• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Dear all,

With no reference to anyone, no matter how good, smart or clever you think you are, please refrain from posting anything too sensitive here.
Already having a bad day and arranging for family matters plus had a long day. Booked a hotel room for family with jacuzzi but now ending up
in the lobby, cleaning up others mess yet again on the hotel's pc.

If you did something smart or clever, keep it to yourself if its too sensitive.

avelc

^^Don't be disheartened. HH is still OK as it is the flagship project for UEM/Gamuda in Nusajaya. So long if you are buying for own stay it is still all right although I think the newer precincts are not that attractive.

Check out the Gamuda website -- they are building/have built a few townships in South East Asia region... Surprised at the quality of construction of HH (at least according to some forummers here). Then again, nothing is for sure. SP Setia seems to have a very good reputation in Msia, but recalled a few people complaining about the quality of their houses (can't recall any specifics).

Wonder how UEM will fare wrt Ujana/Impiana/Puteri Harbour.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
This is one area that SG is superior. It is easy to obtain caveats to check on previous transacted prices.

If the ceiling is indeed raised, I am very sure prices will just magically escalate and yes, locals are laughing at us buying in at these prices. Think there is too much feel good sentiment and one has to be careful here which has a history of flip-flop policies although it has improved over time.

But again, I am a very cautious, conservative and risk averse fellow so am careful where I put my hard earned money in and I never believe in leverage/debt :smile:

Agree, one easy way is to check with the banks and get them to do the valuation on your behalf, they will be able to find out most of the information required.
For every optimist, there is a pessimist. No one is absolutely right or wrong. Just get units for your own stay and you will never need to worry regardless of how the market turns out. Being risk adverse has its own benefits as well, for those familiar with the 8 immortals (ba xian guo hai, ge xian shen tong), when the 8 immortals crosses the sea, each does it using his/her own abilities/ways.

Thats why there is no 100% right or correct way. Do your due dilligence, decide whether or not to or not do commit and then never look back.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I am now worried on our purchases.. Are we too naive and trust the developers and pay whatever they asked for? Are the prices that we paid real? 1.6m but actually only 1.4m? 1m but actually only 800k.. I guess the locals who laugh at us buying at such high price, might have some truth in it....

When ceiling raise to 1m, I won't be surprised developers need to give more kick backs in order to close sales..

I am definitely not worried. It depends more on timing rather than anything else, i have a good relationship with a developer but in the end the discount provided to me was still less than what early birds got in Feb-Mar for earlier blocks. Even though i got one from a rejected case (bank loan rejected) but my discount was the exact same one as them. No all locals laugh at us, some were laughing at me when i bought a terrace back then at 350k, another at 390k. They were also laughing at me when i politely suggested that they get the terraces outside at Bukit Indah which were still around 200 plus k back then.

Again, it really depends on when you buy and what you are buying it for in the end. Prime land will always have value as its always better to get a lousy house in a good location than an excellent house in a lousy location. Please remember a house is not a home, home is what attributes you put in to your own abode.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Actually I don't feel very good now.. If i am buying from any malaysia Chinese developers in future, I ll know what to do.... If not I will wait for Wuqi's mass purchase..

Don't be discouraged man, there are no absolutes and guarantees in life.
Nothing can be taken for granted. At least if you have done your best,
the rest should take its natural course.

At the end of the day, everyone that is created will rest in a casket.
Do whatever you can to help others and yourself before you enter the
casket.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Since we are on the topic of TH, I thought this extract from Christopher Balding's blog makes good reading. Is our dollar always going to be so strong? Think again. But hope that he is wrong!

Thanks so much for sharing this insightful article, definitely worth pondering over the next 50 man years that they take to sort things out.

2bFree

Well, I still think HH is OK, not fantastic but also not that bad. SP is popular in KL area and is the master builder of Bukit Indah but I have seen some of the houses and was unimpressed.

My opinion is the base structure must be sound and reliable. Everything else can be added/changed to suit your fancy. One thing good I notice here is no such thing as renovation loan. I think it is good to prevent people from over-spending unlike in SG. I believe that no matter how good quality building materials are used, it is up to the owner to maintain thereafter. If you don't take the effort to clean/upkeep/repair the place, then the place will deteriorate after some time.

Check out the Gamuda website -- they are building/have built a few townships in South East Asia region... Surprised at the quality of construction of HH (at least according to some forummers here). Then again, nothing is for sure. SP Setia seems to have a very good reputation in Msia, but recalled a few people complaining about the quality of their houses (can't recall any specifics).

Wonder how UEM will fare wrt Ujana/Impiana/Puteri Harbour.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Well, I still think HH is OK, not fantastic but also not that bad. SP is popular in KL area and is the master builder of Bukit Indah but I have seen some of the houses and was unimpressed.

My opinion is the base structure must be sound and reliable. Everything else can be added/changed to suit your fancy. One thing good I notice here is no such thing as renovation loan. I think it is good to prevent people from over-spending unlike in SG. I believe that no matter how good quality building materials are used, it is up to the owner to maintain thereafter. If you don't take the effort to clean/upkeep/repair the place, then the place will deteriorate after some time.

It's not difficult for someone to over spend on renovation in SG, someone spent like 180k sgd on his apt in SG but his place got SERS so in the end, everything was gone and he had to do renovation all over again in the new place.

arsenal

After a good night sleep, mind is clear and eveything is fine.. Sure got kick backs here and there, next time maybe can negoitate with the sales person for something extra.. Malaysia property sure have more upside.. They havent lower the mortage rate to 1% like Singapore. Next property must be shophouse.. Got lobang let me know..

It's not difficult for someone to over spend on renovation in SG, someone spent like 180k sgd on his apt in SG but his place got SERS so in the end, everything was gone and he had to do renovation all over again in the new place.

edragon

This exactly happened to my friend at Teban Garden. He renovated the apartment to 5-star hotel standard like Italian marble floors, exotic imported U.S. wood partition and panelling, plaster ceiling, tempered/laminated/frosted/tinted glasses etc. etc. but in a short time SERS. However, after pleading with the HDB he did get a bit extra as a consolation. Over in Malaysia there is no SERS I think.

Arowana88

Apologise wuqi for writing topics too sensitive but its all out of good will for fellow sgans who want to get a good and cheap unit, no matter what just want to share good stuff and not acting selfish, keeping good things to one self!

Thks anyway for knowing all of u!!

Last edited by a moderator:

sgtsk

Apologise wuqi for writing topics too sensitive but its all out of good will for fellow sgans who want to get a good and cheap unit, no matter what just want to share good stuff and not acting selfish, keeping good things to one self!

I think it is mean't to lessen your exposure to possible unnecessary risk. Your intention to share is a good one though.

Arowana88

I think it is mean't to lessen your exposure to possible unnecessary risk. Your intention to share is a good one though.

Talk about risk i think this forum is not secure at all, no offense. I once type under google .....something something... then it come to this forum.
I think this forum for living in JB should be place under highly secured forum, that means only approved members can view all topics and not all TOM DICK AND HARRY!!

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
:*:

No apologies required especially when we know you meant well but some comments from you and in response to what you posted is detrimental to you. Its not about being selfish but your sharing may hurt others as well, especially in your development who may be affected because of your postings.

It was made doubly bad as cleaning up was done over a very slow internet connection at the hotel and took such a long time.

Regardless of the offer, this is between you and developer, no matter how it is done specifically. Once you agreed, you are part of it. I am sure everyone appreciates your help but there are others who if they cannot do it, may want to sabo others.

This is public domain, all information is shared, even those in private will have some sort of cache, even Facebook tracks everything you post, etc.

Again, thanks for sharing, i am sure bros appreciate your kindness. Best to share in general terms and only respond to PMs if anyone is really keen. The rest is up to them.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
After a good night sleep, mind is clear and eveything is fine.. Sure got kick backs here and there, next time maybe can negoitate with the sales person for something extra.. Malaysia property sure have more upside.. They havent lower the mortage rate to 1% like Singapore. Next property must be shophouse.. Got lobang let me know..

Thanks but not for me, very discouraged by such people. Not planning to do this anymore, its only a couple of hundred bucks at the very most,THAT IS, even if they give. Definitely defintely not worth my time, not to mention the petrol and the trouble.

Even others who bought cars from people i recommend, the 300 rm comms i didnt take but asked them to use it to offset their car price. Those who bought knows what i am talking about. I dont even get thanked by the dealer or developers, even now, though i recommended so many to HH and EL, no one there even knows who i am.

Look at subsale or areas where it is booming with regards to shoplots. Its also a hit and miss sometimes, do aim for the ones facing the main road or easily accessible. Those that one must take more than 1-2 turns to get to, avoid. Also avoid shophouses below 3 storey.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
This exactly happened to my friend at Teban Garden. He renovated the apartment to 5-star hotel standard like Italian marble floors, exotic imported U.S. wood partition and panelling, plaster ceiling, tempered/laminated/frosted/tinted glasses etc. etc. but in a short time SERS. However, after pleading with the HDB he did get a bit extra as a consolation. Over in Malaysia there is no SERS I think.

Oh i see, that must have been very nice to behold but yes when you get SERS, its basically all gone. At least they were decent enough to give him a bit extra.

crystal_tiong

Hello narmi

Macs mobile station is back to bk Indah jusco. I did not hv chance to ask until when coz a lot of ppl crowded around. Should be end June like last time.

Today jb weather very hot , finally got time to send my car bumper for resprayed . Wow increased price like , used to be rm150 now it's rm170 compared to last 2 months. The weather makes me so sick now , having a fever e whole day even my massage lady says my body temperature very hot even finished 1.5 hrs.

Going to sleep now.

Hey wuqi

Dun get too sad ah , I think u should not bother anymore n spend time with yr wife, son n newborn. Btw , is it a princess?

Grago

Hello narmi

Macs mobile station is back to bk Indah jusco. I did not hv chance to ask until when coz a lot of ppl crowded around. Should be end June like last time.

Today jb weather very hot , finally got time to send my car bumper for resprayed . Wow increased price like , used to be rm150 now it's rm170 compared to last 2 months. The weather makes me so sick now , having a fever e whole day even my massage lady says my body temperature very hot even finished 1.5 hrs.

Going to sleep now.

Hey wuqi

Dun get too sad ah , I think u should not bother anymore n spend time with yr wife, son n newborn. Btw , is it a princess?

Bro Wuqi, Sis Crystal is giving excellent advice. Rest Bro and spend more time with your family.....

Status
Not open for further replies.