• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A father's pain

downgrader

Today I went to visit an old friend in Tan Tock Seng

He is very sick and it took so much energy just to put one coherent sentence together

No one has visited him in one week and he held my hand very tight

He cried. He wondered what he had done wrong.

He came from a poor background like me and he struggled to put his two children through university.

One of them has got married and migrated to UK and another is still here.

But the two youngsters abandoned their father who have worked so hard to educate them

What kind of society is this? When society is too absorbed in material growth at the expense of other values, more and more of these will surface.

Singapore is doomed if our youngsters are like that

If you are a youngster stumbling on to this site or a regular, please think about how you can give back to your parents, no matter how imperfect they are

Don't think about your wealth and status in society. These things are meaningless. Treat your parents well. Even if you can't spend money on them, give them a foot massage by yourself, it will make them feel good

Please be good to your parents

lolabunny

He is very sick and it took so much energy just to put one coherent sentence together

He came from a poor background like me and he struggled to put his two children through university.

But the two youngsters abandoned their father who have worked so hard to educate them

What kind of society is this? When society is too absorbed in material growth at the expense of other values, more and more of these will surface.

If you are a youngster stumbling on to this site or a regular, please think about how you can give back to your parents, no matter how imperfect they are

Don't think about your wealth and status in society. These things are meaningless. Treat your parents well. Even if you can't spend money on them, give them a foot massage by yourself, it will make them feel good

Is this one of those "disguise my pain under the name of my friend" story?
:cool::cool::cool:

Your kids don't want you issit?

Don't worry, you have us on the forum. Till someone here pisses me off and I won't come back again that is. :smile:

Ah Guan

Your old friend should complain to the learned RC chairman or glassroots leader

He can also complain to the MP .... but if he is a YCK resident then have to wait for a while since the MP is on MC

theblackhole

our social and educational systems have failed miserably....no more values left but in the hot pursuit of material gains and comforts...sial liao lah....

myo539

Don't blame the gahment or society - blame it on the parents who failed to bring up their kids properly, and the grown-up children for being to self-centred and selfish.

senghtlips2.jpg

Stop your nonsense lah, bitch! Cos of your nonsense, I kena the wrath of the peasants! KNN!

besotted

singaporean upbringing

PRC chinese very filial will take care of father until die

in china, old people enjoy life taichi abnd play chess

in singapore, they clean hawker centre tables, collect cardboard and sell hamburger

Don't worry, you have us on the forum. Till someone here pisses me off and I won't come back again that is. :smile:

if you have a problem with some forummers here on a personal level, please have some imodium and have a shit or two. bowel movement is a very healthy and necessary exercise.

There are always 2 sides to a coin. Don't be stupid, ask his sons for their side of the story before u judge them. There could be many reasons why they don't talk to him. Maybe he cheated on their mother, maybe he was abusive to them etc.

lolabunny

if you have a problem with some forummers here on a personal level, please have some imodium and have a shit or two. bowel movement is a very healthy and necessary exercise.

Hey I know you ate alot of shit and is still in the process of dying, so CHILL!

Me and downgrader are friends. DUH. I was just teasing him. :p:wink: I can't share what we talk about here but I'm not referring to him.

I don't have a problem with you, unless you have another nick which got into a "fight" with me, not that I remember dissing anyone except eeror88.

Why are you so uptight? :cool:

Hey I know you ate alot of shit and is still in the process of dying, so CHILL!

Me and downgrader are friends. DUH. I was just teasing him. :p:wink: I can't share what we talk about here but I'm not referring to him.

I don't have a problem with you, unless you have another nick which got into a "fight" with me, not that I remember dissing anyone except eeror88.

Why are you so uptight? :cool:

i'm always up in the morning and tight with the foreskin when the thang is up. i just feel like plugging the joy tube of someone like you, or anyone with a noisy vagina.

lolabunny

i'm always up in the morning and tight with the foreskin when the thang is up. i just feel like plugging the joy tube of someone like you, or anyone with a noisy vagina.

What if I'm a guy hiding behind a female nick? :cool:

You must be over 60 to be able to wake up so early because old people don't need much sleep. :smile: Crap. Did I just give away my real age? :biggrin:

Do old people's equipment still work? :biggrin::biggrin:

What if I'm a guy hiding behind a female nick? :cool:

You must be over 60 to be able to wake up so early because old people don't need much sleep. :smile: Crap. Did I just give away my real age? :biggrin:

Do old people's equipment still work? :biggrin::biggrin:

thank you for letting us know that you may be a guy. it doesn't matter. vagina or no vagina, everyone has at least 7 holes.

Satan

I'm sorry if I'm being blunt here but your friend is just expecting pity from others. Its the basic duty of any parent to do the necessary things to educate and bring up their kids, they have those obligations once they bring a life into this world. However, these days, the parents could not expect their kids to provide for them once they have accomlished their duties. Whether their kids provide for them or not is up to them. You've got to always have enough and be independent at your old age. You could not spend everything and expect your children to provide for you. That is utter foolishness as your children may at any time turn around and tell you fuck you. That was what my father has taught me. Of course, I do still take care of my mother but I could not expect my children to do the same for me.

scoobyhoo

even you want to marry, don't bear children loh. already many many examples, and one just don't care.

Z

Zombie

I'm sorry if I'm being blunt here but your friend is just expecting pity from others. Its the basic duty of any parent to do the necessary things to educate and bring up their kids, they have those obligations once they bring a life into this world. However, these days, the parents could not expect their kids to provide for them once they have accomlished their duties. Whether their kids provide for them or not is up to them. You've got to always have enough and be independent at your old age. You could not spend everything and expect your children to provide for you. That is utter foolishness as your children may at any time turn around and tell you fuck you. That was what my father has taught me. Of course, I do still take care of my mother but I could not expect my children to do the same for me.

Your view is not wrong, but it is just so xtian, so ang moh .... :biggrin:

For ang moh, many people would have thrown their children out of the house once they turned adulthood as early as 16(?). The parents can then focus on their retirement savings.

In this fake ang moh place, children expect their parents to feed them through the university (some overseas) and their marriages, and after they fully settled down as late as 30(?), they turn around and tell the parents your story.

boring

Your view is not wrong, but it is just so xtian, so ang moh .... :biggrin:

For ang moh, many people would have thrown their children out of the house once they turned adulthood as early as 16(?). The parents can then focus on their retirement savings.

In this fake ang moh place, children expect their parents to feed them through the university (some overseas) and their marriages, and after they fully settled down as late as 30(?), they turn around and tell the parents your story.

agreed!! :cool:

boring

anyway we r asia. don't always compare them and us. both culture r different but both got their pro & con. filial ito parents is just a auto reaction, don't need to ask why why why, just like loving ur own kids, it came deep from the heart, love ur parents just hoe they love u, don't involve formular, boring!

environment we in play a virtual role, we had brainwashed by money come first boring garment yrs by yrs...and this is the result...

DearestGodlikeWarlord

There are always 2 sides to a coin. Don't be stupid, ask his sons for their side of the story before u judge them. There could be many reasons why they don't talk to him. Maybe he cheated on their mother, maybe he was abusive to them etc.

Well said. There are reasons why people do things that are not socially acceptable by everyone. In this context of parents and their children that's what I mean.

There are always several sides to a story.
Make sure you hear them all before passing judgement.