• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Latest: WP fields Lee Li Lian as its candidate for by-election

winners

display_image.php

SINGAPORE: The Workers' Party (WP) has fielded Lee Li Lian as its candidate for the Punggol East by-election on 26 January.

Ms Lee, who has been with the party for six years, was introduced at a media conference on Monday.

WP chairman Sylvia Lim described her as the "best person to represent the party" in Punggol East and added that she has some understanding of the ground in the ward from her previous campaign in the 2011 General Election.

Ms Lim said Ms Lee is sincere, reliable and committed, as well as a "key player with a heart for the people".

Last Thursday, the People's Action Party (PAP) introduced Dr Koh Poh Koon as its choice for the single-seat ward.

The seat was vacated by former PAP MP, Mr Michael Palmer, who stepped down over an extramarital affair.

- CNA/ck

So, you guys think WP stands a better chance? For me, I think she's better than that Gerald Giam.

lilian14e.jpg

The Workers' Party (WP) has unveiled Ms Lee Li Lian as its candidate for the Punggol East by-election.

Ms Lee, 34, was the party's candidate in the ward in the 2011 general election. The sales trainer garnered 41 per cent of the vote, ultimately losing to the People's Action Party's Michael Palmer.

Party leaders announced that Ms Lee would be contesting Punggol East at a press conference held at their Syed Alwi Road headquarters on Monday morning,

While many had expected the party to field one of its two Non-Constituency MPs for the by-election, WP veterans were said to favour Ms Lee as the candidate, citing her prior knowledge of the ward and hard work on the ground.

lilian2010.jpg

Lee Li Lian 李丽连
[email protected]
Age 34
- Deputy Webmaster, Workers’ Party

Background:
Lilian is currently a Trainer with a private institution. She has been actively involved in both industrial and financial sales for the past 6 years. She graduated from Ngee Ann Polytechnic in 1999 where she majored in Business Studies and went on to pursue a Bachelor’s Degree with Curtin University of Technology in Australia majoring in Sales & Marketing. From her years of sales experience, she had gained good communication, interpersonal and persuasive skills.She was both Polling and Counting Agent for the party during GE 2006, subsequently she joined as a member in June that year. In August 2006, was elected into the WPYW as an Executive Council.

In her first 25 years, she was staying in the Marine Parade GRC, and having shifted to the Ang Mo Kio GRC 3 years ago, she finally got a chance to cast her first vote. She helped out as a volunteer during the General Elections 2006. During the process of contributing her service, she realized the lack of information and wrong perception the public have with regards to the opposition party in Singapore. She believes that these need to be corrected and she also wants to create awareness and generate greater political interest among the women in Singapore.

Philosophy:
Lilian recognizes that women are receiving higher education and are playing more vital role in the country’s economic growth. Therefore, their voices, concerns and ideas should be heard and recognized. Therefore, she aims to encourage more women to come forward. The message that she wants to bring across to everyone is: “Until you spread your wings, you’ll have no idea how far you can fly.”

Lilian enjoys singing and making DIY fashion accessories in her past time. She is also a faithful supporter of the ‘REDS’, Liverpool Football club, since the early 90s.

methink

They were unsure. Thats why delay la.

Wannabee Party was thinking there will be a better candidate who may pop up at the last minute! So this is all they have, a poor Ms Lee Li Lian?

Sure kena whack by the SDP's doctors.

shOUTloud

Wannabee Party was thinking there will be a better candidate who may pop up at the last minute! So this is all they have, a poor Ms Lee Li Lian?

Sure kena whack by the SDP's doctors.

Please loh. You think the game so easy to play meh. She has ground knowledge, familiarity with resident and a track record of garnering 41%. What does the SDP doctors have other than talking big and giving weird "cooperation" recommendations? If SDP dare to cast aspersion on Lee Li Lian, they will incur the wrath of the populace.

In Singapore, there is no room for colourful, charismatic politicians, 50 years under PAP had killed that type of politics for now. It is party branding that is more important. I think PAP will win, WP to get back their deposit and enhance their reputation and other three clowns to lose their election deposits.

godiva

Please loh. You think the game so easy to play meh. She has ground knowledge, familiarity with resident and a track record of garnering 41%. What does the SDP doctors have other than talking big and giving weird "cooperation" recommendations? If SDP dare to cast aspersion on Lee Li Lian, they will incur the wrath of the populace.

In Singapore, there is no room for colourful, charismatic politicians, 50 years under PAP had killed that type of politics for now. It is party branding that is more important. I think PAP will win, WP to get back their deposit and enhance their reputation and other three clowns to lose their election deposits.

I do not understand the mentality of SDP supporters. Just because WP got 41% in Punggol SME so SDP assume if they send in their candidate instead of WP they would get the same or more too? That is way too simplistic. I have heard of people telling me they would vote for any opposition except the party headed by madman CSJ. I am quite sure no matter which SDP candidate runs in Punggol, he will fare worse than WP candidate. If there is a 3CF this time, it will tell.

Unless GMS comes in to unite all opposition parties and run in Punggol SME himself. Then all others no fight including the PAP chap. GMS wins handsdown.