You die, your business

The core concern of a Govt made up of the rich i.e. when political power is concentrated in the hands of the wealthy, is that their interests would naturally diverge from, and even harm the interests of the general population. We have seen this with the PAP, which consists of the elites who got to where they are due to both nepotism and cronyism.

This is life in the HDB slums for many neglected seniors here

cluttermain.jpg

This is life in the HDB slums for many neglected seniors here

cluttermain.jpg

this type not "neglected senior" .... this type is mental problem senior .... they mental problem but yet the whole government and senior family cannot do anything to make her go treatment go hospital go clean up go stop hoarding .... whole government together with MPs only suck thumb when those sinkies suffering beside these hoarders seek help .... jialat!

My company did some CSR cleaning of rental HDB flats on a few occasions. The stench, filth and hoarding at some of these units were awful.

Forum: Disturbing trend at zebra crossings​

Jan 09, 2025

I refer to the report (Cyclist dies in accident with private bus in Pioneer Road North; driver arrested, Jan 7). The accident highlights a pressing concern of mine.

As a frequent pedestrian, I have noticed a disturbing trend: an increasing number of drivers refusing to yield to pedestrians at zebra crossings. This blatant disregard for pedestrians’ right of way puts vulnerable groups, such as the elderly, children, and those with mobility challenges, in harm’s way. Furthermore, some drivers recklessly cut in front of pedestrians already on the crossing, endangering lives.

Another safety issue occurs at bends. Drivers often focus solely on oncoming traffic to the right, neglecting to look ahead at the zebra crossing. Consequently, they may accelerate without noticing pedestrians directly in front of them.

While we do not know the circumstances of the latest tragic accident, it serves as a stark reminder of the urgent need for greater attention to the safety of users of zebra crossings. To address this, the authorities must strengthen enforcement and raise awareness among drivers, ensuring that pedestrians can use zebra crossings with confidence.

Mohamad Nurhafiz Mohd Noor

Forum: Disturbing trend at zebra crossings
There is also a disturbing trend of pedestrians (many with eyes glued to their phones) at the zebra crossing who presume traffic will stop for them so they pay no heed to vehicles in close proximity before stepping off the pavement. Many cyclists also believe that they qualify as pedestrians and do not stop to watch out for cars as they ride across.