• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will you give up SG citizenship for Taiwan citizenship ?

Khun Ying Pojaman

The problem with Taiwan is you are not permitted to own landed property if you are a Sg citizen. And outside Taipei the properties are relatively cheap though you must factor in the frequent earthquakes and typhoons.

Now if you're a Sinkie, and a very disgruntled Sinkie, would you consider giving up your Sg citizenship if ROC offers you citizenship ?

Why should one give up their citizenship because of the PAP. Unless you want to withdraw your CPF to migrate. There is no law prohibiting a Singaporean holding dual citizenship. Children of the elites hold other citizenship, passports etc.

The problem with Taiwan is you are not permitted to own landed property if you are a Sg citizen. And outside Taipei the properties are relatively cheap though you must factor in the frequent earthquakes and typhoons.

Now if you're a Sinkie, and a very disgruntled Sinkie, would you consider giving up your Sg citizenship if ROC offers you citizenship ?

There is no law at all. Never has been since we became independent. The govt does not encourage holding dual citizenship. The general world practice when holding multiple passports is to use that country's passport enter and exit for census and tax purposes.

There are Singaporeans who are holding more than one passport who have migrated, worked overseas etc. Those who left as migrants will give their citizenship to withdraw CPF. If not feel free to hold on to it.

I spent many years in SBF advising on this.

Huh ? Singaporeans are allowed to hold dual citizenship ?

If you tell immigration that you more than one as you come, they will tell you to use your singapore passport. Anyway they will know you are still a Singapoan as you have to declare your date of birth, country of birth and name in the entry card. How many Tan Ah Kows matching those details. Even if there are more than one, a bit of narrowing will get the picture.

There is still a minor law for you to produce your singapore to enter but they have long ignored it. The world has become global.

Australia interestingly had laws prohibiting dual citizenship but removed it circa 1990s.

Singapore requires all new citizens to renounce their previous citizenship to take up Singapore citizenship.

wah lao eh, just dun declare rite?

avoid acquiring citizenship from countries where china wants to do a hostile takeover.

The general world practice when holding multiple passports is to use that country's passport enter and exit for census and tax purposes.

I don't quite understand this statement. Should I use SG passport only to shuttle between SG and ROC if I hold both SG and ROC passports ?

There was a question raised in another thread.

When my SG passport is due for renewal, I will have to declare if I hold any other citizenship.

Well they can force you to return your HDB flat if you have dual citizen right?

On top of that, didn't they say that HDB flat owners cannot buy any property overseas. So unless you do not own HDB, you might kena zapped because you are holding Taiwanese passport and or have another property overseas. The latter is a pretty stupid rule in my opinion

Well they can force you to return your HDB flat if you have dual citizen right?

On top of that, didn't they say that HDB flat owners cannot buy any property overseas. So unless you do not own HDB, you might kena zapped because you are holding Taiwanese passport and or have another property overseas. The latter is a pretty stupid rule in my opinion

Yes, this is another issue I hope Scroobal can address.

Nobody and no country will want you if you do not have any economic or intellectual or technological advantage to the country that you wanna stay. All countries will grant you a PR or citizenship if you can provide such advantage. The easiest way to to get married a taiwan girl truly and in true faith and heart to enhance the population growth there.

No need to think so much one. It means you must be unsinkified enough to stay in another country legally.

ahh, i see so many ball-less and perverts sinkies here like myself :p:p:p

tonychat_1.jpg