• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

20140221_111521_zpskvltgfeb.jpg

Vegetarian Nasi Lemak with extra egg.

20140221_111433_zpsnjomx5ch.jpg

Vegetarian lor mai gai

Tony your nasi lemak looks good too, taste good? What's that between the long beans and hard boil egg?

After breakfast this morning outside the restaurant I saw a roadside hawker preparing chicken porridge for customer, Bubur Ayam

[video=youtube;FNj6MhDqEUI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNj6MhDqEUI[/video]

Sunday brunch at the Promenade, Chinese brunch for a change

Shrimp dumpling

Kapow sea cucumber cook with Thai basils and minced meat

Brinjal stir fried with black beans on hot plate

Grouper braised with fermented black bean

四天使汤

Grouper hor fan

da dick

Coconut rice as in our nasi lemak is known as nasi udud here in Jakarta. Ingredient in nasi udud is basically same like egg and small fish but most of the time also have grated coconut. Nasi udud is like a breakfast meal or supper, famous nasi udud is known to open late like 9pm till early morning.Most if the time I will have my breakfast in this restaurant known as Penang which serves Malaysia and Singapore hawker food

mats always stealing culture from indon terrorist, ah mehs and cheena babees. totally pathetic. no shame at all

For some really good Italian come meet Fabio the owner of Giusto in Sukhumvit Soi 23

Out door sitting, its dog friendly

The wine and starter

Mesh potato

With bread

Bread goes well with these

Entree - foie gras (Giusto serves the best foie gras in Bangkok, believe me I've tried almost all, its perfectly done here each time)

Another entree to nibble - seafood basket

with the sauces

Another reason to come Giusto is their pasta always perfect, a little crunchy to the bite we will call it QQ

After dinner in Giusto don't leave, proceed into their whiskey & cigar bar

The bar

One of the widest selection of cigars

And great selection of whiskey and wine too

Brandy guy

Jazz band

I've stopped reading and watching news about this - the invisible hand is just too strong and evil.

I'm going to Bangkok for a medical procedure next month. Please suggest a suitable 5 star hotel away from possible disruptions caused by unrest.

5 star! how about 6 star siam kepinski but since it is near central area there might be unrest.

Mandarin oriental doesn't have protest near it.

rotikosong

It depends on whether you want to be close to your medical care facility.

5-star hotels are clustered only in a few areas. I'll use the BTS station names so you can easily visualize on a map.

Saphan Taksin BTS (River)
6 choices: Peninsula and Hilton Millenium across on the Thonburi side, Shangri-la, Oriental and Royal Orchid Sheraton on the "right" side i.e. do not need to cross the bridge and Anantara far down south on the other side.
Pros: No protests camped out there. Good for temples.
Cons: Further away from city center

Saladaeng BTS (Silom/Sathorn)
Choices: Le Meridien, Banyan Tree, Dusit and Lebua
Pros: Entertainment district
Cons: Protesters camped out at Lumpini. Flashpoint at last protest. Relatively lousy hotels.

Siam BTS (Pathumwan)
Choices: Kempinski
Pros: Shopping ground zero: Paragon Mall, Siam Sq, MBK + Chula U co-eds.
Cons: Relatively near protestors but far away enough. Little to no 5-star hotels

Chidlom BTS (Ratchaprasong)
Choices: Ground-zero for 5-star hotels: Grand Hyatt Erawan, Intercontinental, Renaissance, Centara, Ritz Carlton, Okura etc.
Pros: Throw a stone in any direction and you'll hit a 5-star direction. Close to great shopping: Central World, Pratunam.
Cons: Ground-zero for protestors in the city center area. Stage is right at Central World. Grenade attack couple of days ago.

Phloenchit BTS ("lower" Sukhumvit)
Choices: JW Marriott, Conrad, Plaza Athenee
Pros: Nana around the corner. Bumrungrad hospital too. A little further from protests.
Cons: Nana around the corner.

Asoke BTS (Sukhumvit)
Choices: W and Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit are directly connected to BTS.
Pros: Terminal 21 mall. Soi Cowboy. Koreantown
Cons: Protestors have a stage here too.

Phrompong BTS (Sukhumvit/Thonglor)
Choices: Hilton Sukhumvit, Marriott Sukhumvit
Pros: Emporium Mall. Farther away from protestors. If you have to escape to Pattaya, the Ekkamai bus station is 2 stops down.
Cons: At the relative edge of city center.

There you have it. Little to no 5-star hotels in other areas. 5-star service but no 5-star hotels in Ratchada unfortunately.