals and CA.

Industrials is the same. Do not go for big big factories. Go for those smaller ones less then 10,000 sq ft. Buy multiple if you want. Easier to rent out and risks is spread among many tenants instead of lumping into single large tenant.

Terrace houses are very safe bets. Buy into guarded ones as security is a concern. Make sure it is a proper guarded one with fixed perimeter fencing and not those with oil drums. All my units here are doing very well. Not so much in rentals but in CA is at least 2x to 3x.

Sorry, I do not like retails. Turnover of tenants too high and shophouses are a hassle. Grd floor can rent out easily but not the upper floors.

Last word of advice, never never depend on success of others to make good on yours. Good luck. Happy CNY.

You see, the strategies across the causeways do differ somewhat, in Singapore, if you can get a shop house you are big huat and I believe in Johor will be the same. Many private shop houses in Singapore can rent to two or more tenants, usually office type tenants. These make good investments as many are FH. Problem is many sellers price in the next 30 years rentals and determine that as asking price, so in a way, they make poor investments now, unless you come across a distressed sale.

Industrial properties only good in Singapore if they can be used as showroom / retail, any kind of labour intensive business activities are basically dead or dying here, and very soon also in Malaysia, I see the youth in Johor more interested in running push carts at a mall then working in a factory.

Residential properties are poor investments for rental unless high CA, but in Singapore sell high, also means buy high.

Tekkun

You see, the strategies across the causeways do differ somewhat, in Singapore, if you can get a shop house you are big huat and I believe in Johor will be the same. Many private shop houses in Singapore can rent to two or more tenants, usually office type tenants. These make good investments as many are FH. Problem is many sellers price in the next 30 years rentals and determine that as asking price, so in a way, they make poor investments now, unless you come across a distressed sale.

Industrial properties only good in Singapore if they can be used as showroom / retail, any kind of labour intensive business activities are basically dead or dying here, and very soon also in Malaysia, I see the youth in Johor more interested in running push carts at a mall then working in a factory.

Residential properties are poor investments for rental unless high CA, but in Singapore sell high, also means buy high.

Maybe Malaysia is a closed market and opportunistic in nature.
I personally don't like Singapore properties as it is too open. Very hard to make money. :smile:

kawan2sgmy

I had a windfall when our S'pore condo went enbloc! With the money, we were able to buy a Dist. 16 condo. We were just so lucky!

It is never wrong to invest in properties. Some will have better capital appreciation while others will take time.
But is interesting as you build a portfolio across all types and maybe in 10 years time, you look back and say "I really do not know how I did it"
Keep stabbing. You are on the right track.

freedom

Maybe Malaysia is a closed market and opportunistic in nature.
I personally don't like Singapore properties as it is too open. Very hard to make money. :smile:

Actually Sg very easy to make money...We made S$300k+ from our EC after 7 years and could have made S$700K from our Sg terrace in 3 years as we had an offer but rejected it...it depends on timing that you buy but easiest is buy BTO and sell after 5 years, almost guaranteed can make money..but of course BTO is reserved for Sg citizens only...

Tekkun

Actually Sg very easy to make money...We made S$300k+ from our EC after 7 years and could have made S$700K from our Sg terrace in 3 years as we had an offer but rejected it...it depends on timing that you buy but easiest is buy BTO and sell after 5 years, almost guaranteed can make money..but of course BTO is reserved for Sg citizens only...

You do not know how lucky you are as a Singaporean. Unfortunately I am not. So I have to hunt for opportunities in Malaysia.

freedom

I Singaporean also not as lucky. :(

I think it is because we bought that house for a good reason ... to get our sons into a good primary school...and it was partly helped with $50K of inheritance money from my dad and with his blessings....

That is why dunno if we should sell it or not....but lucky my hubby got a job now, so not so bad, I reduced a bit of my workload, stopping the busy clinic locum which tires me out...my hubby says his brother who works in a bank till 11pm with 2 Sg landed properties also like that and my working hrs are far better so he does not understand why I am tired...

Actually, since my other locum slots are all rather lax and I can even surf forum while working, maybe I should stay in Sg for the sake of my children's future.....since I am very touched by my 10 year old who says he does not mind studying in JB and will not blame me in future cause he understands I am a bit tired of working fulltime...

Tekkun

I Singaporean also not as lucky. :(

You are not unlucky. For starters all of you guys get to buy HDB at a good rate. It is you who chose to feel not so lucky but actually you are already lucky. We call that "itchy." :biggrin:

For Malaysians, we are left on our own to make or to rot.

ECboy

You are not unlucky. For starters all of you guys get to buy HDB at a good rate. It is you who chose to feel not so lucky but actually you are already lucky. We call that "itchy." :biggrin:

For Malaysians, we are left on our own to make or to rot.

Agree! but most of the time, people of privileged are unaware of their situation

Frodo

I think it is because we bought that house for a good reason ... to get our sons into a good primary school...and it was partly helped with $50K of inheritance money from my dad and with his blessings....

That is why dunno if we should sell it or not....but lucky my hubby got a job now, so not so bad, I reduced a bit of my workload, stopping the busy clinic locum which tires me out...my hubby says his brother who works in a bank till 11pm with 2 Sg landed properties also like that and my working hrs are far better so he does not understand why I am tired...

Actually, since my other locum slots are all rather lax and I can even surf forum while working, maybe I should stay in Sg for the sake of my children's future.....since I am very touched by my 10 year old who says he does not mind studying in JB and will not blame me in future cause he understands I am a bit tired of working fulltime...

Wah got rich dad....lidat win liao lor....:p

Dfiris

ISKANDAR (Feb 4): Nusajaya Consolidated Sdn Bhd (NCSB), a 50:50 joint-venture (JV) company between United Malayan Land Bhd (UMLand) and UEM Sunrise Bhd, will be launching its mixed development, The Waves, in Puteri Harbour, Johor, by year-end.

The development, with gross development value (GDV) exceeding RM1 billion, will begin groundworks in the fourth quarter this year, pending the approval of its amended masterplan, said UMLand senior general manager Izhan Goh Abdullah.

“We had actually gotten the approval earlier, but we had to amend the master plan,” he said, adding that the approval for the amended plan is expected to be granted next month.

With the approval of the master plan, Izhan said the project is expected to be launched end-2016.

“Depending on how the property market performs in the second half of this year, we expect to launch it the earliest end-2016 or early 2017,” he said.

The project will be launched in phases, he added, with the first phase, comprising the low-rise apartment units and retail mall will be completed in three and a half years’ time. The remaining portion of the development will require an extra year to finish.

The Waves is a mixed development project comprising serviced apartments, a retail mall and a hotel. Izhan said the company is currently in talks with the Hyatt group, to be the operators of the hotel.

Meanwhile, he said NCSB is on the lookout for investors for the project.

“There was an interested party from Japan, who wanted to do a 3D theme park, which we thought could complement the nearby Hello Kitty theme park. However, we will have to wait for the approval of our master plan first,” said Izhan, adding that NCSB is still in talks with the party.

Izhan spoke during a media briefing organised by UMLand on the updates of its developments in the Iskandar region.

The group also updated on the progress of the Johor Halal Park development, a JV between UMLand and Johor state through the Johor Biotechnology & Biodiversity Corp (J-Biotech).

UMLand unit Tebrau Teguh Sdn Bhd’s chief executive officer Mohd Noor Abdul Salam told the media that the first phase of the development, which will be Malaysia’s first world-class halal integrated park, is progressing on track for completion by end-2016.

“Phase 1 of the Johor Halal Park, which began works in 2014, is now 45% complete and is on track to meet the end-2016 targeted completion date. We are committed to complete the physical building by December this year, and by the first quarter of 2017, we will secure the CCC (Certificate of Completion and Compliance),” he said.

The final phase of the development will include the J-Biotech HQ Scientific Halal & TCM Labs Centre of Excellence, which will support upstream research and development activities, and also a business hub.

Despite the overall dampened domestic market, Mohd Noor said that UMLand is confident in the project, as the halal park is expected to be a new catalytic development for the Iskandar region.

He added that there has been many inquiries by international parties on the project, including those from South Korea, Japan, China and Taiwan. He added that the weakened position of the ringgit against the US dollar makes it cheaper for foreign parties to invest in Malaysia.

http://www.theedgeproperty.com.my/content/umland-uem-sunrise-jv-launch-project-end-2016