• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Tony Tan will win

Perspective

Simple. All 3 men were from the PAP. So there is a ruler to measure them equally. And the one with the highest measure will get the most votes.

Tony Tan made it to minister, Tan Cheng Bock made it as a PAP candidate but never became minister and Tan Kin Lian couldn't even get a candidacy despite being CEO of an organization so close to PAP. All being under the same system, people would judge in a way that the highest to lowest votes will be in order of TT, TCB then TKL.

For the opposition, it is different. None of those in the WP Aljunied team has ever been with the PAP. No one knows if LTK will ever be fit for PAP MP, Sylvia Lim would ever become a minister or whether Show Mao could be PM. So the PAP and WP team were seen as equals. Ditto for NSP, SDP etc. despite losing. Ditto for Chua Kim Yeow in 1993 who was seen as equal to OTC.

Once the PAP starts selling this angle, TT is clear winner.

Perspective

Just to add, TT was even hailed as the first choice of PM above GCT. One who nearly became PM losing the President Election is rather unlikely.

One version of the story is that he was the second and GCT was the 4th. One version only hor. :o

There is a really big flaw to your theory.
It may account for the majority of the 60 odd % who support pap, how does it account for the 40 odd % of opposition supporters. or even those pap voters who want "checks", those who voted pap because opposition party canddiates cmi, those who are very "light" pap supporters, those who don't like oily hair, etc.

Hey! Don't make TKL sad hor. :biggrin:

Simple. All 3 men were from the PAP. So there is a ruler to measure them equally. And the one with the highest measure will get the most votes.

Your argument is too narrow minded and did not think out of the box. Tony Tan is LKY favourite and he became minister has nothing to do with his intelligence but his well-learned skill of being able to polish his master from bottom-to-top. If you want fast promotion to become a minister, the only route is to be a "YES-MAN" within PAP camp. Thus this kind of candidate is likely to continue supporting his master regardless of what high position he holds in future.

On the other hand, those who did not get promotion or being selected as candidates have great story behind it. They have independent mind which PAP fear and they do not subscribed to everything PAP said and thus they were left out of PAP radar. Which further explained by Tan Soo Koon was kicked out of LHL radar and Lim Hwee Hua was promoted as minister. God created history for people to learn and become wiser of what has tranpired.

Not being a "YES-MAN" is one of the good qualities of being an independent candidate. Fortunately we have TCB and TKL as ideal choice. Unlike Tony Tan, these two candidates do not succumbed themselves to the DARK SIDE. That is the kind of force Singaporeans need when you tried to confront PAP and that brings about true check n balance within systems.

Tony Tan WILL NOT be a good candidate for check and balance. He is flawed from every angles you look at him.

Perspective

There is a really big flaw to your theory.
It may account for the majority of the 60 odd % who support pap, how does it account for the 40 odd % of opposition supporters. or even those pap voters who want "checks", those who voted pap because opposition party canddiates cmi, those who are very "light" pap supporters, those who don't like oily hair, etc.

Exactly. 60% vote Tony, 40% vote TCB and TKL. Tony wins.

There are also PAP voters who vote opposition because PAP CMI this time.

Perspective

Your argument is too narrow minded and did not think out of the box. Tony Tan is LKY favourite and he became minister has nothing to do with his intelligent but skill of being able to polish his master. If you want fast promotion to become a minister, the only route is to be a "YES-MAN" within PAP camp. Thus this kind of candidate is likely to continue supporting his master regardless of what high position he holds in future.

On the other hand, those who did not get promotion or being selected as candidates have great story behind it. They have independent mind which PAP fear and they do not subscribed to everything PAP said and thus they were left out of PAP radar. Which further explained by Tan Soo Koon was kicked out of LHL radar and Lim Hwee Hua was promoted as minister. God created history for people to learn and become wiser of what has tranpired.

Not being a "YES-MAN" is one of the good qualities of being an independent candidate. Fortunately we have TCB and TKL as ideal choice. Unlike Tony Tan, these two candidates do not succumbed themselves to the DARK SIDE. That is the kind of force Singaporeans need when you tried to confront PAP and that brings about true check n balance within systems.

Tony Tan WILL NOT be a good candidate for check and balance. He is flawed from every angles you look at him.

If you are independent minded, you won't even get a PAP candidacy in the first place. There are only 2 kinds PAP will reject as candidates - too independent and become troublemaker and those who court too hard.

TT and TCB both do not qualify. TKL is the second, but gave up in the end.

tis burger is over-rated ...

juz bcos ah u ranked him as lumpar 1 in his assessment n above ah tong ... ppl has tis impression etched in their minds dat he's goot ...

n ofcos, dat 154th blow trumpet 4 him ... another ting ppl remember him was bcos, as dat 154th put it dat time, he speaks wif finesse ... sg peasants like 2 tink dat dose who speak wel r smart n goot ...

me remember clearly wen he was in education ... he did a lousy job ... but he smoked his way thru n a lot of ppl din notis it den ...

wait a minute...how do you know there will be election? Scarely, the Council disqualified the rest of the candidates leh? U neber noe...then walkover LOL

Windsor

wait a minute...how do you know there will be election? Scarely, the Council disqualified the rest of the candidates leh? U neber noe...then walkover LOL

QFT!

Why are we going along this route when there has been no announcement from the EPC? Let us wait and see all 3 horses running then we can comment.

No sure bet TT will win, given the recent political climate in S'pore. I opine it will be a good fight between TT and TCB, if the latter clears the first hurdle of qualification.

TT now distances himself away from the MIW. Also reported he opposed the casino idea. Best of all, he claimed to have made the decision himself. Must be a liar! More likely he was nudged to this EP thing by LKY. Coz LKY is the only THING TT will listen to.

if all 3 dogs are PAP dogs.......................meaning LKY's puppets..................

then doesn't matter who's president liao what......................

LKY sure die die make sure president is his lapdog.....................otherwise LKY will be in deep shit............

considering our ''Clean Corruption'' here..................

Exactly. 60% vote Tony, 40% vote TCB and TKL. Tony wins.

There are also PAP voters who vote opposition because PAP CMI this time.

More likely that TCB and Tony will split the pap vote, TKL wins with 40%, unless he splits the opposition vote. :biggrin:

Don't ever under-estimate the number of people who don't like oily hair and high waist bands. :biggrin:

Seriously, not every pap supporter will buy the "hierachy" theory. There will be a lot of TCB supporters from the elderly who know him and the grassroots.

Debonerman

More likely that TCB and Tony will split the pap vote, TKL wins with 40%, unless he splits the opposition vote. :biggrin:

Don't ever under-estimate the number of people who don't like oily hair and high waist bands. :biggrin:

Seriously, not every pap supporter will buy the "hierachy" theory. There will be a lot of TCB supporters from the elderly who know him and the grassroots.

My take. Tan Cheng Bock garners more votes than Tony Tan. Now who eventually emerges as the winner is in doubt because over 40% voted for a Chua unknown against Ong Teng Cheong.

So we are talking about the numbers that will go against the grain of a General Election result. PE is not bread and butter that Goh Meng Seng is trying to sell to the sinkies on Tan Kin Lian's behalf.

tis burger is over-rated ...

juz bcos ah u ranked him as lumpar 1 in his assessment n above ah tong ... ppl has tis impression etched in their minds dat he's goot ...

There will also be people who bcos of that think dat he's bat. :o

Blazars

Its amazing that just one day ago, TT is chairman of GIC, he has to "report" to the president. And today, he is contesting for president. And if elected, he will be "reported" to by GIC chairman. Are there really nobody to become president?? Uniquely Singapore... really.
!&!!

Its amazing that just one day ago, TT is chairman of GIC, he has to "report" to the president. And today, he is contesting for president. And if elected, he will be "reported" to by GIC chairman. Are there really nobody to become president?? Uniquely Singapore... really.
!&!!

There is somebody else. George Yeo.
But he politely declined. :o

shitonleeky

There is somebody else. George Yeo.
But he politely declined. :o

Bloody YoYo is a fucking joke. He mentioned that he was tempermentally unsuitable for presidency when asked initially abt running for it.

Next thing, he said he was considering. Talked abt credibility.

coolguy

Whoever wins, we still continue to bleed, the coffers will still continue to swell up with our sweat and blood.
To the people, actually it makes no difference who gets elected.
you may say compared to the pot, the kettle is very black.
But actually both are all black.
All sama sama lah.

Silencer

If you are independent minded, you won't even get a PAP candidacy in the first place. There are only 2 kinds PAP will reject as candidates - too independent and become troublemaker and those who court too hard.

TT and TCB both do not qualify. TKL is the second, but gave up in the end.

To me that's 3 kind.

Have to agree with you. Most Singaporeans are aware that the office of President is pretty much ceremonial. They will likely pick along the lines of stature and past stately accomplishments. The political angle and therefore the oppressive nature of his past will not be a big factor.

Tony Tan made it to minister, Tan Cheng Bock made it as a PAP candidate but never became minister and Tan Kin Lian couldn't even get a candidacy despite being CEO of an organization so close to PAP. All being under the same system, people would judge in a way that the highest to lowest votes will be in order of TT, TCB then TKL.

Once the PAP starts selling this angle, TT is clear winner.