• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

30-year-old grad sent out 500 job applications to no avail

[h=2]30-year-old grad sent out 500 job applications to no avail[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
May 26th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

imagesCALNUO5D.jpg

My name is Ramesh. I am 30 years old and unemployed.
I have completed my Masters of Science in Management from Anglia Ruskin University, England.
I also have a Bachelor’s Degree, 2 Diplomas and other educational certificates
I have not been able to get a job since Dec 2010.
I have applied for lots of government jobs and almost a total of over 500 hundred jobs in 2011 from all sectors.
I have always been rejected, or kept for reference.
I have even tried applying for the same job again, but only to get the same reply.
I do not know why my application are always rejected even though I met all their criteria.
In March, I registered myself in Northwest CDC, but I have been told to attend a course.
Isn’t my educational qualifications and working experience enough? In the end CDC was unable to help me due to my high qualification.
News and stats show that there are lots of jobs not filled up, yet when I apply for government jobs I don’t fit the bill and not even call up for an interview.
I really do not know what else to do.
Only in March 2011 and July 2011, 2-3 companies bothered to call me to say that I am over qualified for their positions.
That is the reason I shifted my attention to Careers @ Gov.
In Oct 2011, I was called in by the Navy for a recruitment talk.
However, after talking to me, I was told that the cut off age is 28 whereas I was already 30 in 2011.
I have made a wasted trip yet again and another miserable rejection.
I even applied to MOE from 2006-2011 for a teaching position despite my qualifications.
I even wrote in to the the Education Minister and MOE head regarding my “always being rejected” tag. Don’t they always mentioned that there is a shortage of teachers?!
My MP appealed to E2i for me but I was made to go for a resume course. Thereafter, I was asked to go for another short course – I want to get a job not to waste my time attending courses!
I have been thinking about my future – a Singaporean currently without a future despite high qualifications.
I am basically living on credit. I have no contributions to my CPF nor Medisave for close to 2 years.
This will definitely affect my future if I wish to buy a flat or if contract any illness.
I am a Singapore Citizen yet I am unable to get a job whereas I see many foreigners enjoying the good life here.
Is it really so difficult to get a job here?
Regards,
Ramesh
* Letter first appeared from transitioning.org. Edited for TRE.

Singaporeans First =

lip-service-hidden-talent-demotivational-poster-1279043249.jpg

<CITE class=fn>Daemonic:</CITE>
May 26, 2012 at 11:35 pm Daemonic(Quote)
Don’t give up bro! I was once retrenched without a proper job for 7-8 months in 1996. Back then application letters with CV was sent via snail mail and cost me maybe $2 per mail (buying big envelop, photocopying academic grades and stamps cost 50cts each coz the whole package was big and bulky). Luckily, I decided to temp as a clerk for that 7-8 months even tho I got a BBA and only earned $5/hr. It helps me mentally altho not financially coz back then after CPF and deduction by my employment agency, only take home abt $400. Still had to give $200 to my mom and left with $200 for myself. Now, I still cannot imagine how I managed to send 4 applications a day. My morale drop so low being suicidal was not too far away. But I keep trying and trying. I told myself, “I will do all that I can as a human, let heaven decides if I am to live or die”. Somehow, heaven decide to let me live.
After all these years and being redundant a few times, I am numbed. Soon, I will be out-of-job again. But just let it be lah, don’t get too personal about it. Keep trying and let heaven decide the rest. All the best.

</EM>12</EM>0
Rate this

<LI id=li-comment-641485 class="comment odd alt thread-odd thread-alt depth-1">

<CITE class=fn>LIONS:</CITE>
May 27, 2012 at 12:07 am LIONS(Quote)
if there is no such ‘daft’ FT policy here,i am sure the situation would not have been so pathetic.
in this matter,let’s not just put blame on greedy employers alone,the GOVT plays a very big prt,no doubt.
if tomorrow,the govt of PM Lee decreeds that COMPANIES OPERATING MUST HERE HAVE A SINGAPOREANS FIRST POLICY,THEN,ALL THE EMPLOYERS will ruch to ‘kick out’ these less than talented ‘foreign PMETs’ here.
i think we should stop calling these foeigners ,’FTs’,we should start addressing them as ‘FPmets’ or ‘FP’ in short,to differentiate them from LOCAL PMETs.
i also blame bootlicking sgporean senior exectuives for exacerbatin gthe problems because of self-interests.
i know not a few sgporean executives who behave like that and i have told them off.
sad to see sgporeans form govt leaders to employers to colleagues screwing their own countrymen.

</EM>7</EM>1<CITE class=fn>Sophie:</CITE>
May 27, 2012 at 2:44 am Sophie(Quote)
Hi, I am having the same case here. I am a 22 year old uni grad from mit. I have graduated since last may 2011. But I am unable to find a full time job till now. I too have no cpf contribution. I have send out about 300 resume to both government jobs and website like jobdb etc. I was called to a few interviews like credit card sales etc and I was rejected as they were looking for diplomas grad instead. But the requirement they wrote on the advertisements were :”at least diploma” and I do have a diploma. And I did not even get a single reply from those governments jobs!

</EM>2</EM>0
Rate this

Rate this

<CITE class=fn>Don't vote for PAP:</CITE>
May 27, 2012 at 12:13 am Don't vote for PAP(Quote)
@ Ramesh
And please remember, don’t vote for PAP from now on! Vote for your favourite opposition party at the next GE!

</EM>11</EM>1
Rate this

SeeingRED

I have completed my Masters of Science in Management from Anglia Ruskin University, England.

Have you tried applying for jobs without stating MSc in the resume?
Does expected salary relate to approx. 3yrs working experience?

@ 21 yrs - Completed NS
@ 24 yrs - BSc
@ 27 yrs - Starting MSc
@ 29 yrs - MSc

Sir_Fcuk

Lunch Corporal
Sophie(Quote)
Hi, I am having the same case here. I am a 22 year old uni grad from mit. I have graduated since last may 2011. But I am unable to find a full time job till now. I too have no cpf contribution. I have send out about 300 resume to both government jobs and website like jobdb etc. I was called to a few interviews like credit card sales etc and I was rejected as they were looking for diplomas grad instead. But the requirement they wrote on the advertisements were :”at least diploma” and I do have a diploma. And I did not even get a single reply from those governments jobs!

[/I][/I][/I][/I][/I][/I]

Sophie's MIT = Melbourne Institute of Technology? Done at some local campus? See bay misleading, some of these applicants.... often an overinflation of CVs

He should try to be a 6k taxi driver.
Or jobs that many sinkies are currently employed in, security guards, cleaners, dishwashers....or he can be self employed and collect drink cans, cardboard, sell tissue papers etc

That's a whole list of jobs waiting for him....this bugger is just plain choosy.

Unrepented

Many people just get degree for the sake of being a "degree holder". But when you advise them or give them frank opinion on the institution that they have in mind, they feel offended. They thought that ones advising are prejudiced and attempting to discourage them from getting a degree to eliminate competition.

Then they waste time and money to realize the truth.....that's why I say previously that Oxford Brookes is erhm.....cough, cough...

Better to learn a marketable skill in his case.

never heard of the university

Hey this 'grad' should ask himself what type of Mickey Mouse uni degree he obtained before asking why employers do not wish to hire him. Why does he need to many certifications? There are so many people earning a decent living with just one Poly diploma.

But it should still be way better than the so-called "Foreign Talents" who cheated their way into SG on fake degrees issued by some "rectum university".

that is true, but if you are the boss, would you want someone cheaper , complain less, work extra without having to pay them, gov make it so easy to hire them, why bother deal with sinkies. If you are boss, unless you hate money, why bother with sinkies taking time off to do NS.

The Problem with this chap is typical of many 'younger' Singaporeans. I believe they are the Gen Y and younger. They think the more 'toilet paper' they have, the higher their chances of getting a job. What he should do is 'under sell' himself, take out the MSC etc from the resume and see what the response is. Furthermore MSC from some unknown University will not help. The higher educated you are and applying for a 'low level' job the chances of getting a the job is lower as employers believe that one will leave when they get the experience etc. Employers are fussy and want everything for free, so just learn to play the game. No point showing that you are over qualified, you wont get the job, think like an employer and work backwards..

Ramesh need to network a little bit lah. Got degree don't know how to network also won't go too far.

Beginning with networking via SBF Thailand thread ?
Hehehe. SBF not a good place to start. Probably start with his NS/JC/secondary friends or even relatives. Surely have someone got lobang.

I guess the problem with Sinkee education is to produce the ultimate scholars. Networking is never part of the syllabus.

Did he say what was his asking salary and position?

Does he have any work experience prior to taking his MBA for what that univeristy is.

Usually if one takes an MBA with much working experience, it will backfire.

And he is a local indian, Cina SMC confirm wont hire him wan

Did he say what was his asking salary and position?

Does he have any work experience prior to taking his MBA for what that univeristy is.

Usually if one takes an MBA with much working experience, it will backfire.