• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Impressions of a Police Commissioner

Just curious, how come no story about James (Tan?), the SCDF chief.
I believe he must have been there for many bird years already.
Kind of unusual that he remained at the post for solong.

The origin of civil defence will provide you the reason why SCDF has never had a profile. It was to house NSmen who could not get security clearence or did not clear Primary 6. Though it changed substantially, no one really cares if it exist or not. The flyer incident speaks volumes. Wong Kan Seng might as well hang himself.

Well that is assuming KBH is up to such bigger things. I must say that for a President Scholar I am surprised CCK has 'retired' at Aetos(I think), in fact I was surprised that he was posted to Prisons in the first place.

I suspect Lock Wai Han will be the new CP. A proven investigator and sharp mind. Comes from a humble background. No airs. But has got skeletons in the cupboard.

Porfirio Rubirosa

This James Tan was the former commander (LTC) of RATC at sungei gedong, keen golfer and had a chio laukwaybu personal secretary who once had an affair with the chief clerk of the camp:rolleyes::wink: Don't ask how I know all the goings on in that camp, which had alot of laid back chaps like the late president sheares' nephew maj. maurice:biggrin:

Just curious, how come no story about James (Tan?), the SCDF chief.
I believe he must have been there for many bird years already.
Kind of unusual that he remained at the post for solong.

cass888

you can crawl back into lky arsehole that you crawled out from.

A piece of dog shit got more dignity than you ever can hope for

You, and your master, the dog himself the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan have got no dignity at all.

kukubird58

This James Tan was the former commander (LTC) of RATC at sungei gedong, keen golfer and had a chio laukwaybu personal secretary who once had an affair with the chief clerk of the camp:rolleyes::wink: Don't ask how I know all the goings on in that camp, which had alot of laid back chaps like the late president sheares' nephew maj. maurice:biggrin:

was it before or after he was Commander OCS.
who had an affair, JT or his scretary with the chief clerk:confused:

Porfirio Rubirosa

When JT was commander of RATC. And it was NOT him. JT more known for carying about his golf clubs:p Affair was between his secretary and the chief clerk,amongst other amorous affairs going on in that desert oasis known as sungei gedong camp:biggrin:
was it before or after he was Commander OCS.
who had an affair, JT or his scretary with the chief clerk:confused:

sammymugabe

Goh Liang Kwang became no 2 and until recently. Chua Chin Kiat was subsequently transferred as Head of Prisons and retired recently

Goh Liang Kwang in the 1990s were seconded to head the now defunct Singapore Broadcasting Authority. This was the organsiation that was to control the Internet and TV, Radio etc but not the print press. Within a year it folded as they realised that they could not block portion of the internet except to block the whole thing.

GLK has retired quietly. No replacement. PSC losts its handle during the late 80s. The chairman Lee Hee Seng's favourite excuse was that he had to do National Service and he actually used the term "National Service"

How can your info be correct when Goh Liang Kwang remained deputy commissioner up to as recent as 2007? :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

http://www.spf.gov.sg/prints/plm/2007/nov07_pg01.htm

Bidding Adieu to the Second UNMIT Contingent

The second contingent of 21 SPF UNPKF officers departed Singapore for their yearlong stint in Timor-Leste on 30 October 2007. The officers received hugs, handshakes and teary-eyed farewells during a sending-off ceremony held at the Changi international Airport. Commissioner of Police Khoo Boon Hui, Deputy Commissioner of Police Goh Liang Kwang and members of the Leadership Group (LG) as well as the officers’ loved ones were at the ceremony to bade the officers farewell.

How is it that you said he was seconded to "SBA" in the "1990s" but he was the Deputy commissioner in 2007? Don't tell me he returned to SPF after SBA closed. Also you said he retired quietly after SBA closed, which I knew before reading this thread and which the rest know now to be false

sammymugabe

Actually the scholars careers are not controlled within the scheme of service. This has been the bane of all Heads of Divisions, Departments etc.

In fact all of them as part of career development are assigned projects from PSs of their ministry upon their return. They are then marshalled into groups based on potential. The best ones first end up as Principal Private Secretaries of PM,MM or SM. The world then becomes their oyster.

The Force has deteriorated badly in terms of quality. The fact that the CP has never been trained in investigations or Police work or even directed investigations is a shocker. The previous CP was in Special Investigation Section and handled the Shaw Kidnap case.

Even more of a schocker is the claim that he was responsibly for high profile case being solved while in CID.

People need to distingusih between a nice guy and being an effective leader. I have no qualms about Khoo being a nice guy. I stayed less than 30 metres from his home and I know him well enough. He is indeed a nice guy.
What are you talking about?? Head of division/department simi?? where?? Division in army and police is also within the force. You never heard of division commander?? LOL

PSC scholars' careers are controlled on several levels. There is control directly within the scheme of service. It's just one of the many layers of control and planning done all the way to PSD level. For SAFOS, they are groomed and planned by OPC that manages only SAFOS scholars and top officers' careers. A common normal 23 yr old soldier is managed separately by another department and not by this. After this level, they are managed directly by Public Service Division (PSD) liao. Yes they are often given 'CCA' work from outside of the force itself to do. Within the force it's normal for them to staff trips with ministers, perm secs and CDFs overseas as a mere 23 yr old. Thats just the tip of the iceberg there is other shit like writing papers for CDF and other shit.

I don't know about YOUR time sounds like it was 20 yrs ago (since you said late 90s) but for your information, the Wrangler scheme now is not exclusive at all. Wrangler is now some silly project based work where its members work on a project and present to senior commanders. Wrangler comprises of 'high potential' people, not top people like you said. Maybe it was so in your time but things have changed because it's not so now. A Wrangler team now comprises of 1 or 2 SAFOS- one more senior like a LTC and one junior one a young 23 yr old CPT, and also includes SMS (the second rate scholarship of SAF) and Defence Merit Scholar (these are civilian, NON-uniformed scholars most of whom are girls directly recruited by MIndef, not to be confused with PSC's OMS scholars some of whom may also serve in Mindef HQ).

DMS is not an exclusive scholarship within the Mindef pecking order. It is the same rung as SMS..but is above those lelong academic awards that no one cares about but then no one considers those people scholars anyway.

The difference between SAFOS and SPFOS and the rest (2nd rate SMS and DMS, and 2nd rate SGS in SPF) is that SAFOS and SPFOS scholars directly come under purview of PSC/PSD. They get very good exposure to civilian people on top and wide access to Administrative Service. This is because SAFOS and SPFOS are PSC scholarships. The rest aren't. Together with OMS, the 3 form the highest class of scholars of Singapore.

The elite of the civil service today is the Adminstrative Service.I highly doubt that Khoo Boon Hwee was rejected by "Wrangler" in those days, if Wrangler is really the Admin Service of the yore since Khoo is an Admin Officer today. Also,I don't think he would have become Interpol head if he wasn't as good as they say.

But you are correct to say that police plays second fiddle to SAF. From back then to modern times, there is an overriding perception that SPFOS are SAFOS rejects. So yes, the rejects don the blue uniform, like someone here said.

You're incorrect to say that the "best" are only the "best" if they get the staff tour of being principal private secretary to PM and MM. There have been 'high fliers' who got this tour in their CV eg Alan Chan president's scholar now CEO of SPH, Lee Seow Hiang President's Scholar now CAAS deputy CEO but MAJORITY of the high fliers who became perm sec, generals and ministers did not do this tour, so doing a PPS tour is so not the pinnacle of career like the way you put it, but rather is one of the many tours that some eventual high fliers may have done. A man of Chan Chun Sing's level is going to fly super high in civil service, but i'm quite sure he didn't do the PPS tour.

You need improve your comprehension skills and your understanding of how the Admin Service Works. For a start, you might want to interview Goh Liang Kwang and ask him about his one and only secondment from SPF and his subsequent return.

How can your info be correct when Goh Liang Kwang remained deputy commissioner up to as recent as 2007? :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

http://www.spf.gov.sg/prints/plm/2007/nov07_pg01.htm

Bidding Adieu to the Second UNMIT Contingent

The second contingent of 21 SPF UNPKF officers departed Singapore for their yearlong stint in Timor-Leste on 30 October 2007. The officers received hugs, handshakes and teary-eyed farewells during a sending-off ceremony held at the Changi international Airport. Commissioner of Police Khoo Boon Hui, Deputy Commissioner of Police Goh Liang Kwang and members of the Leadership Group (LG) as well as the officers’ loved ones were at the ceremony to bade the officers farewell.

How is it that you said he was seconded to "SBA" in the "1990s" but he was the Deputy commissioner in 2007? Don't tell me he returned to SPF after SBA closed. Also you said he retired quietly after SBA closed, which I knew before reading this thread and which the rest know now to be false

sammymugabe

You need improve your comprehension skills and your understanding of how the Admin Service Works. For a start, you might want to interview Goh Liang Kwang and ask him about his one and only secondment from SPF and his subsequent return.

ahaha I don't need to 'interview' him. Fact is, you said he was seconded to SBA and retired quietly after which is ridiculous since he's the deputy police commissioner as of now. Did I not quote you saying that in 2 separate posts? You said he was seconded to SBA in one post. In another post, when someone asked you what did he do after SBA 'closed', you said he retired quietly. You made no mention of his 'return' to SPF if it can be counted as a return in the first place, because secondment is very common among high fliers in public sector. The term secondment itself indicate a 'secondee' has to continue to be in the payroll of his parent ministry. Otherwise, it's not a secondment but a transfer. People are seconded all the time and things open and close all the time, so I don't see what's news worthy about your nugget about Goh except that you tried to paint him in the way you wanted.

Second, you should apply your 'advice' to yourself since you have no idea of what's wrangler today (a non-entity of no importance) and how the Admin Service works, neither do you know how scholars' careers are managed or who does it. You did say that your information is backdated to circa 20 years ago, so perhaps it's time you get yourself acquainted with the here-and-now.

What you said about the PPS tour being the 'pinnacle' of scholars' CV and that the 'best ones' do it also betrays your gross lack of insight and it can't be further from the truth. It's obvious you know of 2 to 3 cases of PSC scholars who did PPS tour, and went on to do whatever else, then you make your 'conclusion' and pass it off as 'those who do PPS tour the world is their oyster'. You lack the overall helicopter view of ALL PSC scholars now in-service and what's actually going on. You're speaking not as an insider but an outsider who knows 2 examples and make your own unscientific extrapolations. Out of 100 PSC scholars, less than 10 would have done the PPS but 99 would be in high places now, if not higher than those who did the PPS. Out of all the current ministers and ministers of state who are PSC scholars, none did the PPS tour. Out of 19 scholar-perm secs, only Yong Ying-I did that tour.

Suddenly you are aware of his secondment! Maybe suddenly you will be aware of other things as it becomes evident. I also noticed that besides comprehension your maths need a second look. There are more Perm Sec Position than PPS to certain posts. Work it out. You must obviously think that Perm Sec is more impt than CEO SPH.

Here is a pop quiz
- Name 2 siblings of Alan
- name the famous individual that Alan met privately in the company of MM/KWA outside Singapore while Alan held the postion of PPS.

When you suddenly become aware, do post.

ahaha I don't need to 'interview' him. Fact is, you said he was seconded to SBA and retired quietly after which is ridiculous since he's the deputy police commissioner as of now. Did I not quote you saying that in 2 separate posts? You said he was seconded to SBA in one post. In another post, when someone asked you what did he do after SBA 'closed', you said he retired quietly. You made no mention of his 'return' to SPF if it can be counted as a return in the first place, because secondment is very common among high fliers in public sector. The term secondment itself indicate a 'secondee' has to continue to be in the payroll of his parent ministry. Otherwise, it's not a secondment but a transfer. People are seconded all the time and things open and close all the time, so I don't see what's news worthy about your nugget about Goh except that you tried to paint him in the way you wanted.

Second, you should apply your 'advice' to yourself since you have no idea of what's wrangler today (a non-entity of no importance) and how the Admin Service works, neither do you know how scholars' careers are managed or who does it. You did say that your information is backdated to circa 20 years ago, so perhaps it's time you get yourself acquainted with the here-and-now.

What you said about the PPS tour being the 'pinnacle' of scholars' CV and that the 'best ones' do it also betrays your gross lack of insight and it can't be further from the truth. It's obvious you know of 2 to 3 cases of PSC scholars who did PPS tour, and went on to do whatever else, then you make your 'conclusion' and pass it off as 'those who do PPS tour the world is their oyster'. You lack the overall helicopter view of ALL PSC scholars now in-service and what's actually going on. You're speaking not as an insider but an outsider who knows 2 examples and make your own unscientific extrapolations. Out of 100 PSC scholars, less than 10 would have done the PPS but 99 would be in high places now, if not higher than those who did the PPS. Out of all the current ministers and ministers of state who are PSC scholars, none did the PPS tour. Out of 19 scholar-perm secs, only Yong Ying-I did that tour.

bhoven

Just want to add that the job of Director ISD is also usually held by an ex PPS appointee. Would confirm Scroobal's observation that most PS's have arrived via the PPS route. Finally to answer the pop quiz, Alan's siblings ( who are also part of the estab are Chan Heng Wing and Chan Heng Chee ). Don't know who Alan saw privately in company of MM/KWA - was it Thakshin?

Thanks bro. It was the Plen. Kwa received the notes while in her Malacca St Office from his couriers thus was keen to see the note writer in person for the first time. Plen requested return but was turned down as he did not agree to conditions.

Just want to add that the job of Director ISD is also usually held by an ex PPS appointee. Would confirm Scroobal's observation that most PS's have arrived via the PPS route. Finally to answer the pop quiz, Alan's siblings ( who are also part of the estab are Chan Heng Wing and Chan Heng Chee ). Don't know who Alan saw privately in company of MM/KWA - was it Thakshin?

bhoven

I suspect Lock Wai Han will be the new CP. A proven investigator and sharp mind. Comes from a humble background. No airs. But has got skeletons in the cupboard.

You are probably right as Aubeck Kam has been absorbed into the Admin Service full time whilst Soh Kee Hean has been posted to CPIB. Lock was tested as the first head of ICA and then assumed the post of Director CID. All past CPs have served either as Director Ops or Director CID..( these are must postings ). They must also be AOs. Incidentally, the post of Chief of Staff ( last filled by SKH who is now mado watching at MHA ) is still vacant after he was posted out. GLK fumbled whilst at SBA and this destroyed his chance to be CP. A dark horse for CP is Wong Hong Kuan current Director OPs. A local police scholar he has leap-frogged over his seniors including some SPFOS such as Ng Joo Hee now Director of Prisons. There are many SACs now...unlike 3 years ago. Btw just to corect Loaded 8888's post , none of the 3 musketeers ( KBH,GLK and CCK ) who were "told" to switch from SAF to SPF were President's scholars. Indeed, SPF has never succeeded in retaining any of the President scholars who signed up with them ( if nothing else this proves that they are not of lesser quality than SAFOS ) viz. Lum Hong Fye, Benedict Cheong, Cheng Tye Heng, Ong Kian Min, Mark Yeo etc. Sadly, since 4 to 5 years ago, the quality of both the SAFOS and SPFOS ( and OMS too ) has been declining as the attraction of government scholarships with its long bondage has dwindled. This is evident from the CVs, academic grades, universities that they gain admittance to and course of study pursued of the more recent scholarship receipients

Bro, you know your stuff.

You are probably right as Aubeck Kam has been absorbed into the Admin Service full time whilst Soh Kee Hean has been posted to CPIB. Lock was tested as the first head of ICA and then assumed the post of Director CID. All past CPs have served either as Director Ops or Director CID..( these are must postings ). They must also be AOs. Incidentally, the post of Chief of Staff ( last filled by SKH who is now mado watching at MHA ) is still vacant after he was posted out. GLK fumbled whilst at SBA and this destroyed his chance to be CP. A dark horse for CP is Wong Hong Kuan current Director OPs. A local police scholar he has leap-frogged over his seniors including some SPFOS such as Ng Joo Hee now Director of Prisons. There are many SACs now...unlike 3 years ago. Btw just to corect Loaded 8888's post , none of the 3 musketeers ( KBH,GLK and CCK ) who were "told" to switch from SAF to SPF were President's scholars. Indeed, SPF has never succeeded in retaining any of the President scholars who signed up with them ( if nothing else this proves that they are not of lesser quality than SAFOS ) viz. Lum Hong Fye, Benedict Cheong, Cheng Tye Heng, Ong Kian Min, Mark Yeo etc. Sadly, since 4 to 5 years ago, the quality of both the SAFOS and SPFOS ( and OMS too ) has been declining as the attraction of government scholarships with its long bondage has dwindled. This is evident from the CVs, academic grades, universities that they gain admittance to and course of study pursued of the more recent scholarship receipients

sammymugabe

Director of an arm under MHA, not even police commissioner estab now can also be used to say a tour = world is oyster hahahahahha!

PS? president's scholar PS or perm sec PS? both are referred to as PS. :biggrin:

Definition of 'the world is one's oyster' = MUST PPS that's why the PM and the DPM who are PS did the PPS lah? how about the ministers of MTI, MCYS, MFA who are also PS? I guess it's all just been a confusing bag of 'anomalies' that the highest ranked PS in the government did not do PPS.