• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Poh Lee Guan Enigma

deepblue0911

LTK was quoted as saying that he has not contacted Poh over his surprise move, as he felt that the latter should be the one contacting the party.

If I were LTK, I would call him the first time I have an opportunity. PLG would owe me an explanation on what he did, why he did that and what he hope to achieve. Don't understand, maybe this is high level politics. Too chim for me liao. :biggrin:

cunnilaubu

If not for the Election Dept releasing the info, no one would have know that PLG had applied and was issued with the Political Donation Cert.
So maybe, just maybe, what he claimed was truth, that he only intend to be an "unofficial" standby in case PEH screws up.

This "unofficial" standby thingy sounds stupid but who knows.

captainxerox

plg is a loser. flash bang, and now gone. the mama, now plg, might even have one more wp resignation coming next! sekali huat also resign!

Kinana

The real loser is actually LTK, Poh had nothing to lose in this saga.
WP and its leadership had its reputation and credibility tarred.

captainxerox

if tarred at all, it is slightly and only for a very short while. wp is still steady and ahead in the hougang race.

Kinana

if tarred at all, it is slightly and only for a very short while. wp is still steady and ahead in the hougang race.

It also shows dissent and chaos among the members of the party.
This problem cannot be solved overnight and will only hamstring the party in the long run.
They will be faced with problems of recruitment of members, especially from minorities from now on for sure.

kukubird58

hahaha.....cum 26/5/12, png will still be elected into parleement.....
but history has a habit of repeating itself for the opps party......
when they made some inroads.....u can trust them to self-destruct...with internal squabblings and open dissents.
of course hidden hands and moles theories abound....
it will be interesting to see what happens in the next few years before the next GE.

deepblue0911

Disagree. WP and PLG are both tarnished by this incident. It shows that WP's control of PLG is suspect. On the other hand, PLG shows that he can't be trusted. His claim that as a business professor, he must have a contingency plan for WP, but in this case unilaterally without party's knowledge, is so lame that his professionalism is suspect.

So I say they're both tarnished.

deepblue0911

Nope, it simply means they don't recruit yes men among their ranks.

Did any other PAP member applied for BE in hougang?

Having an independent mind is one thing, when it comes to the crunch where you're asked to vote on a policy, do you think Desmond could/would vote against the PAP? Even if the party whip is lifted, do you think he would/could? I think you know the answer.

But PAP does project better unity. That's true.

Fook Seng

HTOLAS said:
Desmond Choo says he wants to speak independently of PAPzis! Split in PAPzi ranks?

He is afraid the senior party members might screw up his chances, like asking voters to repent.

Fook Seng

Kinana said:
Nope, it simply means they don't recruit yes men among their ranks.

Did any other PAP member applied for BE in hougang?

How can they not be yes men? They all speak alike. You, for instance.

hahaha.....cum 26/5/12, png will still be elected into parleement.....
but history has a habit of repeating itself for the opps party......
when they made some inroads.....u can trust them to self-destruct...with internal squabblings and open dissents.
of course hidden hands and moles theories abound....
it will be interesting to see what happens in the next few years before the next GE.

Priority to get them into parliament is crucial. The rest can talk later. 4 years down the road WP will emerge stronger with all the dissenters and greedy people purged. This BE can be considered as great cleanser with dissenters "true color" finally come to light. Luckily don't have to wait until next GE to put the house in order.

Really an enigma but it really shows that there is internal problems in WP. Goh Meng Seng

To you, this may appear an enigma. To me, this ain't one. The intent of PLG is crystal clear. I am sure you are delighted there is internal problems in the WP. Shiok shiok?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Maybe you should enlighten us about PLG's intention. :smile:

Am I delighted about internal problems in WP? I am quite indifferent actually, even though I saw it coming quite a number of months ago. Maybe I just feel glad that those who used to scorn at me for simply telling the truth will have to eat their hearts out.

Sometimes it is really difficult for people to be objective. There is no big deal if the party has internal problems, just solve it. But pretending there is nothing wrong and didn't take actions to resolve these problems aren't going to help the party grow.

Ostrich mentality isn't going to help anybody. From YSL saga till now, I would have thought WP members and supporters learned this basic truth.

Goh Meng Seng

To you, this may appear an enigma. To me, this ain't one. The intent of PLG is crystal clear. I am sure you are delighted there is internal problems in the WP. Shiok shiok?