• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

2bFree

Yes I agree on this. I don't think the quality of Singapore engineers are any worse off than from other countries. But you are right that NS/IPPT will come into play plus the fact that although SGD3.5k is a good starting amount, we do have higher cost of living and this pay grade cannot stagnate but the foreigners can accept this for longer periods of time due to currency exchange.

i do appreciate some FT who helped us in building homes , doing health cares jobs .... but some jobs seriously needs to consider to let singaporeans to be consider first ....
u know my coy has employed a few engineers and drafters jobs last few weeks but all are foreigners . Dun tell me singaporeans cant do a drafter job or think the pay is low ? my coy pay quite well . min salary is 3.5k at least for any admin job. Seriously i think 3.5k is not bad already . But i heard coz NS will disrupt the progress of the project so they prefer to employ foreigners....

Arowana88

The smiley face is to state there is nothing personal about what has happened. Definitely not 'trying to get back' towards you.

The jumping to conclusion remark is in reference to saying I have links with the SG government. This is why I seek clarification as I have no idea why you latched on to this line of thinking.

Cool down bro, no point urgue over some comments.... shake hands, ..... apologise .... forget it....

crystal_tiong

Yes I agree on this. I don't think the quality of Singapore engineers are any worse off than from other countries. But you are right that NS/IPPT will come into play plus the fact that although SGD3.5k is a good starting amount, we do have higher cost of living and this pay grade cannot stagnate but the foreigners can accept this for longer periods of time due to currency exchange.

3.5k is pay for drafter , engineer are getting much more . foreginers are living in SG too , so living costs should apply to them.
why is that they can endure with such pay ?

2bFree

Haha, don't worry, am always cool. Well not really cool today, rather hot as I am still trying to get over a sore throat and fever which is why got time to surf here more than usual! :biggrin:

Just got to clear up some misconception since apparently I am working for the government without my knowledge! :smile:

Cool down bro, no point urgue over some comments.... shake hands, ..... apologise .... forget it....

Arowana88

i do appreciate some FT who helped us in building homes , doing health cares jobs .... but some jobs seriously needs to consider to let singaporeans to be consider first ....
u know my coy has employed a few engineers and drafters jobs last few weeks but all are foreigners . Dun tell me singaporeans cant do a drafter job or think the pay is low ? my coy pay quite well . min salary is 3.5k at least for any admin job. Seriously i think 3.5k is not bad already . But i heard coz NS will disrupt the progress of the project so they prefer to employ foreigners....

Many true blue Singaporeans kana retrenched, cos their salaries too high... company rather get indians from india with master degree to take over jobs with lesser pay!!! how adsurd!!! The garment indirectly bring us plague than good fortune!! making everyone's life miserable and cramp in a small island call.... singhgapo!!!!!!

crystal_tiong

The smiley face is to state there is nothing personal about what has happened. Definitely not 'trying to get back' towards you.

The jumping to conclusion remark is in reference to saying I have links with the SG government. This is why I seek clarification as I have no idea why you latched on to this line of thinking.

not saying u have links with govt . its more like the mindset u have , anything wrong , its always singaporean faults!
its singaporeans faults for not able to mingle with foreigners etc etc etc
if jb become worse , it will be another singaporeans fault !

2bFree

From my experience, these employment pass engineers don't mind sacrificing staying or even sharing a room with other people to reduce their living expenses which the bulk is always residence. They are also inclined to do more OT if available since they are likely to have no family or even IPPT/NS commitments. Factoring in their remittance of their pay back to their home country, the amount of SGD3.5k becomes a princely sum if compounded over the years!

But if you ask me for solutions, sorry, I know of none as it is not an easy matter to solve plus the problem has ballooned for too long and swept under the carpet. Am not paid millions to solve these problems :biggrin:

3.5k is pay for drafter , engineer are getting much more . foreginers are living in SG too , so living costs should apply to them.

Arowana88

those FTrash got free housing, free car, free education for their kids ( mostly ang mos) and those indians and pinoys rent a whole unit HDB or condo then 7 to 10 person share abit rental here and there end up paying few hundreds per month rather than us paying at least $1k for a unit HDB in sg.

crystal_tiong

Haha, don't worry, am always cool. Well not really cool today, rather hot as I am still trying to get over a sore throat and fever which is why got time to surf here more than usual! :biggrin:

Just got to clear up some misconception since apparently I am working for the government without my knowledge! :smile:

I NEVER say u work for govt ! i have said its the MINDSET. Always cane their own child first without finding who is really at FAULT!
I am not going to reply anymore if u still think i say u work for GOVT.
Please read the posts again !

Arowana88

From my experience, these employment pass engineers don't mind sacrificing staying or even sharing a room with other people to reduce their living expenses which the bulk is always residence. They are also inclined to do more OT if available since they are likely to have no family or even IPPT/NS commitments. Factoring in their remittance of their pay back to their home country, the amount of SGD3.5k becomes a princely sum if compounded over the years!

But if you ask me for solutions, sorry, I know of none as it is not an easy matter to solve plus the problem has ballooned for too long and swept under the carpet. Am not paid millions to solve these problems :biggrin:

$3.5k if u convert to their hometown currency rate u will b shocked!!! back home they only earn peanuts, come sg they become action! when one have earn power they tend to think he is the king and they become stuck up!

Arowana88

I NEVER say u work for govt ! i have said its the MINDSET. Always cane their own child first without finding who is really at FAULT!
I am not going to reply anymore if u still think i say u work for GOVT.
Please read the posts again !

ok ok, stop this pls. you never say, i say one ok!!???
later meet two of you at station one!! i buy two of u drinks to cool down!!!

2bFree

Ahh, ok clarity!

Well, I think we are all adults so whenever something goes wrong, we have to look internally to see is it something that we have done since. Cannot go around blaming everybody else and absolve oneself of responsibility right?

What you have said can also be taken that if anything is wrong in SG, it must be FT fault too. Also wrong what.

Based on my post count and join date, I don't think I would have made many comments on this issue. My apologies if you are offended by my 100+ posts but I do try to remain a-political.

If Singaporeans are to grow, mature and be able to fight at the forefront, we have to examine, accept our flaws and then overcome them. So the first step is to acknowledge the areas that we are lacking and work on them. There can't be fire without smoke.

OK, need to go take more medication and rest. Been fun, please continue back to regular programming :biggrin:

not saying u have links with govt . its more like the mindset u have , anything wrong , its always singaporean faults!
its singaporeans faults for not able to mingle with foreigners etc etc etc
if jb become worse , it will be another singaporeans fault !

crystal_tiong

Ahh, ok clarity!

Well, I think we are all adults so whenever something goes wrong, we have to look internally to see is it something that we have done since. Cannot go around blaming everybody else and absolve oneself of responsibility right?

What you have said can also be taken that if anything is wrong in SG, it must be FT fault too. Also wrong what.

Based on my post count and join date, I don't think I would have made many comments on this issue. My apologies if you are offended by my 100+ posts but I do try to remain a-political.

If Singaporeans are to grow, mature and be able to fight at the forefront, we have to examine, accept our flaws and then overcome them. So the first step is to acknowledge the areas that we are lacking and work on them. There can't be fire without smoke.

OK, need to go take more medication and rest. Been fun, please continue back to regular programming :biggrin:

so do u think pappies have look at internal first ? if they have not open the flood gates , will the problems aries ? yet they are blaming us for not open to foreigners etc.
I dun mind they import quality FTs but look at those around u !

arsenal

Agree totally.... not like WP, which giving their team a very bad name all together. Pride, selfishness, self centred, jealousy and etc will lead to division!

PAP ka-tek Mr Kaw wrote this morning that he is very worried about the unity of Worker Party.
I said I am very worried about the unity of PAP.. They are so unified in screwing the low paid Singaporeans, in squeezing money out of the people and so united when come to justify their pay rise..

LeMans2011

The trouble is not so much with the lower paid master degree holders from India or China.
They have been around here so long that many of them are receiving equivalent local pay. The issue i have with them is: they are not that good at their work.. many of them have more connections than we do today. My company alone have several India Indians at high position.. these bunch of people are bringing their whole clan into the company at equivalent local pay.. and i find their work performance generally below Sinkies. They could talk and talk like for 30 mins over an issue that can be solved in 3 minutes.

sgtsk

I think everyone got a point although the point each has may appear contradictory now. But I believe we will understand better as we all grow older and understand humanity and the universe better.

Status
Not open for further replies.