• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

anyone got photos of first generation tiong bahru market?

Microsoft

sad.jalan membina has now changed so modern. most shops were previously from blk 136 leng kee road.remember beside leng kee got keng seng pri sch,popular book stall at blk 136.

now i worry magerat drive road going to rebuild. area around the old queenstown library still very greeny and dark.very peaceful with few human.

Moi dun live there although moi mom work there thou...moi grow up oggling at sports shoe outside Tuck Cheong sports shop @ magaret drive...n play hide n seek at the NTUC car park opposite Queenstown Bowl...:biggrin:

Oh King's Theatre; Sunday morning shows @30cts..two sLots; 9.30am/11.30am..:smile:

Moi regular here ebery weekend...jus buy de uncle a can of kopi and a pkt of hoon ki...de whole bunch of us can watch de 7, 9 and midnite show for 50 cents...:biggrin::biggrin:

eng-wah-cinema-at-holland-village-1986.jpg

during the 80's , I was selling flowers at Tiong Bahru market.

Wow, I was here when postnew spoke.
Must be less than 5 times in four and a half years.
The last time you told me "Fish as long as fresh is ok."
Looking forward to more posts bro.

My memory of Tiong Bahru market/hawker center is split into two eras: before Tiong Bahru Plaza, and after Tiong Bahru Plaza.

Used to walk to the market for supper after watching a movie at Tiong Bahru Plaza.

AhGuan

Moi dun live there although moi mom work there thou...moi grow up oggling at sports shoe outside Tuck Cheong sports shop @ magaret drive...n play hide n seek at the NTUC car park opposite Queenstown Bowl...:biggrin:

Moi regular here ebery weekend...jus buy de uncle a can of kopi and a pkt of hoon ki...de whole bunch of us can watch de 7, 9 and midnite show for 50 cents...:biggrin::biggrin:

eng-wah-cinema-at-holland-village-1986.jpg

Was Tuck Cheong the sports shop that also sold ping pong bats ? Butterfly, Nittaku, Yasaka ..... ?

You oogling at the sports shoe or at the young chiobu trying on sports shoe?

Btw I have a very vague memory of that cinema in Holland Village, remember the outside view vaguely but don't recall that it was openair.

Fishypie

This pic was taken probabLy in the Late 70's..my buddy Ah Fook used to Live in bLk 42..:wink:
Further to the Left of the pic was where the mini Tiong Bahru garden was..where many young coupLes met to have
some ruba ruba sessions..:biggrin:

ykhuser

This pic was taken probabLy in the Late 70's..my buddy Ah Fook used to Live in bLk 42..:wink:
Further to the Left of the pic was where the mini Tiong Bahru garden was..where many young coupLes met to have
some ruba ruba sessions..:biggrin:

the tent behind is where my decease grandma do her temproary business

ykhuser

Which particuLar BLock or street did you Live; bro ?..

i stay near leng kee.but my grandmother got a stall in tiong bahru market.
back then got a stall sell live chicken.u pick 1, they slaughter their throat and throw into hot water.

dont forget the fried fish ball also

DairyQueen

those were the childhood day.1980 ......
the lor mee with shark meat was really wonderful

anyone got old precious photo of 1980 toys and tibits and of cos old tiong bahru market?

If you have not taken any photo shots during those time, can maybe try the national archives. If no one upload anything means 'boh bian' but vague memory of that place. Singapo is like that. Wait for no man.

ykhuser

the pipes reminds me of whenever there is a heavy downpour, those pipes and roof will leak.red pail will be everywhere.the green rectangle table also cannot find already.and of course the caged forunsense light cannot see liao