• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Youtube: How PAP Govt's liberal immigration policy has affected S'poreans - AlJazeera

SNAblog

<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/5NpXGmhvLTo&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/5NpXGmhvLTo&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>
<br>
<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/-NmFYm-HdJA&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-NmFYm-HdJA&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>

SNAblog

Re: Youtube: How PAP Govt's liberal immigration policy has affected S'poreans - AlJaz

Part II at about 0.30mins:

Siew Kum Hong really hit the nail on the head when he said that Singaporeans accepts foreign workers in the two extreme spectrum of the job market - the highly skilled which Singapore lacks, and the low-skilled low paying job like construction, which Singaporeans cannot afford to compete on pay. What rile Singaporeans are those in the middle of the two spectrums, where S'poreans are able to do, but are replaced by foreigners because employers find them cheaper.

iamtalkinglah

Re: Youtube: How PAP Govt's liberal immigration policy has affected S'poreans - AlJaz

This thread should also be move to Coffee Shop Talk to let more brothers know.

Seen the two videos and let me do a brief summary on the impt points for brother's easy reference (and of course some of my views la! :biggrin:).

1) Why do the gov't need to spend $ to integrate the new citizens with the old citizens? E.g FREE ENGLISH COURSES?

Because they let uneducated people be the new Citizen. Correct me if I am wrong, if you are educated, how would you not be able to speak English?

2) There is no guarantee that talent PRs will stay in Singapore forever. E.g. Molecular biologist, Shi Yigong. See http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/07/world/asia/07scholar.html.

Therefore, one day we may be "betrayed" by these PRs.

3) Which country in the world have >1/3 of foreigners? Is there a better solution to solve the problem of not having enough people? I don't know because I am not that smart. That is the gov't's job. Aren't them supposed to lead us and solve the problem?

4) I don't consider myself the highly skilled which Singapore lacks and definitely I am not in the low-skilled low paying job. But I am one example whereby almost half of my colleagues are foreigners. So I don't buy this story that Singaporeans accepts foreign workers in the two extreme spectrum of the job market.

5) What the ang mo said is true- Studies have shown that immigration is most successful, when you have many different groups from many different countries instead of from one big group from one same country.

6) Of course the govt decline to be interview in this show. Will kana shoot like siao!

Have all these videos put up on TOC and TR too. Continue to interview and conduct news about PAP anti-Singaporean policies which msn failed to report. Such stream of news from non main stream media could easily translates many votes into opposition party ballot boxes. It will also educate main stream reporters and pressurised them to work harder towards objective reporting fair to everyone including the alternative parties

yuelao

5) What the ang mo said is true- Studies have shown that immigration is most successful, when you have many different groups from many different countries instead of from one big group from one same country.

I think you need to qualify this a little more. I am sure we don't want many immigrants from many third world countries flooding Sinkieland. Ideally, what we want are people from developed countries moving into SG and they should be drawn from many different developed countries. Unfortunately, we know and the government knows, this is impractical because the number of people from developed countries wanting to move to SG is pathetically abysmal.

popdod

This thread should also be move to Coffee Shop Talk to let more brothers know.

And oso other forums.<---- but forget charbor forums...coz they dun hab political sections. :(
I'd posted in HWZ.

:p :wink: :p

kingrant

Ever wondered why PAP is opening the doors wide now and not later?

Old Man wants his son's govt to bite the bullet while he's still around --in case, he has to step in. He may be flattering himself if Old man thinks that Sinkies still listen and be fooled by him.

On a serious side, the NGO guy said that the integration programs were targeted more at the higher grade of FTs. This is quite something new. Why not the lower end ones, who actually need more grace, manners, etc.?

<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/5NpXGmhvLTo&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/5NpXGmhvLTo&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>
<br>
<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/-NmFYm-HdJA&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-NmFYm-HdJA&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>

There are 2 categories - (1) transient (2) PR/Citizenship potential. The first has a series of conditions such as marriage, pregnancy etc. They are referring to the 2nd category. The second category has been dramatically increased since 2003. Its now includes service/retail staff, general workers. The integration model roled by PA/Grassroots covers all these in (2) including service staff.

iamtalkinglah

Hi all brothers,
I am new to forum, can someone move this to Coffee Shop Talk so that more brothers can benefit from the video?

HELP I DON'T KNOW HOW TO COPY AND PASTE VIDEOS. PLEASE HELP ME MOVE THE VIDEOS TO HERE http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=49386.

I already create the thread but don't know how to copy and paste the video :(

iamtalkinglah

I think you need to qualify this a little more. I am sure we don't want many immigrants from many third world countries flooding Sinkieland. Ideally, what we want are people from developed countries moving into SG and they should be drawn from many different developed countries. Unfortunately, we know and the government knows, this is impractical because the number of people from developed countries wanting to move to SG is pathetically abysmal.

Ya I know what you mean. But the above sounds familiar right? Bulk of the immigrants in Singapore are Ah Tiong or Ah Neh.

Then it's the gov't job to attract people from other developed countries. Otherwise, why we vote for them? Why people want to move to London, New York and Sydney? They should find out and think of a solution for Singapore.