• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Puteri Harbour Community

freedom

Applying for MM2H is a simple process and you can apply for it directly.
Why pay someone thousands of RM to do it for you?
PM me if you need any assistance.

By the way, any foreigner whose is not a SPR can drive a Malaysian car in Singapore.

Thanks for your offer of help, will pm you if need help...

BTW, are you Australian or Asian?

Does it mean the driver is Malaysian, will suffice? They do not check who owns the car, do they?

OzRick

Thanks for your offer of help, will pm you if need help...

BTW, are you Australian or Asian?

Does it mean the driver is Malaysian, will suffice? They do not check who owns the car, do they?

I am a citizen of Australia and got my MM2H in 2013 by direct application.
Malaysian driver who is not SPR can drive a Malaysian car in Singapore with no problem. You need to apply for “AutoPass” card at the CIQ where the owner particulars are registered (presume, they need to send summons to you).

freedom

I am a citizen of Australia and got my MM2H in 2013 by direct application.
Malaysian driver who is not SPR can drive a Malaysian car in Singapore with no problem. You need to apply for “AutoPass” card at the CIQ where the owner particulars are registered (presume, they need to send summons to you).

So it is ok even if a Singaporean owns the Malaysia car, to have a Malaysian drive us into Sg? Maybe I better clarify with LTA.

freedom

Not ok, even if you get a MY driver to drive but the car is in Singaporean's name also not OK.

But I just called LTA and the CSO checked for me and say ok , as Long as driver not singaporean. Good for me as I can ask my Malaysian Uncle to drive us in sometimes..

xebay11

But I just called LTA and the CSO checked for me and say ok , as Long as driver not singaporean. Good for me as I can ask my Malaysian Uncle to drive us in sometimes..

I remember a post here which says what I just said, better ask other members to verify, if the loop hole was so simple, every one would do it. Just call it car pool service and let Malaysian drive in and people like Frodo no need to ride bike into Singapore.

ECboy

I remember a post here which says what I just said, better ask other members to verify, if the loop hole was so simple, every one would do it. Just call it car pool service and let Malaysian drive in and people like Frodo no need to ride bike into Singapore.

aaaaa... people have been doing this for yeeeaaarssss.

Got few times I drive my bro's malaysian car into SG (im a PR) and officer ask me why, i just said my wife who's sitting next to me is tired so i help her to drive. The officer also don't care. See your luck.
I didn't do it on purpose, I just forgot to switch seats.

Dfiris

I applied it myself with a Malaysian friend whom know BM. still analyzing the benefits, not decided yet. hesitant, cos once I got PR cannot claim GST anymore at airport ;p

Can share your contact for getting MM2H? How much is the process? What are the benefits of being Malaysian PR?

menghuii

Who is allowed to use and keep a foreign-registered vehicle?

You are not allowed to use or keep any foreign-registered vehicles in Singapore if you are a:

Singapore Citizen
Singapore Permanent Resident (PR)
Resident of Singapore
Long Term Visit Pass Holder or Dependant Pass Holder
Work Pass Holder who is also a resident of Singapore
Student Pass Holder
Training Employment Pass or Work Holiday Pass

However, any person who holds a Work Pass issued by Ministry of Manpower, who is also not a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:

He is the registered owner of the vehicle.
He resides outside Singapore.
He has a valid insurance certificate and road tax to use the vehicle on Singapore roads.
The vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more every day.
The vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/ exit at Woodlands and Tuas Checkpoints and to pay for VEP/ toll charges.

xebay11

aaaaa... people have been doing this for yeeeaaarssss.

Got few times I drive my bro's malaysian car into SG (im a PR) and officer ask me why, i just said my wife who's sitting next to me is tired so i help her to drive. The officer also don't care. See your luck.
I didn't do it on purpose, I just forgot to switch seats.

Break the law, just don't get caught.

xebay11

Who is allowed to use and keep a foreign-registered vehicle?

You are not allowed to use or keep any foreign-registered vehicles in Singapore if you are a:

Singapore Citizen
Singapore Permanent Resident (PR)
Resident of Singapore
Long Term Visit Pass Holder or Dependant Pass Holder
Work Pass Holder who is also a resident of Singapore
Student Pass Holder
Training Employment Pass or Work Holiday Pass

However, any person who holds a Work Pass issued by Ministry of Manpower, who is also not a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:

He is the registered owner of the vehicle.
He resides outside Singapore.
He has a valid insurance certificate and road tax to use the vehicle on Singapore roads.
The vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more every day.
The vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/ exit at Woodlands and Tuas Checkpoints and to pay for VEP/ toll charges.

Yes this was what was posted before, thanks for posting.

Freedom, please read the dos and donts, dunno which LTA CSO you talking but info is wrong.

freedom

Yeah, called again and this time, they say cannot...

But no big deal, will just take public transport into Sg, any way only need to come in max 2 x a week if wanna work...

Investor888

According to a senior retired district judge old friend of mine, the law is at work here. Not sure if he is senile or or..

You see, the Sinkie law applies strictly to singkie cars and singkie citizens. If you notice, there is no "sentence" being listed out for these sort of ""offence" unlike 3/4 tank rule where they will fine you $500 and ask u to U-turn back to Singapore.

Investor888

Boss, pls check out before you post anything like this. The sinkie rule says singaporeans or spr are not allowed to use or driver or keep foreign registered vehicles WITHIN Singapore. However, if the driver is a Malaysian, no problem at all even if the car belongs to the sinkie

I always said once you are born a sinkie, the only good thing is the HDB in which you must buy and sell. Other than that, a Sinkie life is worse than a Cockroach.

Not ok, even if you get a MY driver to drive but the car is in Singaporean's name also not OK.

xebay11

Boss, pls check out before you post anything like this. The sinkie rule says singaporeans or spr are not allowed to use or driver or keep foreign registered vehicles WITHIN Singapore. However, if the driver is a Malaysian, no problem at all even if the car belongs to the sinkie

I always said once you are born a sinkie, the only good thing is the HDB in which you must buy and sell. Other than that, a Sinkie life is worse than a Cockroach.

There was a post that said, as long as the car is owned by Singaporean, it cannot be driven into Singapore, regardless of nationality of the driver.

James Porn

Written Reply by Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew to Parliamentary Question on Singaporeans Driving Malaysian-registered Vehicles
13 Apr 2015 In Parliament

Mr Zainal Sapari asked the Minister for Transport whether LTA will consider allowing Singaporeans driving Malaysian-registered vehicles to enter Singapore on Fridays after 6 pm without utilising their 28-weekday provision.

Reply by Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew: As a concession, on a case-by-case basis, Singaporeans working and residing in Malaysia are already allowed to use their Malaysia-registered vehicles in Singapore for up to 28 weekdays a year, in addition to Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore public holidays. Such restrictions are necessary so that ownership of foreign-registered vehicles does not become a means to circumvent our vehicle ownership policies, and so that we are fair to Singaporeans who own Singapore-registered vehicles.

http://www.mot.gov.sg/News-Centre/N...oreans-Driving-Malaysian-registered-Vehicles/

Hope that helps.

Investor888

My Malaysian GF has been driving in and out of Singapore herself using my Malaysian car. No issue at all. Even kena accident 3 times in Singapore. No problem but TP need to be present cos its foreign vehicle.

There was a post that said, as long as the car is owned by Singaporean, it cannot be driven into Singapore, regardless of nationality of the driver.

Investor888

My next step is actually to apply to LTA to allow me to drive my Infiniti into Singapore. It costs S$60,000 in JB compared to S$170,000 in Sinkieland. Damn expensive dog life we have in Singapore.

Written Reply by Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew to Parliamentary Question on Singaporeans Driving Malaysian-registered Vehicles
13 Apr 2015 In Parliament

Mr Zainal Sapari asked the Minister for Transport whether LTA will consider allowing Singaporeans driving Malaysian-registered vehicles to enter Singapore on Fridays after 6 pm without utilising their 28-weekday provision.

Reply by Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew: As a concession, on a case-by-case basis, Singaporeans working and residing in Malaysia are already allowed to use their Malaysia-registered vehicles in Singapore for up to 28 weekdays a year, in addition to Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore public holidays. Such restrictions are necessary so that ownership of foreign-registered vehicles does not become a means to circumvent our vehicle ownership policies, and so that we are fair to Singaporeans who own Singapore-registered vehicles.

http://www.mot.gov.sg/News-Centre/N...oreans-Driving-Malaysian-registered-Vehicles/

Hope that helps.

Tekkun

My next step is actually to apply to LTA to allow me to drive my Infiniti into Singapore. It costs S$60,000 in JB compared to S$170,000 in Sinkieland. Damn expensive dog life we have in Singapore.

Wah...got Infiniti...
I can only afford Datsun. :smile: