• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What a fish !

wa lan eh, some longkang chui so dirty i don't think fish can even survive in it!

talking about longkang fish.. anybody go catch longkang fish when young? i use to go to the outflow from Macritchie down to Thomson Rd where all the plant nursuries are. The best time is after heavy rains got a lot of fish from Macritchie, caught those Tiger Barbs, gourami, fighting fish, even got goldfish must be escape from somewhere.
now also teeming with life....many offload their Luohan fishes into the longkangs...I have even seen turtles in the big canals.

Sidetrack abit....since everyone had dinner liao
Recently anyone notice got more people fishing in the big longkangs?
Used to see FTs but now got ah peks and even young mats sometimes...
Fishing for sport or life getting hard?
Longkang fish can eat? I think got heavy metals eat liao can mati...

must see which big longkangs, like the one along hougang ave 7 leading to simon road, that my friend is the sungei serangoon. suppose to be a tidal river, fresh water at low tide and salt water at high tide. b4 pap built a dam across the river mouth, everyday can see people cast their rods along ave 7 while resting their bums on the benches that can be find along the jogging track. 30 years ago, that stretch of the river was a ship repair yard, servicing the fishing boats that bring their catch to the punggol fish market which was nearer to the mouth of the river. As for polluting, there not much industries along the river but in the past can only see one company pollute the river. Wing Tai Garment, discharged the jean dye into the river at low tide and having uncle wife as backer, they continue to do it until the factory stop production. Of all the buildings that were along that stretch of the river, only the Wing Tai building still remain, the rest were demolished.

wa lan eh, some longkang chui so dirty i don't think fish can even survive in it!

talking about longkang fish.. anybody go catch longkang fish when young? i use to go to the outflow from Macritchie down to Thomson Rd where all the plant nursuries are. The best time is after heavy rains got a lot of fish from Macritchie, caught those Tiger Barbs, gourami, fighting fish, even got goldfish must be escape from somewhere.

always go seletar farmway, near the current plants nurseries, at jalan kayu road. 20+ years ago, that stretch of farmway were fish farms, if happen to go there after the farms clean their tanks, confirm got fishes escaped and the shallow drains full of tiger barbs, swordtails, colorul guppies, goldfish etc etc.. no need effort to catch, just two person at each end and trawl with hand held net. if dont catch them, the fishes confirm become dry fish as the drain was just a shallow type that will dry up in hot weather.

This is my type of fish, love them, so cute

4B21FE51-49F0-4A6D-BD1A-2E2EFC791E01-1011-000001228CADE431.jpg

959FFC38-4818-48DC-BCB1-F4E8E8A49A86-1011-00000122A6238332.jpg

(photos taken at a restaurant in Shanghai)

Guys,

Anyone here have the seasoning recipe for fried ikan kuning like the ones found in Nasi Lemak?

Gam Sia, gam sia.

bro I would think salt only....
Trick I think is fish size cannot be too big and clean super hot oil.
NW, thanks for the info. Think there are some additional stuff to make the fish very crunchy and crispy. Yes, cannot be too big as I like to eat the bones as well.

I found this recipe Yati. Hope it turns out well :smile:

Deep-fried ikan kuning......

This fish is very crispy and delicious when fried well. Don't put too much salt or it may become too salty. This fish goes well with rice and is sometimes served with nasi lemak.

Ingredients
5 ikan kuning (kuning fish)
salt
Oil for frying

Preparation method
1.Rub a small amount of salt onto the fish to remove the smell.
2.Pour just enough oil to cover the surface of the frying pan. Heat the oil and wait until it starts sizzling. Lower one fish and pan-fry until it is golden. Flip every minute or so to prevent the fish from sticking to the pan.
3.Repeat for the rest of the fish. Replenish oil in the pan when needed.

Thanks for the info...
Seems its pan fry....always had the idea it was deep fry...

This fish is very crispy and delicious when fried well. Don't put too much salt or it may become too salty. This fish goes well with rice and is sometimes served with nasi lemak.

Ingredients
salt
Oil for frying

Preparation method
2.Pour just enough oil to cover the surface of the frying pan. Heat the oil and wait until it starts sizzling. Lower one fish and pan-fry until it is golden. Flip every minute or so to prevent the fish from sticking to the pan.

Fishypie

Ingredients
salt
Oil for frying

Preparation method
Rather surprisingLy, this receipe is did not mention about the most important aspect of making a nasi Lemak fish;
that is to coat a thin Layer of kunyet powder (tumeric powder) over the fishes prior to deep frying.This is a must
step which cant be missed...:wink:

Wah so many avid anglers here..

Changi car park 6 is also a good spot for sting rays.. Many expert surf casters over there, mostly Malay uncles with their long rods.. Had seen many them landing sting rays weighing 10kg and above.. Another famous good spot back then was the Changi Hyundai area.. Must be like a commando and enter the thick forested area before you can see the beach.. Many garoupas, Red emperors over there..

Sidetrack abit....since everyone had dinner liao
Recently anyone notice got more people fishing in the big longkangs?
Used to see FTs but now got ah peks and even young mats sometimes...
Fishing for sport or life getting hard?
Longkang fish can eat? I think got heavy metals eat liao can mati...

Early this year was walking with my Thai scandal to Lavender MRT when I saw a group of Ah Peks and Mats fishing at the big longkang facing the ICA building.. KNN, they caught few medium sized fishes.. Don't know what type of fishes they caught.. Can see they all very happy with their catch..

Fishypie

Wah so many avid anglers here..

Changi car park 6 is also a good spot for sting rays.. Many expert surf casters over there, mostly Malay uncles with their long rods.. Had seen many them landing sting rays weighing 10kg and above.. Another famous good spot back then was the Changi Hyundai area.. Must be like a commando and enter the thick forested area before you can see the beach.. Many garoupas, Red emperors over there..

Oh ya bro, taLking about that Changi Hyundai area; that's the spot where you can pLay peeping Tom aLL day Long..
day & night sure got coupLes driving & having a great time there.:wink:
Wonder if CeceLia knows that pLace too ....:biggrin:

Oh ya bro, taLking about that Changi Hyundai area; that's the spot where you can pLay peeping Tom aLL day Long..
day & night sure got coupLes driving & having a great time there.:wink:
Wonder if CeceLia knows that pLace too ....:biggrin:

Actually there are still many fishes in our waters.. Its just a matter of luck.. Had seen before 1 young Ah Beng reeling a 4 kg Cobia at East Coast beach..

Fishypie

Bro, this is what we got using net casting, of course it's through Ah Yeo's effort..

milkfish.jpg

i know it's caLLed Or-her in diaLect, or MiLkfish in engLish ?..nice size, about 800gms each..:wink:

Early this year was walking with my Thai scandal to Lavender MRT when I saw a group of Ah Peks and Mats fishing at the big longkang facing the ICA building.. KNN, they caught few medium sized fishes.. Don't know what type of fishes they caught.. Can see they all very happy with their catch..

I believe there are big catch to be had in the longkangs....but the problem is even got promfet, garuopa etc....fished from polluted waters there you dare to eat bo?

neddy

Maybe I have been fishing in the pristine waters off Perth, Australia.

4867_215224470017_502370017_7210351_206182_n.jpg

This bass groper to too big for steaming :biggrin:

Fishypie

This grouper can go for at Least $6k in Sing..there are reguLar cLients here aLways on the wait List.. :wink:
Let me chope the eye baLls 1st..:smile:

Rather surprisingLy, this receipe is did not mention about the most important aspect of making a nasi Lemak fish;
that is to coat a thin Layer of kunyet powder (tumeric powder) over the fishes prior to deep frying.This is a must
step which cant be missed...:wink:
Yes, I got add Tumeric powder but still not as crispy and crunchy as I wanted. Think NW is right, oil must be very very hot.