• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WTF... inhumane SMRT compensate $5000 to Thai girl who lost both legs !!!!!

BusNo64

KNNBPCB...fucking malaysian CEO saw ph.... company make hundreds of millions dollar profit every quarter...but yet only pay $5000 to the Thai girl who lost both leg in the mrt station accident...KNNBPCB...wat a fucking insult to Singapore...fucking inhumane malaysian CEO Saw PH should be sacked immediately ... :mad::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Thai teen who lost legs: Why SMRT offered compensation of only $5,000?

thai_teen_who_lost_legs_smrt_offered_compensation_of_only_5000-thumbnail.jpg

SMRT has offered the Thai teen who lost both her legs in an MRT accident here a compensation of $5,000. However, 14-year-old's father has rejected the amount as it is 'unacceptable'.

On April 3, Peneakchanasak Nitcharee pitched forward onto the MRT tracks at Ang Mo Kio station. Since then, she has recovered well in Tan Tock Seng Hospital and has been undergoing physiotherapy.

According to a report in The Straits Times today (June 12), Mr Peneakchanasak engaged a lawyer last week to look into getting higher compensation from SMRT. It had offered $5,000, which he has rejected.

"Unacceptable. This is for a person, a little girl -- a little girl who had a bad accident. From today onwards, there will be more expenses, like the cost of her new legs and rehabilitation," Nitcharee's upset father told the press.

The Thai student will be heading home on Monday (June 13). Her wounds have healed fully, and she now moves around in her new electric wheelchair, bought with donations from the Singapore Rotary e-Club.

Said STOMPer christopher of the compensation offered:

"It is greatly disappointing that SMRT offered such a low and absurb amount of $5k to the Thai teen.

"Surely, we can do better than that.

"The $5k cannot even cover basic costs.

"Please be more humane."

I can't see why she deserves a single cent in compensation. It's her own fault she fell on the tracks.

The family should consider themselves lucky SMRT isn't suing them for causing a massive disruption to the schedule.

Pls be more humane?

You have a better chance of convincing a lion not to eat a living animal for its next meal and to eat grass compared to getting more money from smrt.

Pls be more humane?

It's not about being humane. The issue is all about legal liability. Unless SMRT contributed to the cause of the accident, there is no reason why they should pay any form of compensation.

If someone visited your home and fell off your balcony as a result of a "dizzy spell", how much money would you offer as compensation?

It's not about being humane. The issue is all about legal liability. Unless SMRT contributed to the cause of the accident, there is no reason why they should pay any form of compensation.

If someone visited your home and fell off your balcony as a result of a "dizzy spell", how much money would you offer as compensation?

Point noted but i guess from another perspective this is after all a poor thai girl that has lost both legs. She's severly disabled for life at such a young age.

Smrt being a coporation that is so rich could have been kinder to grant some form of compensation to her.

What you say makes sense but can you imagine the anger it would generate if smrt published what you wrote? If it occured in other countries like oz for eg heads might roll too.

I'm sure it would generate howls of protest but that's because the truth hurts and people aren't used to straight talk in this age of political correctness.

Newspapers in the West are full of crap about serial rapists and axe murderers actually being "good boys" who were lead astray because "society" treated them badly during their formative years.:rolleyes:

I can't see why she deserves a single cent in compensation. It's her own fault she fell on the tracks.

The family should consider themselves lucky SMRT isn't suing them for causing a massive disruption to the schedule.

I actually agree with you. SMRT is not obliged to pay unless is their fault. So far, there is no proof that SMRT is at fault. Let the court decide.

However, since SMRT chose to compensate, they indirectly admitted that it is their fault. So, $5000 is too little as compensation!

:(

No matter the reason smrt is a big bully that sucks out the life blood of sinkies. Seeing a higher amount of compensation from smrt is a good thing.

Blk800

Why must pay more? Not Singaporean some more. If our Singaporeans got accident in Thailand can get any claims? They will say fly kite to us!:mad:

Cruxx

Point noted but i guess from another perspective this is after all a poor thai girl that has lost both legs. She's severly disabled for life at such a young age.

Smrt being a coporation that is so rich could have been kinder to grant some form of compensation to her.

This is the poverty of socialism.

KNNBPCB...fucking malaysian CEO saw ph.... company make hundreds of millions dollar profit every quarter...but yet only pay $5000 to the Thai girl who lost both leg in the mrt station accident...KNNBPCB...wat a fucking insult to Singapore...fucking inhumane malaysian CEO Saw PH should be sacked immediately ... :mad::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Thai teen who lost legs: Why SMRT offered compensation of only $5,000?

thai_teen_who_lost_legs_smrt_offered_compensation_of_only_5000-thumbnail.jpg

SMRT has offered the Thai teen who lost both her legs in an MRT accident here a compensation of $5,000. However, 14-year-old's father has rejected the amount as it is 'unacceptable'.

On April 3, Peneakchanasak Nitcharee pitched forward onto the MRT tracks at Ang Mo Kio station. Since then, she has recovered well in Tan Tock Seng Hospital and has been undergoing physiotherapy.

According to a report in The Straits Times today (June 12), Mr Peneakchanasak engaged a lawyer last week to look into getting higher compensation from SMRT. It had offered $5,000, which he has rejected.

"The $5k cannot even cover basic costs.

"Please be more humane."

The Thai has integrity. If it is a low life sinkie, he will take the $5000 and claimed that it is not enough. and then cry father and cry mother and start to roll around to claim it is unfair.

<iframe width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/xbVw7entkxg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The Thai has integrity. If it is a low life sinkie, he will take the $5000 and claimed that it is not enough. and then cry father and cry mother and start to roll around to claim it is unfair.

Well said about yourself crying father and mother!

best post of the year ...congrats :wink:

It is the SMRT's responsibility to ensure passenger safety. Falling on to the tracks because losing balance, being knocked over or a dizzy spell can happen to anyone. Where are the safety barricades?

In a first world country, the girl can sue for a million.

Sporeans would have gotten nothing and perhaps even kena sued by them for disrupting their transport business?

<TABLE class=Cnvrsn cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=300 border=0 done2="61"><TBODY done2="61"><TR><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR class=CnvrsnTxt><TD align=right width="46%">5,000.00 SGD<!-- WARNING: Automated extraction of rates is prohibited under the Terms of Use. --> </TD><TD class=CnvrsnEq align=middle width="8%">=</TD><TD align=left width="46%">122,849.52 THB<!-- WARNING: Automated extraction of rates is prohibited under the Terms of Use. --> </TD></TR><TR done2="62"><TD align=right done2="62">Singapore Dollar</TD><TD> </TD><TD align=left done2="63">Thai Baht</TD></TR><TR><TD align=right>1 SGD = 24.5699 THB</TD><TD> </TD><TD align=left>1 THB = 0.0407002 SGD</TD></TR><TR done2="64"><TD colSpan=3 done2="64">New Conversion
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>