• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

YOG - A Total PR disaster for SG

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
facepalm8.jpg

Our authorities acted like North Korea II when coercing our students and youngsters to "volunteer" themselves and giving them "dog food".

Then they went on Astroturfing support by putting up propaganda reports without any regards on the sentiments on the ground.

Then they have "SOLD OUT TICKETS" which end up with venues of more than half empty.

Then rumors of 30 cases of food poisoning. Now, we have canvas roof falling apart at YOG basketball venue!

http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2010/08/18/canvas-roof-falls-apart-at-yog-basketball-venue/

A $400m exercise which is supposed to pop up our Singapore Branding internationally turns out to be a total disaster. Sigh.

scape.jpg

By Republic Polytechnic’s Michelle Weers

The canvas roof at the 3-on-3 basketball Youth Olympic Games (YOG) venue at *scape Youth Space along Orchard Road fell apart after heavy rain on Tuesday afternoon.

When contacted by Yahoo! SEA, the Singapore Youth Olympic Games Organising Committee (SYOGOC) said the incident happened at 4:20pm.

“The canvas roof in front on the sideline had given way due to heavy pooling of rainwater. Some FIBA officials and SYOGOC staff got wet but, no one was injured,” said the SYOGOC spokesperson.

“The Skills Challenge for Basketball at *scape Youth Space has been cancelled today [Tuesday] due to weather conditions. It was originally scheduled to take place from 4pm to 6pm.”

SYOGOC added that it is carrying out repairs and will provide an update on the status of the Basketball preliminaries that are scheduled for today.

*scape”s Senior Marketing Manager, Kenneth Tan, said he was aware of this incident but “couldn’t comment on it”, when contacted by Yahoo! SEA.

Earlier in the day, basketball matches were held for both boys and girls categories. 16 matches were played from 9am to 1pm.

Coverage of Singapore’s inaugural Youth Olympic Games is brought to you by students from Republic Polytechnic’s Diploma in Communication and Information Design (DCID), in conjunction with Yahoo! South-east Asia.

RandomNexus

GMS,

I just dropped by Temasek Review to read some of the incoming posts - looks like it is a flood of complaints.... the official media is quite quiet but not the internet...

Volunteers work long hours and are given mere packaged food whereas the athletes and officials are given buffet-style meals.

For YOG relay, looks like they have to drum out the school children to come out to welcome the Torch Relay, some more in pouring rain... parents must be hopping mad..

Looks like the elitist top is totally out of sync with the grassroots for this YOG thing. Yet frankly, they have been out of touch for a long time. I note certain interesting correlations...

The spirit of volunteering has never been rooted as a culture in Singapore. To encourage volunteering for YOG, the pappy regime run into a big problem which is the source of all these complaints. Volunteering gets few rewards except the pride and honour to be involved in a "cause". Yet why are all these volunteers complaining? Surely there should be "enough" pride in the nation and for common good... the finger goes to the Very Top. All the while in their propaganda, they are the ones who insist an enormous exorbitant price in material terms must be paid for good "talented" folks - the very elites who are needed to run the country and so in a circular argument, they deserve their rewards, hence their "legitimacy" and need to be granted such rewards. With such arguments, if you buy them, everybody will start thinking ...so where is my reward then? Clearly I deserve to be treated just as greatly ...where is the material rewards? This logic goes downwards to all strata of the populace in the cultural system - everybody is thinking for its own sake. In all political systems, the problem is the size of the pie - some will get more, some less or alternatively, everyone should get more or less the same? When the system decides to go elitist to justify their existence and need for material rewards, it has consequences that ripple throughout the socio-cultural system. The elites take care of their own first, and 'others" later, and even preach the gospel of their greatness, and due to this greatness, the "others" get their "rewards", which is at a great disparity to what is at the top.

I think the pappies have not thought deep enough about this, and they are simply thinking of the end-goals of YOG. They are not thinking enough of the processes that are churning in this system of ours which they have a hand to create. Does our socio-cultural system have what it takes to promote the end-goals of YOG? It ignores the old-decades socialisation practices that have been around in this nation of 45 years... thanks to the pappy regime and system.

For this system, such practices of the elites have long been around and only now, it is applied on a national scale for YOG. Let me illustrate an example, say SAF. All of us are long grounded in the socialisation practices of the SAF. SAF started off with the notion that you need conscripts to build an army to defend a nation. If you get professional, first of all, there is a problem of paying and with an empty treasury, the country can't afford it. So pay them dirt cheap and this is what happens... as the country progresses, they forgot about it, and continue to make use of this cheap labour to keep this facade of maintaining an army for deterrance and use these solders for the "national" events like NDPs, YOG etc. Honestly, they paid cheap for these labour but for the elites, the argument turns the other way round - they are to be paid "market" rate. Quite a hypocrisy?

For a long time, soldiers come and ago, and complaints about SAF turn into jokes, and we only talk about these among ourselves and accept the rituals forced onto us. The significant majority of my army buddies still think SAF is a "joke". Once I remember our Commander wanted to have a "frank" talk with all of us, and wanted us to say frankly our feelings about SAF, and promised that it will be kept within the four walls. The interesting thing was that nobody raised any objection at all. We aren't even interested to voice our internal grouses. Yet we all knew that most of us did not take SAF seriously, nor do we have pride in "serving this nation". There is no pride and SAF is just a dumb chore. As a soldier and I reckon for many, you can feel it that you are not treated well as a form of honour in real deeds but the top fellows on top just shout empty rhetoric about this national duty as a honour. It is crass talk and lots of hypocrisy.

This YOG thing is remiscent of how things are organised in SAF, and how exploitation takes place. This time, you are messing with students' lives, and I do think it will blow up at Pappies' faces .... in a matter of time, the media will be asked to tone down painting the negative image...but for the internet, I doubt they can do anything. It is interesting that they have not realised it, and they are employing these same practices here.

It is not pretty. I have no wish to wish the worse for Singapore. YOG should be an event every citizen should be proud. It is the way the undercurrents have been running that make it impossible. If they want to generate a good image, it should be how to make Singaporeans get "rewarded" on their personal terms - national pride should be about a "common" good and a certain genuineness in the values system. However, in the case of Majulah Singapura, the elitist culture and values that have been embedded here, primarily for their "own sake", and it hinders their promotion of such humanitarian values.

This time, the joke is on the pappies. Haha. Looks like how they want YOG to be, is not going to turn them into votes for the coming elections. Hope you will score on this one for your electoral attempt, GMS. Good luck.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2000_Summer_Olympics

Volunteer program

The origins of the volunteer program for Sydney 2000 dates back to the bid, as early as 1992.

On 17 December 1992, a group of Sydney citizens, interested in the prospect of hosting the 2000 Olympic and Paralympic Games, gathered for a meeting at Sports House, at Wentworth Park in Sydney.

In the period leading up to 1999, after Sydney had won the bid, the small group of volunteers grew from approximately 42 to around 500. These volunteers became known as Pioneer Volunteers. The Pioneer Volunteer program was managed internally by SOCOG's Volunteer Services Department in consultation with prominent peak groups like The Centre for Volunteering (Volunteering NSW) and TAFE. Some of the Pioneer Volunteers still meet every four months, an unseen legacy of the games which brought together a community spirit not seen before.

During the Olympic games tens of thousands of volunteers, the official figure was placed at 46, 967,<sup id="cite_ref-13" class="reference">[14]</sup> helped everywhere at the Olympic venues and elsewhere in the city. They were honoured with a parade like the athletes had a few days before.

grunt72

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2000_Summer_Olympics

Volunteer program

The origins of the volunteer program for Sydney 2000 dates back to the bid, as early as 1992.

On 17 December 1992, a group of Sydney citizens, interested in the prospect of hosting the 2000 Olympic and Paralympic Games, gathered for a meeting at Sports House, at Wentworth Park in Sydney.

In the period leading up to 1999, after Sydney had won the bid, the small group of volunteers grew from approximately 42 to around 500. These volunteers became known as Pioneer Volunteers. The Pioneer Volunteer program was managed internally by SOCOG's Volunteer Services Department in consultation with prominent peak groups like The Centre for Volunteering (Volunteering NSW) and TAFE. Some of the Pioneer Volunteers still meet every four months, an unseen legacy of the games which brought together a community spirit not seen before.

During the Olympic games tens of thousands of volunteers, the official figure was placed at 46, 967,<sup id="cite_ref-13" class="reference">[14]</sup> helped everywhere at the Olympic venues and elsewhere in the city. They were honoured with a parade like the athletes had a few days before.

It's been said before and I will say it again - Singapore has the technical expertise and the money for sure BUT it has a long way to go in terms of Heart and flexibility. I am a volunteer with YOG and am dismayed by the lack of initiative, resourcefulness and flexibility of the organisers and most of the volunteer workforce. They are good at following rules but nothing else....sad for a world class event (

I am a volunteer with YOG and am dismayed by the lack of initiative, resourcefulness and flexibility of the organisers and most of the volunteer workforce.

Are you a real volunteer or were you "volunteered" by someone above?:p

Humans are inherently resourceful. That's how the human race became the dominant species on earth. However, resourcefulness is only displayed when it results in a reward of some kind or other.

The Sinkie system does the opposite and rewards the acts of conforming and rule following. The end result is what you see around you. In fact, it could be said that Sinkies are very resourceful in pretending to conform despite the fact that they would actually like to display their creativity.

The term "volunteer" carries negative connotation in Singapore. It has been associated with the political grassroots nonsense to charities that have swindled Singaporeans.

The number of volunteers that have registered their intention for the London 2012 has far exceeded demand that the organising committee has tough time picking who they want to avoid complaints. It was the same with such events in many countries.

Singapore is a whole different ball game. It is associated with political favours. I remember when a boy fell thru a rusted railings at a HDB block and the MP wanted an "independent" inquiry, so many professionals volunteered. They all turned out to be grassroots leaders with PAP association.

We have gone thru life with this wayang and we all have become cynics. The heart is somewhere else.

Watchman

In short volunteers are bootlickers who looking out for gains .

The other "volunteers" are merely slaves .

Watchman

In short volunteers are bootlickers who looking out for gains .

The other "volunteers" are merely slaves .

ahleebabasingaporethief

HOW IS IT THAT THE BEST BRAINS (self proclaimed) IN THE COUNTRY IS FOREVER COCKING UP IN JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING THEY DO?

1. MARINA BAY SANDS - INTERNATIONAL LAW CONFERENCE PLUS RECENT NOT ABLE TO COPE WITH HEAVY CHECK IN LOADS

2. RWS - UNIVERSAL STUDIOS RIDES

3. MARINA BARRAGE - CAUSE OF FLOODING IN SINGAPORE (not owning up)

4. SELETAR AIRPORT - FLOODED. PRIVATE JETS INTO SINGAPORE HOW?

PLUS PLUS PLUS....SO MANY MORE.

ALL THESE PEOPLE CAN DO IS TO BULLY THEIR OWN CITIZENS.

1. CPF LIFE - COMPULSORY FROM 2013. THIS IS ROBBERY. FORCED PARTICIPATION TO PART WITH YOUR OWN MONEY FOR THEM TO USE?

2. YOG: DOG FOOD FOR SINGAPORE VOLUNTEERS. IF NOT HIGHLIGHTED IN INTERNET; IT WILL CARRY ON.

BEST BRAINS RUNNING THIS COUNTRY? I DON'T THINK SO

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
GMS,

I just dropped by Temasek Review to read some of the incoming posts - looks like it is a flood of complaints.... the official media is quite quiet but not the internet...

Volunteers work long hours and are given mere packaged food whereas the athletes and officials are given buffet-style meals.

For YOG relay, looks like they have to drum out the school children to come out to welcome the Torch Relay, some more in pouring rain... parents must be hopping mad..

Looks like the elitist top is totally out of sync with the grassroots for this YOG thing. Yet frankly, they have been out of touch for a long time. I note certain interesting correlations...

The spirit of volunteering has never been rooted as a culture in Singapore.

Dear RandomNexus,

Wah, long time no see you around!

You have hit a strong cord in my heart which I have refrained from commenting before this YOG event ends.

I have been a volunteer myself in my earlier life through various channels. I am dismayed at the state of affairs we are facing right now and I share the same views as you; politicians who have pat themselves on their back by justifying their million dollar pay has no moral high ground to ask or motivate people to volunteer their services. Politics is Public Service which will require a certain high degree of self sacrifices. If the top people couldn't even make their sacrifices instead of keep justifying their worth, the social-cultural mindset will be cast.

The only difference is that I serve my National Service with pride. However I have seen my men so demoralized every time they come back for reservist training. It hurts me deep down. Seems that nobody believe in the values we used to hold dearly anymore.

Sometimes people wonder why am I in opposition politics. I look more like a RC member or CCC member. I thought to myself, it is precisely that such organizations have lost their functionality of volunteerism, infested with goodies and privilege mentality that I would never again be associated with them.

My wife was very puzzled when I told her that many students were coerced into volunteering for this YOG. In Hong Kong, people are so enthusiastic in volunteering their services when HK was hosting part of the Olympic event as well as East Asian Game. There is a true spirit of volunteerism as well as enthusiasm in participating in the event. There is no need of Astroturfing of ground support. The pride is genuine so as the spirit of volunteerism. HK is not even a country or state to start with.

The social-cultural mindset has been poisoned by greed of materialism in the guise of elitism and meritocracy. The poison is prescribed by this PAP government.

Goh Meng Seng

saratogas

The objective of running this YOG as what Minister said before, is to sell the Sinkapore brand n leave an impression of us with the participants. So good or bad the objective has met.

eQuipment

dont worry. after this episode of the disastrous YOG. the gahmen will soon be head-hunting & grooming a new ministar & create a new portfolio called "public relations"

manokie

My wife was very puzzled when I told her that many students were coerced into volunteering for this YOG. In Hong Kong, people are so enthusiastic in volunteering their services when HK was hosting part of the Olympic event as well as East Asian Game. There is a true spirit of volunteerism as well as enthusiasm in participating in the event. There is no need of Astroturfing of ground support. The pride is genuine so as the spirit of volunteerism. HK is not even a country or state to start with.

The value system is very weak in Singapore

Remember LKY said something like there is no ideology in SG and we are practical

Why bother to volunteer then?

:rolleyes:

Volunteering requires a spirit that has to be nurtured through the media influence, school instruction and also public figures have to lead by example

Mighty Megatron

Not to mention I did not get to watch The Last Avatar and Icarly on OKTO last night! :mad:

Seriously YOG was a nice idea but executed terribly by people who had no passion, no imagination and worst of all no vision. Hence the cut and paste feel of the event.

eQuipment

• MCYS tell MOE to play ball
  • MOE headman tell all school principals to play ball
  • principals block order all tickets for the YOG, tell the teachers to play ball
  • teachers send out letters to parents, telling them that their kids must play ball

parents reply letter to schools "u can suck on my balls"

rodent2005

politicians who have pat themselves on their back by justifying their million dollar pay has no moral high ground to ask or motivate people to volunteer their services.

I totally agree. The PAP has absolutely zero authority to ask Singaporeans to volunteer or make sacrifices. If they need help they will have to pay for it.

They try to justify their existence and high pay by citing GDP growth figures but everyone knows that majority of the benefits is not filtered down to the general population. In fact, the PAP makes rich bosses richer by opening the floodgate to low quality foreign trashes, depressing our wages and lowering our standards.

In addition, look at their performance. Billions lost in record time, YOG almost 3 times cost over-run and many more. And what takes the cake is that the PAP has no regrets, still sitting pretty drawing their multi-million dollar paychecks and locks up our CPF money by forcing us to buy the unfavourable annuity and raising retirement age.

Brightkid

We volunteer only if there are tangible benefits. for examples :

1. Parents volunteer to be school's parent-support IF it include a priority entry into selected primary school.

2. Volunteers for grass-loot duties if it offers priority HDB, free carpark, and the chance to kick-ass of neighbours their hated.

3. And many more opportunities to get some benefts.....

Volunteer for YOG for a packet of dog-food ? Wait nong nong.

rodent2005

The objective of running this YOG as what Minister said before, is to sell the Sinkapore brand n leave an impression of us with the participants. So good or bad the objective has met.

Can the minister kindly prove the link between spending almost $400 milllion and the favourable publicity we are supposed to get, and how much of this publicity translates to revenue and benefits for all Singaporeans?

If you ask your boss to spend $400 million and tell him the money spent will only bring in vague benefits, you will be shown the door immediately.

actually the whole thing about shouting out Singapore name to the world is flawed...

think...we are at internet age already...who on earth, who is influential and of use to singapore, would not know of Singapore?

The reason why they are not : working here, investing here, living here or migrating here is because they DONT WANT TO for whatever reasons. And they choose not to KNOW us.

For those who geniuenely don't know us, they need not know us because they are of no use to us.

For example, do you need to know where Vanatau is ? No, becos even if you do, you will not go there !

Not to mention I did not get to watch The Last Avatar and Icarly on OKTO last night! :mad:

Seriously YOG was a nice idea but executed terribly by people who had no passion, no imagination and worst of all no vision. Hence the cut and paste feel of the event.

Don't worry it's the umpteenth time they are rerunning that Avatar show. You'll probably see it in the coming years :smile:

I also wanted to see a non-YOG related show but even the kiddie channels are not left untouched, so I ended up listen to the radio :rolleyes: