• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why does the NEA tear down and rebuiilt hawker centres so frequently?

Some of these places have to be totally renovated to make them better ... good example is the East Coast Food centre...

but the Tiong Bahru hawker centre is full of heritage and memories man

As for Maxwell Road....a lot of the old stalls are gone ...i really miss the mixed Pig innards soup at the back....

just like how i miss the old national library,... the old national theatre (which till today i still dont understand why they tore that down because that site is completely empty all this time)
Suspect I will witness all the old school hawker centres and stalls gone within this 10 years. Hopefully, I can still have a last taste of the original hawker fares before they are gone forever.

I have a workaround and that is to cook these food myself but can only manage a few dishes.

Wow wee Wow wee. This THREAD is God-send, really. I dont know the anwer BUT I am only too happpy to post what I know. In fact I was wondering FOR damn damn looooooong time that how come NO ONE is AWARE the DAMN DAMN FUCKING PAP wasteful OF tax payers HARD-EARNED blood $$$,$$$.00 for mamy many years.

Look HERE - fccking hope opposition I ' BIG BIG - ABC hawker centre in Jalan Bt MERAH was teared down once, reno twice which MEANS 3 times in 10 years !!!!!! SECOND one, Beo Crescent Hawker CENTRE, teared down to be REBUILT, renovated - both DONE in 4 YEARS !!!!!

3rd, Bt Merah View, complete reno, AND RE-RENO both in 5 YEARS !!!!!!!!!!

WHAT fccking 60 % SINKIES CB give PAP blind support when PAP ffcck their backsides !!!!
Hehehe. Used to stay around the area so I know what you are talking about.

Yes. FUCK PAP!

garlic

just like war, after destruction, will need construction.. along the way, there's money to be made..

Prometheus888

Suspect I will witness all the old school hawker centres and stalls gone within this 10 years. Hopefully, I can still have a last taste of the original hawker fares before they are gone forever.

I have a workaround and that is to cook these food myself but can only manage a few dishes.

That is exactly it bro! Many of these foods cannot be replicated easily and when you get FTs serving it to you, how special can it be?

What I really dont quite understand is this. If the NEA has gone about in the past promoting some of the fading trades and heritage of some of these hawkers, then why is it behaving in such an inconsistent way by trying to hike up rentals and play around with all these"upgrading reconstruction" projects? You want to keep rentals low so that these people can keep on plying their trades in a meaningful and even profitable manner. Of course if they open up a whole chain then there should be another issue but quite a lot of these relly good hawker stalls are famous because they never really have many other branches...

I agree with bro chonburifc. Just over the last 10 years with the advent of all these "corporatised" giant food court chains, we have already seen the demise of the hawker centre in Toa Payoh Interchange for example and now minister Vivian B. is saying that only corporates like NTUC can handle hawker centres just shows how little he or any of his elite underlings in the civil service appreciates the uniqueness of this country's culture which is found in our hawker centres.

sighs... obviously missing the woods for the trees (again)....

so that we can have good , clean environment to eat.

when i go to third world countries like malaysia, thailand and even not third world taiwan, their eating place are disgusting. we are moving toward south korea and japan.

i know some people want to shit in a hole, but we must move on.

Prometheus888

when i go to third world countries like malaysia, thailand and even not third world taiwan, their eating place are disgusting. we are moving toward south korea and japan.

The issue is not about insisting on squatting when you shit but why are the toilets are getting repaired and renovated so often when they are neither spoilt or old?

Unfortunately, that is a long way to go. Sinking land toilets still behind Angola.

gz0707

There are others... I have noticed...one I frequent & one day, went there to eat & saw the huge banner UPGRADING in progress , open in xx months.. gee! that place just upgraded with much fanfare just a few years back & I told myself, UPGRADE again? I was puzzled...the place is still brand new...prices have gone up, quality of food had gone down.. who financially gains from all these..not me, not you..YOU KNOW WHO!!!

Most people will not know this - hawker upgrading means that the hawker may have to fork out 10k upfront for the temporary location, and this will be used offset monthly rentals in the future. this is why you see old hawkers retiring once and for all, as they cannot afford upfront fees, re-doing their stalls, on top of higher rents after the renovation is completed. Once the retired hawker has transferred or sold off his stall, new rental rates will apply to the new hawker. Now you see why prices go up after renovation.

Malaysia & Thailand do have clean place to eat..eating out is a pleasure, all of us grow up eating out where the, flies, cockroaches & rats roam, HOW MANY OF US HAD DIED of food poisoning?? We have a so called clean & well MANAGED food centre in Geylang Serai, and people died from eating there!!

We have already moved on...paying through our noses for low quality food!

Most people will not know this - hawker upgrading means that the hawker may have to fork out 10k upfront for the temporary location, and this will be used offset monthly rentals in the future. this is why you see old hawkers retiring once and for all, as they cannot afford upfront fees, re-doing their stalls, on top of higher rents after the renovation is completed. Once the retired hawker has transferred or sold off his stall, new rental rates will apply to the new hawker. Now you see why prices go up after renovation.

That is why we need oppositions to put brakes on this, one can be sure that all the "members" or aka "porlumpars" benefit most from all these upgrading, after all, MEMBERS HAVE THEIR PRIVILEGES..."Member"? , "Passion"??

gz0707

During the upgrading, those who could not afford the 10k upfront fees had to take 1 year off. This does not mean that the rich hawkers took a year off to cruise around the world, some lived on their savings to tide over the period. When the renovated hawker centre was ready, those who chose to retire, transferred the rights to the new stall owner who paid higher rental fees. Rentals are only on 3 year basis - this means that NEA can choose not to renew the contract for whatever reason they choose.

You can now see from administrative point of view, it suits the NEA planners, but does not take into account the livelihood of the poorer hawkers. You can also compare this with the shop lessee who complained at Chinatown area, it is in the same context - she thought she had "bought" over the shop. In fact, you never do, the true owners are always HDB (for shops) and NEA (for stalls). You only acquire the rights to lease.

just like how i miss the old national library,... the old national theatre (which till today i still dont understand why they tore that down because that site is completely empty all this time)

Didn't you notice the escalator they built there :rolleyes:

Many also don't understand why they had to tear the old library just to build a tunnel. I remember some architects proposing an alternative design which would have left the old library untouched but the "authorities" turned down their ideas. Guess it was too much of a bother to make any changes:rolleyes:

That is why we need oppositions to put brakes on this, one can be sure that all the "members" or aka "porlumpars" benefit most from all these upgrading, after all, MEMBERS HAVE THEIR PRIVILEGES..."Member"? , "Passion"??

There are just too many dumb Sporeans out there. From the stats there are at least 60% of them.

Many know what's going on but chose to ignore it & so many will suffer.

Fishypie

The saddest example is what happened to all that character of the former Tiong Bahru market...sighs...

It never was the same after they built that hawker centre...

all the wonderful magical ambience is completely erased....what was the govt thinking ....

Were you a Tiong bahru boy ?..i was.Hehehe

blackmondy

Still remeber the dao-suan stall next to the pau stall. Now if you just sell dao-suan sure close shop one.

Grew up eating the lo-mai-kai there every single day.

Fishypie

Still remeber the dao-suan stall next to the pau stall. Now if you just sell dao-suan sure close shop one.

Grew up eating the lo-mai-kai there every single day.

Bro, i confirmed you were one of the TB boys Liao..comes each Late evening, queues wouLd be snaking at that pau staLL Like no tomorrow.Further up aLong the tau suan staLL was a teochew fishbaLL noodLe staLL with 3 chio
daughters hepLing out.How many young men's hearts were broken by them..:smile:

blackmondy

My childhood was actually in Bukit Ho Swee right behind that famous lor-mee coffee shop. My grandfather would bring me to TB market everyday, eat the lor-mai-kai and watch chickens being slaughtered while he does the marketing. The fishballs there were the best !

In my memory, the market was so much bigger than it is now. Dun know what the fuck the gahmen did.

Fishypie

Oh, that hawker centre beside the Bukit ho swee cc aLso have many great staLLs.The cheng tng and the uncLe who donned the fong fei-fei hat char kway teow were memorabLe too.
Each upgrading means upping the rentaLs, hence many of the originaL staLL hoLders wouLd either take the compensation as offered and cLose shop, or subLet them out..sLowLy but sureLy, there goes our food heritage.
:cool: