• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will Bukit Batok Sinkie ever learn? After being screwed by PAP!

dr.wailing

I'm very happy that Sinkies loved to be fcuk by PAP. It proves that I'm right in emigrating to the USA.

PAP tactic:

If recession
Blame sinkies for the recession and vote PAP to help sinkies out of the recession.

If no recession

Credit PAP for the economy effort and vote PAP to sustain the economy.

Blame Sinkies + Credit PAP = Fucked up Singapore.

This tactic may have worked in the past but when you are under employed or jobless for years & years, Sporeans will get desperate especially with the current high cost in Spore.

I would say that things might get very ugly in Spore due to the confluence of trouble: global recession, companies leaving Spore, local businesses going bankrupt, essential services breaking down, potential health problems from haze/sars, .. LHL also wants to increase the population to 10+million

The PAP might try to shift the blame but with so many things going wrong even the clueless masses will start to have doubts.

In the past Sporeans were able to emigrate for greener pastures but that is less likely with the current economic realities.

Maybe if LKY was still around people could be convinced that there is some hope but with someone like LHL I doubt it.

This tactic may have worked in the past but when you are under employed or jobless for years & years, Sporeans will get desperate especially with the current high cost in Spore.

the real situation on the ground is different. just saw 6 sinkie wannabe cyclists at local kopitiam with multi-thousand-dollar bikes and thousand-dollar attires plus cleats showing off to other sinkies, pinoy maids and angmo's on mother's day. even angmo's are humble with their cheap utility bicycles carrying groceries in baskets and kids in tow. these sinkies talked loudly like they just completed the tour de france. most likely same bunch of tpx on sbf. :biggrin:

congo9

Each time sinkees forgo the opportunity to rid a PAP politician, they deserve to suffer more. There is karma.

You said it. Singkie deserved it. Every time they rejects a saviour, they bleed Badly on their own.

You can try to bring the children of Israel out,

shittypore

I saw a bunch of Sinkies beggars at Ang Moh Kio asking for $ to buy their dinner last nite, the Pinoy and the Ah Nehs were most Generous to em.

the real situation on the ground is different. just saw 6 sinkie wannabe bikers at local kopitiam with multi-thousand-dollar bikes and thousand-dollar attires plus cleats showing off to other sinkies, pinoy maids and angmo's on mother's day. even angmo's are humble with their cheap utility bikes carrying groceries in baskets and kids in tow. these sinkies talked loudly like they just completed the tour de france. most likely same bunch of tpx on sbf. :biggrin:

Surprising that they went to the local kopitiam and not the shopping mall aircon kopiroti outlet. :wink:

yahoo55

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/i-was-running-against-the-media-and-state-182601517.html

I was running against the media and state machinery: Chee

8 May 2016

Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) chief Chee Soon Juan said the Bukit Batok by-election campaign was an uphill battle, given that he was up against the combined might of “the media” and “the state machinery” in an “undemocratic society”.

Chee said his fellow party members could hold their heads high as they had run a clean campaign, unlike the PAP which had campaigned on “false headlines”.

He added that he was “very encouraged” by the vote swing towards the SDP and also pledged to continue to be active in Bukit Batok, in order to garner more support for the party.

The political veteran won 38.8 per cent of the vote in the Single-Member Constituency, losing out to the People’s Action Party (PAP) candidate Murali Pillai’s 61.2 per cent of the 23,570 valid votes cast.

This was a significant improvement on the results from the 2015 General Election, when SDP candidate Sadasivam Veriyah garnered just over 26 per cent of the vote.

After the results came in on Saturday (7 May) night, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong wrote on Facebook: “This is not just a win for Bukit Batok, but shows all Singaporeans, and others too, that the government and people are united in a building a better nation together.”

Speaking to reporters at a doorstop, Chee responded to Lee’s comments: “If you wanted to say this and you campaigned on this, and you won on this, it’s a very different story. But when you campaign on false headlines, what else can you say? When Wanbao does things like that and people start all these kinds of smear (efforts)… and then you say you want to appeal to a better nation?”

The SDP chief was alluding to a Lianhe Wanbao article that had said Chee was proud of his “crazy past”. The headline was later amended when Chee denied uttering that phrase.

He added in Mandarin: “I cannot understand it, how the journalist and editor managed to print a headline based on something I did not say. If we had a professional media with high standards, this would be a sackable offence.”

Dr Chee Soon Juan's concession speech

Dr Chee comments on SDP's campaign

borom

The 70% will thank the residents of BB for having more of the following in future-

MORE Pinoys, PRC's and Indian immigrants to take their jobs and housing ,more places/scholarships for foreigners in our educational institutions esp universities, more train breakdowns, more waiting time at hospitals/polyclinics , more deaths from dengue, more taxes,ect2.

Welcome to paradise-for foreigners.

"running against the media and state machinery?" how naive and clueless can he be? he is actually running against soixante-neuf, mutual licking of genitalia by sinkies. if he were to fully understand the phenomenon of soixante-neuf, he would be more enlightened about politics in sg and stop wasting everybody's time.

yahoo55

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/bukit-batok-by-election/2765496.html

12 PER CENT IMPROVEMENT FOR SDP

Dr Chee's result this by-election was an improvement in performance for the Opposition party: At the General Election last year, the SDP's V Sadasivam took home 26.38 per cent of the vote in a three-way fight, compared to the PAP's David Ong, who won 73.02 per cent of the vote. Independent candidate Samir Salim Neji, who did not contest in the by-election, got 0.6 per cent of the vote in the General Election.

Dr Chee said that the party was "very encouraged" by the improvement, which was a close to 12 per cent vote swing.

"We're very encouraged by that," said Dr Chee. "It's the trajectory we're always very concerned about, and we want to continue this momentum."

"I suppose every time you don't meet the 50 per cent threshold you are very disappointed, but you see from where we've come, I always believe it's not where we are at any one point, it's always where we've come from and where we're headed to," he added.

"And in this regard i think this is something to look forward to, and something we can be proud of."

This is also Dr Chee's best showing in an election. In 1997, Dr Chee got 34.86 per cent of the vote for MacPherson SMC, his previous best showing. In 1992 he got 24.5 per cent in Marine Parade GRC; in 2001, 20.25 per cent in Jurong GRC; and in 2015, 33.4 per cent in Holland-Bukit Timah GRC; all as part of a team of candidates.

However, the SDP chief refused to confirm if he would run in Bukit Batok again for the next election, saying that the questioned had to be posed to the PAP as "they keep changing the electoral boundaries".

- CNA/av

The 70% will thank the residents of BB for having more of the following in future-

MORE Pinoys, PRC's and Indian immigrants to take their jobs and housing ,more places/scholarships for foreigners in universities, more train breakdowns, more waiting time at hospitals/polyclinics , more deaths from dengue, more taxes,ect2.

Welcome to paradise-for foreigners.

The 70% SG will thank the 60% BB. :wink:

yahoo55

Interesting analysis of the results ....

http://www.straitstimes.com/politics/singapolitics/after-halo-effect-of-sg50-a-return-to-the-norm

Second thing to note: How much might voters "punish" the incumbent PAP for having an adulterous MP? In the 2013 Punggol East by-election sparked by incumbent PAP MP Michael Palmer's resignation over an extramarital affair, the vote swing against the PAP was 10.8 percentage points.

This time, Bukit Batok voters deserted the PAP with a swing of 11.8 percentage points, just eight months after the PAP's Mr David Ong got 73 per cent of the vote last September. He quit in March over an extramarital affair.

If one can parse such things, one is tempted to say PAP voters hand out a 10 percentage point penalty for such misconduct.

This is in contrast to Workers' Party (WP) voters. In Hougang, WP's Mr Yaw Shin Leong got 64.8 per cent in the 2011 General Election. Then, he was sacked over an extramarital affair. WP's Mr Png Eng Huat defended the party's stronghold in the 2012 by-election, getting 62.1 per cent. The drop: 2.7 percentage points.

Third, this by-election's result is consistent with the belief that voters respond better to candidates with grassroots appeal.

Again, a comparison with Punggol East is apt. There, WP candidate Lee Li Lian garnered 41 per cent of the vote in GE2011. In the 2013 by-election, she won the seat with 54.5 per cent against PAP candidate Koh Poh Koon, a surgeon who the PAP said was of ministerial calibre. But he was new to the area and lost to Ms Lee, a by-then familiar face to residents.

In Bukit Batok this time, the PAP chose Mr Murali, with 16 years of grassroots experience in the estate. Both candidates campaigned on municipal issues, coming up with social and community plans. The result suggests the grassroots strategy works.

The fourth issue was what the result says about voters' acceptance of the controversial Dr Chee, who has fought not only with the PAP but also his former mentor, but who has worked hard to build up the SDP and change his image in recent years.

His reception by Bukit Batok voters suggests Dr Chee is making inroads into the hearts and minds of heartland voters. The 38.8 per cent he managed is his personal best, nearly double the 20 per cent his team got in Jurong GRC in 2001. No wonder he said, minutes after the official count was released : "This doesn't feel like a defeat."

His vote share is 5.4 percentage points higher than the 33.4 per cent his team got in GE2015 in Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, where about 45 per cent of residents live in private housing. That Dr Chee, standing alone in a seat with 95.7 per cent who live in public housing, can better his GRC team's result, flies in the face of conventional belief that he appeals more to the middle class. Perhaps that Hokkien music video Dr Chee starred in had some marginal impact. A 5.4 percentage point increase is hardly the huge swing Dr Chee would have needed for a win. Still, the result will embolden Dr Chee and trouble some in the PAP, which considers Dr Chee the kind of opposition politician Singapore does not need.

The fifth issue: This by-election shows that yes, the opposition is capable of unity. Leaders from the other major parties did not enter the fray, to allow this straight fight between the PAP and SDP.

One final point about that 11.8 percentage point swing against the PAP. That might be due in part to the "adultery penalty" theory alluded to earlier. But I think a large part is due to the loss of the halo effect from SG50 and the Lee Kuan Yew factor, that had buoyed the PAP to its 69.9 per cent win in GE2015.

Stripped of those factors, the vote share this time is probably a better gauge of heartlanders' sentiments towards the PAP on the ground.

Assured of a PAP government in power (this is just a by-election after all), and freed from a sense of showing loyalty to Singapore's founding Prime Minister and his party, voter sentiment seems to have reverted back to past norms.

In other words, 70 per cent in 2015 was likely a blip. The PAP will have to contend with the vote share dipping back to the low to mid-60s - and work very hard to keep it up.

the real situation on the ground is different. just saw 6 sinkie wannabe cyclists at local kopitiam with multi-thousand-dollar bikes and thousand-dollar attires plus cleats showing off to other sinkies, pinoy maids and angmo's on mother's day. even angmo's are humble with their cheap utility bicycles carrying groceries in baskets and kids in tow. these sinkies talked loudly like they just completed the tour de france. most likely same bunch of tpx on sbf. :biggrin:

The bicycle gear thing I really do not understand....really!...I have observe parents buying young kids bicycle & then teaching them how to ride the thing....helmet, elbows pads, shoulder pads, knees pads, training wheels... all BRANDED...just to learn how to ride a bicycle?!!....in my days, we learnt how to ride a bicycle on a RALEIGH bicycle.....no training wheels....you fall left, you fall right, you hit stones, fall forward, you fall into drains, down slopes, encounter brake failures.....& thereafter, one become an expert in riding the bicycle in any condition, come rain or shine.

When you look at all these people with their expensive gears....you cant help feeling " hao lian"....:rolleyes:

The bicycle gear thing I really do not understand....really!...I have observe parents buying young kids bicycle & then teaching them how to ride the thing....helmet, elbows pads, shoulder pads, knees pads, training wheels... all BRANDED...just to learn how to ride a bicycle?!!....in my days, we learnt how to ride a bicycle on a RALEIGH bicycle.....no training wheels....you fall left, you fall right, you hit stones, fall forward, you fall into drains, down slopes, encounter brake failures.....& thereafter, one become an expert in riding the bicycle in any condition, come rain or shine.

When you look at all these people with their expensive gears....you cant help feeling " hao lian"....:rolleyes:

that was just my 2nd kopi session of the weekend at the corner coffee shop, and a full display of flamboyance and extravagance was there on the curbside for all to see. they could have sneaked to a less visible spot at attas starfucks away from view right behind the ah pek kopitiam for their high class coffee but instead picked a dirty table next to longkang where everyone from road to pedestrian crossing to gas station can see. and they blocked the pedestrian walkway with their flashy cycles hoping folks would stop dead in their tracks and drool over them. it was definitely a peacock party. this only proves that sinkies are well off and happy to flaunt their wealth anywhere anytime they want. no problem with that. it confirms that the pap is doing an excellent job to allow sinkies to reach this level of crass. :wink:

yahoo55

Interesting analysis of the results ....

http://www.straitstimes.com/politics/singapolitics/after-halo-effect-of-sg50-a-return-to-the-norm

Third, this by-election's result is consistent with the belief that voters respond better to candidates with grassroots appeal.

Again, a comparison with Punggol East is apt. There, WP candidate Lee Li Lian garnered 41 per cent of the vote in GE2011. In the 2013 by-election, she won the seat with 54.5 per cent against PAP candidate Koh Poh Koon, a surgeon who the PAP said was of ministerial calibre. But he was new to the area and lost to Ms Lee, a by-then familiar face to residents.

In Bukit Batok this time, the PAP chose Mr Murali, with 16 years of grassroots experience in the estate. Both candidates campaigned on municipal issues, coming up with social and community plans. The result suggests the grassroots strategy works.

The key positive I took away from this by-election that will help greatly improve the opposition's fight in future elections. Thanks to Paul Tambayh and Dr Chee, PAP have now publicly admitted to the electorate that the upgrading carrots are "revenue neutral". The opposition parties can also provide publicly funded upgrading and NRPs to the electorate. This will significantly reduce the disadvantage in WP and SDP's campaigns in PAP constituencies.

Another positive thanks to Sylvia Lim in parliament, PAP has now publicly disallowed themselves from using the PA and RCs for PAP's political campaigning as seen in this by-election. This will help reduce some disadvantage for the opposition parties like WP and SDP during elections.

With the disadvantages reduced in this areas, WP and SDP now needs to improve their municipal and grassroots campaign messages to the electorate to win over more apathetic voters and swing voters in the next GE.

congo9

Each time sinkees forgo the opportunity to rid a PAP politician, they deserve to suffer more. There is karma.

Singkie should deserve to be screwed by PAP. The problem does not lies with Dr Chee, it the brain and mentality of Singkie got fried inside out. It just like Moses and the children of Isreal. Moses sent by God to bring them out of slavery. They children of Israel thinks that they are being brought out of the slavery to die in the desert. In the end, God got so pissed off and one by one died before reaching the promised land.

Singkie deserved to be screwed hard and die a horrible death.