• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Workers "PARTY GIRL" - the reason why Lim Sia Suay, Raymond Lim win East Coast 2016

Re: Workers "PARTY GIRL" - the reason why Lim Sia Suay, Raymond Lim win East Coast 20

I have been following some of the threads on this forum for some time now. While I have never seen the need to post here, I felt compelled to do so because of how dubious the original poster's argument is.

As public figures, politicians are naturally subject to an intense amount of scrutiny. But while it is perfectly fair to judge a politician by the quality of his/her political views, maturity, and understanding of social issues - all of which contribute to whether the person in question will be fit for public office - it is something else to bring his or her private life into the picture.

This recalls to mind the great Tin Pei Ling debate, during which everybody was crying foul over photos of her carrying a Kate Spade bag and those with her alleged ex-boyfriend. I am not about to defend Tin here, but surely, you can attack her for a great variety of reasons - including her poor awareness of public policy and social issues, not to mention the seemingly dubious way she was selected to stand for public office - without having to drag her entire personal life through the m&d. The same goes for Glenda, and any other politician in question. So what if she appears at a bar, and so what even if it's Hari Raya? She's a professional working woman, not a nun, and most certainly not a Muslim. Unless and until she shows up inebriated at a Meet-the-People's Session, or takes a swig at a Muslim event, she is perfectly entitled to visit a drinking hole.

Also, to term somebody a "JC slut" - in fact, to use the term "slut" at all - is incredibly offensive, not to mention downright sexist. Would a male candidate visiting a pub draw similar ire for his supposed moral transgressions? Or, are you singling Glenda out for criticism because she happens to be a woman? Further, I understand that Glenda was in Hong Kong the last couple of years due to an overseas job posting. To simplify it as "partying" for the last four years is a gratuitous ad hominem attack.

I, too, like politicians to be accountable to the public, but asking them to account for their personal habits - which have nothing to do with their work and is, frankly, none of anybody else's business - is hardly cutting it.

she let her hair down too often and in full view of the public eyes....!!!

on hari raya, she went to celebrate Quaich Bar 4th Anniversary instead of doin outreach ....

she is already 1 of the one of the public face of WP and still behaving like a JC slut !!!!

between 2007 and 2011, where is this party girl ??? partying in HK

ebery1 in WOP is threading very carefully and watching what they say and this party gal wan to show the world how much whiskey she can drink !

Re: Workers "PARTY GIRL" - the reason why Lim Sia Suay, Raymond Lim win East Coast 20

1. aiyoh!
2. why do sheep usually sterotype "partying" to something obscene or bad?
3. it is just like letting your hair down.
4. come on! wake up and smell the coffee, man!
5. i don't mind glena to be my immediate neighbour.

It's just a paradigm that young single lookers-nubiles in parties after partying will bed. As you know, in such events the girl gets the bad repute, the guy gets the macho nod. In a sense, the above is right about a stereotype.

If there's a 3-corner between Glenda Han, Nicole Seah and Tin Pei Ling for me, it's no contest that I'll surely vote for Han. It's not about looks or lifestyles. Han sounded quite childish in AMK 2006 but in EC 2011, she sounded a lot more matured politically. Seah is just a hollow doll with battery operated voice over with whatever rhetorics pre-recorded in her cassette compartment. Tin is totally clueless and I'm very worried how come PAP can field her.

Please, TPL is more a socialite than this lady

to pap dogs, woman politicians must look like fatimah lateef, penny low, denise phua these types then considered acceptable. too chio cannot.

Hey, how can u miss out on classical PAP beauties like Cynthia Phua (CB), ER (jamban)Lee Bee Wah, Thick-lipped Lim Hwee Hua.:D:D

Hey! Don't forget Fatimah! :o

This is the second time I'm reminding u. :D

The best PAP woman MP I think is Yu-Foo Yee Shoon. Humbly and kindly doing a proper job for decades. Then, Lily Neo was best in parliamentary debates. Penny Low and Tin Pei Ling, I don't know what to say.

I have been following some of the threads on this forum for some time now. While I have never seen the need to post here, I felt compelled to do so because of how dubious the original poster's argument is.

As public figures, politicians are naturally subject to an intense amount of scrutiny. But while it is perfectly fair to judge a politician by the quality of his/her political views, maturity, and understanding of social issues - all of which contribute to whether the person in question will be fit for public office - it is something else to bring his or her private life into the picture.

This recalls to mind the great Tin Pei Ling debate, during which everybody was crying foul over photos of her carrying a Kate Spade bag and those with her alleged ex-boyfriend. I am not about to defend Tin here, but surely, you can attack her for a great variety of reasons - including her poor awareness of public policy and social issues, not to mention the seemingly dubious way she was selected to stand for public office - without having to drag her entire personal life through the m&d. The same goes for Glenda, and any other politician in question. So what if she appears at a bar, and so what even if it's Hari Raya? She's a professional working woman, not a nun, and most certainly not a Muslim. Unless and until she shows up inebriated at a Meet-the-People's Session, or takes a swig at a Muslim event, she is perfectly entitled to visit a drinking hole.

Also, to term somebody a "JC slut" - in fact, to use the term "slut" at all - is incredibly offensive, not to mention downright sexist. Would a male candidate visiting a pub draw similar ire for his supposed moral transgressions? Or, are you singling Glenda out for criticism because she happens to be a woman? Further, I understand that Glenda was in Hong Kong the last couple of years due to an overseas job posting. To simplify it as "partying" for the last four years is a gratuitous ad hominem attack.

I, too, like politicians to be accountable to the public, but asking them to account for their personal habits - which have nothing to do with their work and is, frankly, none of anybody else's business - is hardly cutting it.

HI GLenda, naise to see chiu in a sex forum....

I'm not Glenda, just a reader of the "Political Issues" section who wanted to say something about what I thought was an incredibly sexist argument. Of course, you are free to disbelieve me all you want, but the fact that you have chosen to reply in such a manner instead of taking my arguments head on reveals a lot. Have a nice day.

HI GLenda, naise to see chiu in a sex forum....

Absolutely nothing wrong at all. As others have said, it depends on the occation. And there's no indication that she was drunk and misbehaving. I know of a couple of MPs who were pub regulars in their younger days before they became MPs. (Nothing wrong in going to the pub even after becomng MPs)

By the way, didnt she own or run a pub before or during the 2006 GE?

u gotta be joking bro...yoohoo?!...
The best PAP woman MP I think is Yu-Foo Yee Shoon. Humbly and kindly doing a proper job for decades. Then, Lily Neo was best in parliamentary debates. Penny Low and Tin Pei Ling, I don't know what to say.

agree with what you said in your first post. i am amazed that this chap is all broken up over what is clearly a private matter.
I'm not Glenda, just a reader of the "Political Issues" section who wanted to say something about what I thought was an incredibly sexist argument. Of course, you are free to disbelieve me all you want, but the fact that you have chosen to reply in such a manner instead of taking my arguments head on reveals a lot. Have a nice day.

i am not goin to vote for her because she's "a professional working woman" she is running to be the leader of my community if she dun have the gravitas, at least have the decency to act decently... ...

I expected pple from a sex forum to support her of course... all the forums also think the Tan Jee Say can win the PE too...

she is simply not acceptable to the average daft sinkie ... she ish the weakest link in WP ... where was she during the past 4 year ... partying in HK... ?would she have come back to sinkiepoer if Aljunied did not fall...?

she ish quite an opportunuist

rightly or wrongly so.... female who like go chiong are percevied as party gal and easier to up, henc her widespread appeal in this sex forum........ I dun subscribe to this but I have uni frens who does... the average voters is not going to swallow this

You seemed extremely upset. Do you know her personally.

By the way bro, you must have kept to yourself all these years and lost touch with the world. Your expectation of politician is more closer to a celibate religious fanatic.

i am not goin to vote for her because she's "a professional working woman" she is running to be the leader of my community if she dun have the gravitas, at least have the decency to act decently... ...

I expected pple from a sex forum to support her of course... all the forums also think the Tan Jee Say can win the PE too...

she is simply not acceptable to the average daft sinkie ... she ish the weakest link in WP ... where was she during the past 4 year ... partying in HK... ?would she have come back to sinkiepoer if Aljunied did not fall...?

rightly or wrongly so.... female who like go chiong are percevied as party gal and easier to up, henc her widespread appeal in this sex forum........ I dun subscribe to this but I have uni frens who does... the average voters is not going to swallow this

You seemed extremely upset. Do you know her personally.

By the way bro, you must have kept to yourself all these years and lost touch with the world. Your expectation of politician is more closer to a celibate religious fanatic.

I dun have the misfortune to know her personally.... yesh I am extremely upset that all the aljunied grassroot volunteers are working extremely hard for 2016 while she is partying extremely hard and destroying WP electoral chances.....

From the responses on this thread thus far, most people would hardly call the act of visiting a bar "indecent". Of course, that's a matter of personal opinion, and you are certainly entitled to your thoughts.

I'm not going to speculate on the level of automatic support Glenda will get "because this is a sex forum". In fact, I think you might have discredited a lot of the people here without intending to do so. :D Having a soft spot for a certain candidate because she happens to be young/chio/"easy to up" (your words, not mine) doesn't necessarily translate into a vote. Conversely, a candidate who DOES draw votes isn't always a top-scorer in the looks department. Discounting the fact that beauty lies in the eye of the beer-holder, I think the outpouring of what appears to be genuine support for Denise Phua and Fatimah Lateef proves my point. :p [I am also not sure what Tan Jee Say has to do with the entire argument, but since you brought this up, lemme hazard a guess... you've got to be thinking with your other head to assume that Tan will win the PE? ;)]

As for the average daft Sinkie, I think there are quite a lot of "average" and "daft" people out there who will continue to vote lightning - assumming that this qualifies as "average" and "daft" in your book - but who won't necessarily condemn a potential office-holder for visiting a bar.

On Glenda being an opportunist, only time will tell. As and when a candidate is proven to be one, I like to think that he or she will be weeded out - either internally (from not being allowed to stand for elections on the party ticket, unless there really is such a shortage of candidates) or externally (from the electorate withholding their vote). If Glenda's heart is not in it, she'll drop out of the picture somehow. In the meantime, there is no need to judge her suitability for office based on a couple of facebook pictures. And that bit about her being in HK for the last couple of years - it is public knowledge that she was there on an overseas posting. Doesn't reflect very well on somebody who aspires to be an MP, for sure, but your continuous harping on her partying overseas for the last four years doesn't help your argument one bit.

Finally, and just so you know, I don't happen to find Glenda a particularly-strong candidate either - a conclusion I drew from having listened to her rally speeches and reading her Facebook postings. I can accept that not everyone is born an orator, but I happen to be a stickler for coherent written arguments - more so if you are a public figure, and have chosen to make your writings public. The ones coming from her, IMHO, didn't quite make the cut. That said, if I was an East Coast voter, I would probably pay more attention in the next few years to criteria like:

1) whether she is actively involved in the Aljunied-Hougang grassroot activities;
2) if she has anything intelligent to say in her personal writings, eg. on Facebook or blogs, especially on matters of public interest;
3) her responses to the press, if she ever has a chance to be interviewed.

Of course, the list above is by no means exhaustive or conclusive. But I think it will be a more objective measure of a person's "electability" than whether or not she frequents a pub on Ramadan.

If I may be allowed to add another criterion: 4) if she has been doing outreach work in East Coast.

And while we're at it, let me emphasize that the operative words are "in the next few years". It has to be a long-term and sustained effort. Which means that potential candidates are expected to keep working at it and voters have to base their observation over a certain time frame, rather than expect results immediately, like yesterday.

That said, if I was an East Coast voter, I would probably pay more attention in the next few years to criteria like:

1) whether she is actively involved in the Aljunied-Hougang grassroot activities;
2) if she has anything intelligent to say in her personal writings, eg. on Facebook or blogs, especially on matters of public interest;
3) her responses to the press, if she ever has a chance to be interviewed.

I am really quote mad still