• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Woodgrove Secondary outdo Kuo Chuan Presby Primary with $10 Penalty

SNAblog

Kuo Chuan Presby Pri threaten to confiscate the $5 deposit if student do not attend the YOG games. Woodgrove Sec School up the amount to $10. Seems like our schools are competing with one another on the penalty meted out for students who chose to stay away from the games and study for their exams instead.

http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2010/08/19/yog-more-tickets-made-available-at-competition-venues/

Exams to blame for many empty seats at YOG?

By Republic Polytechnic’s Michelle Weers

yog_spectatorsv2.jpg

Could school exams be the reason why so many seats at the Youth Olympic Games (YOG) competition venues remain empty?

If so, it begs the question, what should be the students’ priorities: supporting the Games by showing up, or doing well in their school examinations?

Earlier on Thursday, YOG organisers moved quickly to release previously “sold-out” tickets, making available a total of 320,000 tickets available across 26 sports.

The move comes after fans complained they were unable to purchase tickets at “sold out” events even though large swathes of seats at games venues remained vacant on the event day itself.

The Straits Times reports that the problem could be in large part due to the Ministry of Education’s bulk purchase of 80,000 free passes for students — many of whom either skip the Games totally or turn up to watch the action for only one or two hours before leaving.

But Victoria Junior College student Kelly Koh, 18, told Yahoo! Singapore that upcoming exams could be the reason behind the poor turnout.

“I think the bad turnout is probably due to it being near the upcoming examinations. N-Level preliminary exam is around this period and the A-Level prelims (from August 30 to September 29) are fast approaching,” she said.

CHIJ Toa Payoh student Jazreel Wong, 17 agreed. She said, “My school gave us tickets for the YOG competitions but I chose not to go because my O-Level prelim exam begins next week.”

Yahoo! Singapore learns that some schools have taken an even more forceful approach to ensure their students turn up for the Games by imposing S$10 fines for those who are absent.

“I was given tickets to a football match between Iran and Papua New Guinea. Out of 6,000 seats, only about a few hundred was filled,” said 17-year-old, Al-Zulkarnaen Bin Adam from Woodgrove Secondary School.

“I went to this match for free and if we do not turn up, we have to pay S$10,” he said.

For Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Primary, students have been asked to place a S$5 refundable deposit for games that fall on non-school days.

Its principal Clifford Chua told Today newspaper that this was to ensure that they learn the value of responsibility and not take this rare opportunity for granted, by wasting the ticket and depriving others of the chance.

But he was quick to add that despite the scheme, pupils who fail to turn up, even without a valid reason, will eventually get their deposits back.

Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports Dr Vivian Balakrishnan is keen to address the issue of empty seats at venues but recognised that it is a complex issue.

“What we realise is that although all the tickets are sold, some people come late or they leave early, ” he told The Straits Times.

The Minister has now vowed to make available more seats, even those that have been “booked” but are empty.

“More tickets would be released on the spot if there are empty seats at an event that was initially sold out. I want to ensure that every single seat is filled and that all our athletes get the support that they so richly deserve,” he said.

He admits there will be a possibility of two people vying for that one seat but gave his assurance that organisers will do their best to arrange seats for everyone, “even if it means kicking someone like myself or the officials out of the official seat.”

Whatever the case, the glaring empty seats do not make for good television.

Housewife Jamaiah Rawee, 47, who watches the games on TV at home, said, “I don’t feel like this is an Olympic Games because the turn-out is so small!”

"Minion for Community Development via Starving Old Peasants and Preying on Children, Youth, Half Breed Viv (where is Satan Ng) is keen to address the issue of empty seats (blame 7th Month lah) at venues but recognised that it is a complex issue because must act blur when lackeys gabra."

MOE act too smart for itself by purchasing tickets to keep up appearances and kena sabo big time when peasant children all 'bon tang' (cannot court martial them ok).

7th Month Effect will soon be blamed for the poor sales and empty seats.

Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports Dr Vivian Balakrishnan is keen to address the issue of empty seats at venues but recognised that it is a complex issue.

“What we realise is that although all the tickets are sold, some people come late or they leave early, ” he told The Straits Times.

The Minister has now vowed to make available more seats, even those that have been “booked” but are empty.

Vivian trying to hoodwink Singaporeans again! All the tickets sold out?! Each time he opens his mouth more shit comes out! ANd now he wants to make more seats available? How? Oh by double selling seats! What a devilish person he is. Our children should not have to look up to such an immoral person!

“More tickets would be released on the spot if there are empty seats at an event that was initially sold out. I want to ensure that every single seat is filled and that all our athletes get the support that they so richly deserve,” he said.

And now he wants to ensure that every seat is filled. Another empty talk even he knows is impossible to achieve. Vivian, you are super CMI! I'm enjoying myself watch the PAPies scramble for more air as they spew forth more dishonest talk.

actually, what they're doing is following a bit of communism style. they didnt seek consent or survey participation rate of the people/students involved. the MOE conveniently bulk order 80'000 tickets on their own free will (likely at the expense of tax payers $).

now that the events clash with exams, the schools penalize students for prioritizing academics over being a spectator at a propaganda event.

even if the students were keen to be spectators, surely they have the right to choose which sports they want to watch, or which athletes they wish to root for from the stands. it would be a complete waste of time for them to be present at a stadium cheering for nobody. especially, if there arent any singaporean athlete competing.

the ministries can't say that singaporeans r being cynical, they should ask themselves if they dealt with the matter with common sense at all?

But he was quick to add that despite the scheme, pupils who fail to turn up, even without a valid reason, will eventually get their deposits back.

So what is the purpose to collect the deposit, nothing better to do?

If MOE announce that no exam this year to support YOG. Surely, all student will support YOG.

Its principal Clifford Chua told Today newspaper that this was to ensure that they learn the value of responsibility and not take this rare opportunity for granted, by wasting the ticket and depriving others of the chance.

As a parent, I want to tell Clifford Chua and all his kind that they can keep the tickets for their own children.

It is a sad day that Kuo Chuan Presbyterian has you as its principal.

If you are so concerned about wastage, then you should ask for that number who wants to go and then ask MOE for the specific allotment. Why didn't you do that?!!!!!!

As a parent, I want to tell Clifford Chua and all his kind that they can keep the tickets for their own children.

It is a sad day that Kuo Chuan Presbyterian has you as its principal.

If you are so concerned about wastage, then you should ask for that number who wants to go and then ask MOE for the specific allotment. Why didn't you do that?!!!!!!

Why u so balless? U got balls, you go call him up and fuck him over the phone la. I did so yesterday liao!

Latest heard, Bendemeer Sec. Sch. (@ Whampoa) also imposed $10 deposit/fine for YOG non-attendance.

Leo

I think you overreacted.

A $5 or $10 refundable deposit is not a deterrent for people who wants their weekend leisure.

Don't like to go, then don't go. No need to tekan the school principal so hard.

:D
Why u so balless? U got balls, you go call him up and fuck him over the phone la. I did so yesterday liao!

Leo

I think you overreacted.

A $5 or $10 refundable deposit is not a deterrent for people who wants their weekend leisure.

Don't like to go, then don't go. No need to tekan the school principal so hard.

:D

Actually Cooleo not overreacting, he underreacted. If that happened to my relatives, I won't just call. I'll show up personally at the principal's office.

Clumsy as he is stupid. We expect better from those in position. A higher duty of care is owed.

Actually I expected more as he is the principal of a christian school.

Is this an MOE directive or is this the principal's idea?

Previously, the part about Nike/Addidas water bottles was clearly from MOE which issued a hasty 2 am directive to retract the directive.

If this does not from MOE, why isn't MOE issuing some kind of directive to say such "deposits" are not allowed?

By keeping quiet, MOE is indirectly supporting the principal in his actions.