• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WTF has this country turn into?

Those suffering from Parkinsonism can contact the following for assistance. There is no need to go to anywhere else. Singapore's welfare services are there for all of us who need them....

Good info.

But how much? Because I know nothing is free on this rock.

theblackhole

Good info.

But how much? Because I know nothing is free on this rock.

If you are in any form of financial problems, you can always talk to the social worker. If you qualify for FREE or Subsidised treatment and care, you will be given. There is no need to go anywhere . We have a great network of welfare services to cater to our own sick and poor. Singapore is not that bad lah. If you got the means, you have to pay. If you are poor and cannot afford, you are not denied the necessary care and management. We are a very compassionate society.

Unrepented

You mean he call the number and all issues resolved, and he don't have to stay in JB leow izit:confused:

Those suffering from Parkinsonism can contact the following for assistance. There is no need to go to anywhere else. Singapore's welfare services are there for all of us who need them....

Community Care Partners Programme (CCPP)

In October 2007, the PDMDC NNI initiated Singapore’s first-ever organised outreach programme for the Parkinson community. The Community Care Partners Programme (CCPP) for Parkinson’s disease is a partnership programme with community care facilities that have a core team of healthcare professionals who have completed our training workshops. The primary aim of the CCPP is to enhance the delivery of community care and support to the Parkinson community by tapping on the well-integrated network of community healthcare facilities in Singapore.

Following the launch on 20 October 2007, we welcomed on the board our current Community Care Partners :

1. Ang Mo Kio-Thye Hua Kwan Hospital
2. B Well Ltd (formerly known as Geylang Senior Citizens’ Health Care Centre Ltd)
3. Henderson Senior Citizens’ Home
4. Moral Therapy Hub
5. Society For The Physically Disabled
6. St Luke’s Hospital
7. Tsao Foundation
8. AWWA Elderly Services
9. Ren Ci Hospital & Medicare Centre
10. St. Andrew's Community Hospital
11. Sunshine Welfare Action Mission (SWAMI)
12. Touch Home Care

With our network of community care partners, PD patients and their families will have access to the best possible PD care in the community. Please approach your doctor or PD nurse clinician for more information on how you may be referred to our community care partners for the different types of services provided.

For more information on the CCPP, please click to download brochure.
Parkinson's Disease Support Group

We have a support group specially organised to provide educational and emotional support for Parkinson's disease patients and their caregivers. The support group is managed by the Parkinson's Disease Nurse Clinician, medical social workers and other paramedical staff. Support groups help to raise awareness about the challenges of living with Parkinson's disease and help patients replace negative attitudes with a more realistic understanding of the disease. It provides a caring environment for patients and their caregivers to ask questions about Parkinson's disease as well as to share experiences with one another. The details of the support group meeting are as follows:

Contact

NNI @ Tan Tock Seng Hospital
Venue: Neuroscience Clinic (Level 1), Tan Tock Seng Hospital
Time: 3:00pm - 4.30pm, second Thursday of every month
English and Chinese groups meet on alternate months
Telephone: (65) 6357-7605

NNI @ Singapore General Hospital
Venue: Education Resource Centre,
Rehabilitation Centre, Block 1 Level 1 (opposite specialist outpatient clinics)
Singapore General Hospital
Time: 11:00am to 1:00pm, first Monday of the month
Telephone: (65) 8125-3543

If you are in any form of financial problems, you can always talk to the social worker. If you qualify for FREE or Subsidised treatment and care, you will be given. There is no need to go anywhere . We have a great network of welfare services to cater to our own sick and poor. Singapore is not that bad lah. If you got the means, you have to pay. If you are poor and cannot afford, you are not denied the necessary care and management. We are a very compassionate society.

Sounds good. HT

theblackhole

You mean he call the number and all issues resolved, and he don't have to stay in JB leow izit:confused:

Calling the number is the first step. The social worker will have to do a study of the case and whatever problems and issues can then be settled. There is no need to stay in JB if he qualifies for the Free or Subsidised care. There are many people suffering from Parkinsonism in Singapore and many live a very fruitful and active life.There is a host of services to cater to this group of people. Why go to JB ?

theblackhole

Yes, in Singapore , nothing is free. But if you are poor and you cannot afford the medical and healthcare services, you can apply to get Free or Subsidised treatment. No Singaporean will be denied any form of medical treatment if he needs it. There are so many agencies to turn to for help. Just talk to the social worker.

Logisex

That centre is under MCYS so I'm sure the social worker would have known all the options.

The usual complain from the people about all these subsidies is that the process is tedious and its not easy to qualify. Garment will make it very easy to take money from you but if you ask money from them..........The mentality of the garment is such that they will always think the people will try to take advantage of the system or loopholes.

Why go JB? Mr Khaw had 'suggested' that we can go JB to look for cheaper options so you should ask him that question.

theblackhole

I know of many poor people who are given financial assistance with no strings attached and they accept the assistance with deep gratitude.

Ask for help if you need any. Help will be given. We are not a welfare state, but we have the welfare services to cater to our sick , our poor and our elderly.

Singapore is not a blackhole of money suckers. We are a white hole filled with love, compassion and charity. $6.5 millions and more were raised for the President's Challenge and this amount will go to enhance our social and welfare services.

If you need help, just go and ask. You will be given just like LTB and FISH who are generously helping the poor and the needy to protect themselves in the coming winter.

Logisex

Btw Mr Blackhole, are there any thing done to help those tissue paper sellers on the street?

I see so many of them nowadays and some are blind or serious handicap cases. I feel disgusted at the sight as I think its really degrading for them. They are already suffering physically and should not be humiliated in this way. Can't we find anything for them to do or at least support them so that they don't have to do that. It also does not reflect well on the country when foreigners see them. You only see such things in third world country. I donate to charity every month but I don't give to these tissue paper sellers as it will only encourage more people to do that if we donate to them.

How many such handicap people are there in Singapore? With so many charities, donations and subsidies from garment, you mean its still not enough to even support this small pool of people?

Unrepented

I don't want sound like a skeptic, but let's ask ourselves;

If these programs are really effective in reaching their given ends, would the guy ended up in JB? It is not an easy decision to relocate physically but he moved.

Also, programs can sound good on paper, sometimes even surfice to say that these programs were drawn up with good intent, but the execution is left wanting.

Imo, there is no point in the Public Relations programe to start dishing out, and say we have this and that programs. Let the evidence out in the streets speak for themselves.

Sometimes, I see these PR strategies as "cover my ass" plan.

No offense intend, but food for thought.:o

Calling the number is the first step. The social worker will have to do a study of the case and whatever problems and issues can then be settled. There is no need to stay in JB if he qualifies for the Free or Subsidised care. There are many people suffering from Parkinsonism in Singapore and many live a very fruitful and active life.There is a host of services to cater to this group of people. Why go to JB ?

theblackhole

Hi LogiSex,

I share your concern and I share your sentiments. Yes, some of these people may not want to seek any form of financial assistance at all, for whatever reasons. Maybe they want to be active and do something for themselves. I have seen wheel chair bound Singaporeans going around selling tissue papers and I also find them at the Singapore Pools. They are not sick. They are very mobile, very active and very independent. They may not like the idea of staying in a home or a sheltered place. They have a choice and I think it's good if they want to be active and independent.

I have seen tissue sellers who curse you if you don't buy. Of course I also see visually handicapped people going round selling tissue papers. There are avenues for such people to seek help. Some simply don't want to or perhaps some are not qualified for free or subsidised care. We see all sorts of people at the hawker centre.

Of course we feel sorry for them and sometimes, we just buy a few packets of the tissue paper to make them happy. Making themselves active and being independent is also therapeutic. The same thing applies to the scavengers. I know one woman scavenger who repeatedly searches the bins and her family is reasonably well off. I asked him why his mother is doing this? He told me in no uncertain terms, she will rot at home doing nothing! So we have to look at the big picture and we should not draw conclusions from what we see. Our perceptions will be clouded and we will draw the wrong conclusions.

Of course there are genuinely poor and impoverished Singaporeans and they will be given assistance.

The problem is very wide and I think the best person to answer your question should be the relevant Ministry. You can email them or even call them for an interview.

theblackhole

Hi LogiSex, I think if the Parkinsonism patient requires help and assistance, he and his care-givers can always seek help from the social worker.

Welfare is a tough job.There are criteria for the recipients. I think each case should be studied carefully before we make a general statement about the state of welfare in Singapore. There are many poor and elderly people housed in comfortable homes and they are taken good care of by the healthcare team. I have gone to these homes and do some charitable work and I can say many of these people are quite happy. Many of them have no families and no loved ones.All they need is some company and someone to hold their hands and talk to them. It is very touching indeed...

toolanliao

WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We have a fellow Singaporean with a terminal disease and a family to support and this is all we can do for him?

What the fark does he need to live in JB?
Why are we selling flats to PRs but need a social worker to fight for one for this poor Singaporean?
Why can't we put him in a home or hospital (even if its only temporary0 while we try to get a flat for him?
Why are we giving scholarships to foreigners while these kids have to study in JB because "its too expensive here"?
Don't we always pride ourselves as one of the richest country in the world? So why can't we afford to help this small pool of fellow Singaporeans?

you're a kind man. wish there are more singaporean like you. people here are getting really cold-hearted and ruthless.

what's wrong with living in jb? the benefits for sinkies may outweigh their arses getting reamed on a daily basis. :rolleyes:

monkey101

RGdin.jpg

is he building a nuclear plant soon?

It is a short term solution living in JB. If one is planning to migrate to OZ or canana, I would suggest to move to JB in order to save abit and slowly get use to living in a foreign soil. Most of my chinky friends are doing this while waiting for their PR in western cuntries. .....

I am getting sick & tired of the PAP & the 60%.

Even though I can afford a modest lifestyle in Spore, I will be looking for a better place to spend my time. :rolleyes: