• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

things you miss from the past?

Logisex

what is a wua kuei? is it like chwee kuay? was it rice, yam or tapioca?

Its a bigger version of chwee key but its slightly harder. The simpler and cheaper version is to eat it with a brown sauce.

Passed by Lower Delta Road the other day and was glad to see that Block 48 is still there. My primary school (Delta Circus Primary School) is long gone. There used to a circle there (like the Newton circle) at the junction. There also used to be quite a lot of good food stalls there too. There were the wanton noodles, satay beehoon, fishball noodles, pau, satay.......just behind NTUC at Block 50 Havelock road. There was also a big wet market there where there are stalls in the market and in the open area behind it. I still remember the $0.30 plain LOR Mee with no ingredients, the animal shape 'Ji Dan Gao' (egg waffles) selling for $0.10 a piece. And then there was the chicken stall where they slaughter the chickens on the spot. I was fascinated by the barrel like 'de-feathering' machine where they put the chicken it and it came out 'naked'. My favorite stall was of cource the toy stall where i buy tikam and those made in china tin toys. Those who live in that area before will remember that bustling place.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
wong peng soon

wongpengsoon.jpg

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
Susu lembu was house delivered by our big friendly and strong Bayi ............. on his bicycle in a stainless steel container. The container cap served as a funnel.

milkman.jpg

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
Kacang puteh man came a-peddling, walking and balancing on his head 6 compartments of different type of murukus ...and we barter our old exercise books for a paper cone of kacang puteh.

Dit the guy's sideburns.......Mamar Ada Sideburns ( MAS ) LOL LOL LOL

kacangputih man (1).jpg

The Indian Muslim Stalls are at the extreme right end towards Bonham Street ( UOB Tower 1, the old building). Can name you a couple of food stalls that I regularly eat along that stretch. 1. The wanton mee at Maybank/BOC side, old man & his fat daughter ( seen her from a girl to a woman, last seen Cairnhill hawker's centre), the sugar cane stall ( that was seen recyling the straws, business was boycotted for a month), the malay stalls I eat my Malay food including the egg based kueh ( I love), the hor fun, sang min etc stall, the Cantonese Chee Cheong fun, kong fu chon ( Cantonese with soya beans), far sang chok ( peanut porridge), Sang Yue ( Raw fish), fried beehoon or mee with the crispy sweet tau kee & crispy sago. Johnny Fruit Stall ( those who eat around that parts, will know Johnny), the Indian Muslim Stalls with their yummy food & during Ramadan a spread of sweets etc.. food you never see during normal days, & their Teh Alia...Teh & coffee tarik...kopi 15cts. Nescafe with milk 25cts.. not to forget their curry puffs, Samosa, sugie cakes.. & the goat's milk FRESH ( I tried once on curiosity & vomited my lunch) ha ha ha The Building under contsruction on the right is Standard Chartered Bank 6 Battery Road.

Looking at those stalls, makes me hungry.. and missing the good hawker's food of the past..:p

Kohliantye

before you can buy your ice cream, you lose it all? casino.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-qsCSoYZ4aeg/TytiZInV7VI/AAAAAAAAIag/PkyWgLTpY68/s400/ice+cream3.jpg

Those were real tough times and many of us were affected by poverty.

Looking at the four kids and the vendor, I just wonder which one could have been Kee Chiu, KPK or some other PAP "once upon a time" poor boy who became a MG and doctor and then parachuted into Parliament as a MP and Minister.

Could the vendor also be a retired PAP politician?

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-qsCSoYZ4aeg/TytiZInV7VI/AAAAAAAAIag/PkyWgLTpY68/s400/ice+cream3.jpg

Looking at the four kids and the vendor, I just wonder which one could have been Kee Chiu, KPK or some other PAP "once upon a time" poor boy who became a MG and doctor and then parachuted into Parliament as a MP and Minister.

Could the vendor also be a retired PAP politician?

cannot be keechiu, he not that old.

Wendys

Which year are you talking about? 1960 onwards? Was there a first A&W or Mc Don outlet?

Kuailan

Bali Coffee house Outram HDB shop house lunch $3.30, attractive girls, Jenny, Margaret, Carol!!! we missed u!
Fitzpatrick DiAtas Orchard Rd now Tong Bldg coffee house lunch $3.50

Bukit Timah 7 milestone ice chang 10cents, buboh cha cha 10cents, kway teow soup 20cents.

Rex theatre back lance, chengdol 5cents 3/4 cup, 10 cents full cup, Mee siam 50 cents!
mee goreng 50 cents, Indian rojak best in the world one big packet $2.50 to $3.00.

Best Prawn noodle with chilli powder on the table near Joo Chiat area.

Bugis Street or Rochor Rd end Hilam satay 5cents per stick gravy with pineapple
really best in the world!!

Rojak Bundung Indian man came from ACS area to Trevose Crescent where I stayed on
Tricycle, ingredient cuttle fish, kangkong, tofu and fantastic gravy 20 cents!!!

Mee rebus 20 cents, mee goreng on tricycle 40cents, kamping soup bee hoon 50cents!

Our children today missed all these good stuff at very affordable prices, today you pay alot
and get alot less!!

ablekid

Bali Coffee house Outram HDB shop house lunch $3.30, attractive girls, Jenny, Margaret, Carol!!! we missed u!

Bukit Timah 7 milestone ice chang 10cents, buboh cha cha 10cents, kway teow soup 20cents.

Rex theatre back lance, chengdol 5cents 3/4 cup, 10 cents full cup, Mee siam 50 cents!
mee goreng 50 cents, Indian rojak best in the world one big packet $2.50 to $3.00.

Rojak Bundung Indian man came from ACS area to Trevose Crescent where I stayed on
Tricycle, ingredient cuttle fish, kangkong, tofu and fantastic gravy 20 cents!!!

Mee rebus 20 cents, mee goreng on tricycle 40cents, kamping soup bee hoon 50cents!

Our children today missed all these good stuff at very affordable prices, today you pay alot
and get alot less!!

Ya miss those days when the malay housewife from the Gimson school ( now SIM Uni) quarters carried 2 basket selling kuehs 5 cent a piece and 10 cent for mee siam wrap in banana leaf.They walk to the kampong opposite ngee ann poly to ulu pandan clementi junction every day.
Yes i also remember ice kacang 10 cents at 7 miles beauty world and food were cheap and good.
Prawn mee at Duku road (joo Chiat rd) that man who started providing chillies power for prawn mee
is still around staying at Onan road.
Those were the days.Blame it on PAP government took away our kampong and left it empty since 1978 till now. the big piece of jungle opposite SIM to old Holland road and six ave.
Vote them out 2016

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Playing true or dare standing under the kumpong lonely durian tree.

Sometimes standing under the coconut tree, when my neighbour's monkey is around. Those are the good old fun days.

escher

and get alot less!!

In those days, mee siam mai hum even cheaper.

Those were the days before smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY decided he is a fantastic business tychoon and wanted billions for this Stinkapore sovereign funds to play play with.
Those were the days before Goh Keng Swee and the old guards were thrown out by LKY so he could have our billions to play play with.
To get those billions, LKY exploded the cost of land to us.
4 room HDB was 30k++, two room about 15k, or about the cost of construction.

Hawker rentals were low, and the cost to Singaporeans for food was low.
Lower than in Malaysia.

Then LKY, with his eunuch puppet GCT and buffon son LHL and gang of maggots in white took over.

Making and turning Singapore into the most miserable place on this planet.