• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will Lee Hsien Yang participate in the next General Elections?

Kopi0Kosong

Enjoy
Moschitta had been credited in The Guinness Book of World Records as the World's Fastest Talker, with the ability to articulate 586 words per minute. His record was broken in 1990 by Steve Woodmore who spoke 637 words per minute and then by Sean Shannon, who spoke 655 words per minute on August 30, 1995.

borom

At least he will not be sued and can speak freely about the deep seated and fundamental issues that is derailing our "social contract"(eg can withdraw ALL CPF at 55) ,locals first, accountability for failures (see all these people die due to hospital 's negligence ) ect2.
The old folks who support LKY may prefer the honourable son and those military/scholar types may see him as one of them.

garlic

What has LHY done or propose/object that make him a viable candidate for the next GE, other than being born as LKY's son?

KuanTi01

He got his millions from inheritance alone. What makes you think he want to malu and associate himself with loser oppies? :cool:

True but one never knows. He may have other aspirations and goals before his use-by date! Hope he takes up the civic challenge and run for GE.

I hope LHY will stand for elections, more for the entertainment than anything else. :biggrin:

LHY was not interested.but with LHL gunning for his family, LHY may decide to stand and fight against PAP oppression

pck1965

I get the feeling LHY will support the oppies from behind to ruffle his brother's feathers.

Whether he contests the elections is immaterial, to me at least.

So long as LHL is put in his place I'd be content.

Focus

If someone messes up your dad's grounds, will you fight back?
If someone chases your wife out of her workplace, will you fight back?
If someone sues your son, will you fight back?

Focus

Lee family feud rekindled in Singapore
http://www.atimes.com/article/lee-family-feud-rekindled-in-singapore

The prime minister’s relationship with his siblings, meanwhile, became a major focus of public attention in Singapore following a bitter public quarrel over the fate of their parents’ bungalow last year. The younger Lee and his sister, Lee Wei Ling, publicly accused their elder brother of abusing his power to preserve their family home against the willed desire of their father, Singapore’s founding prime minister Lee Kuan Yew, to demolish the residence.

The siblings posted a searing six-page statement to their Facebook accounts last June alleging their elder brother “misused his power as prime minister” and “hijacked the organs of state to pursue his personal goals.”

They also accused Lee of harboring political ambitions for his son, Li Hongyi, and seeking to preserve the house to boost his political standing.

Singapore-Lee-Hsien-Loong-Li-Hongyi-March-23-2015.jpg

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong with his son Li Hongyi. Photo: AFP Forum

Lee strongly denied the allegations made against him during a parliamentary debate last July, where he provided an account of events that led up to the dispute erupting into public view and expressed regret that the incident “affected Singapore’s reputation and Singaporeans’ confidence in the government.”

The premier said he did not intend to sue his siblings over the matter because doing so would “further besmirch” their parents’ names and create “distraction and distress,” adding that he would certainly sue for defamation in “any other imaginable circumstance.”

Public quarreling between the Lee family over the still-unresolved matter had since ceased. It is, however, common for Singapore’s leaders to file crippling legal actions they almost always win for alleged defamation.

Litigation against opposition politicians has forced prominent figures into bankruptcy and disqualified them from political candidacy. Defamation suits have also been filed against foreign media outlets and more recently been lodged against the editors of local online news platforms and independent bloggers.

The article now in legal question, originally published on November 5, alleged that Lee was a target of Malaysia’s criminal investigation into graft at the 1Malaysia Development Berhad (1MDB) state fund over alleged “secret deals” with then premier Najib Razak to launder pilfered funds through Singapore’s banking system.

“The predominant purpose of the claim is the use of the legal process to chill freedom of expression in Singapore generally and in particular to restrict reporting on any role the government may have had in the 1MDB scandal” said Leong’s lawyer, Lim Tean, an opposition politician and leader of the newly registered People’s Voice party.

Singapore-Li-Shengwu-Lee-Kuan-Yew-Eulogy-March-29-2015-copy.jpg

Li Shengwu delivers a eulogy to his late grandfather Lee Kuan Yew on March 29, 2015 in Singapore in a screen grab photo from a Prime Minister’s Office video.

Leong isn’t the only person facing legal action over social media postings. Contempt of court proceedings against Lee Hsien Yang’s son, Li Shengwu, were brought by the Attorney General’s Chambers last August over a Facebook post where he accused Singapore’s government of being “very litigious” and having a “pliant court system.”

Li, a 33-year-old assistant professor at Harvard University, claimed in a Facebook post that he was “ambushed” with “court papers in public” while delivering a lecture in the United States last year and is expected to appeal a court order that permitted the serving of papers on grounds of challenging its jurisdiction to do so outside of Singapore.

While it remains to be seen whether the family feud that captivated many and distressed some Singaporeans will again break into the open, Lee Hsien Yang’s support for Leong’s legal fund amidst ongoing legal troubles faced by his son is indicative of the still-fraught relationship between the Lee siblings.

Focus

If someone messes up your dad's grounds, will you fight back?
If someone chases your wife out of her workplace, will you fight back?
If someone sues your son, will you fight back?

Singapore's Lee Family Feud Re-Emerges With Latest Facebook Post
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...ily-feud-re-emerges-with-latest-facebook-post

The Attorney-General’s Chambers has referred a case of possible professional misconduct involving Lee Suet Fern of Morgan Lewis Stamford LLC to the Law Society, it said in a statement Monday. Hours before the AGC’s statement, its actions had been publicized by Lee Wei Ling, the current prime minister’s estranged sister, in a Facebook post on Sunday night.

3_M

Voters generally do not decide their vote just on single issue. If lhy is contesting based heavily on oxley gate and zero ground engagement,he will not win regardless.

Having said this, LHY still can still inflict some damages on PAP by hijacking the GE agenda be it whether he contests or not. It will help to influence those swing voters on the fringe to vote against pap.

2 bloc of voters he should target.
-swing voters who are disappointed with LHL
-lky fans who are unhappy with the Status quo.

Insider Player

A Lee who is anti Lee Hsien Loong is a good Lee. I am ok with a Lee who is anti LHL

Yes the only omes who can fuck with LHL now is LHY and LWL.
Even if for whatever selfish reasons they choose to stand for elections is good for a chance to topple LHL

LSY should counter-sue the Pinky couple whose "conflict of interest" has caused our tax payers billions of lost investments thru Temasick.