• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Tony Tan will win

kingrant

Stature wise, agree that TT beats the rest hands down. But TT is easily going to be the one with the tightest clamp on all your balls when he is EP. He is pro-loose FT policy, pro-reduction in CPF, pro-wealth creation, pro-GDP inst of Gini, anti-Min Wage..so al you poor peasantry will die harder, and the riche and powerful and famous will be further polished..

He may well be the extended arm and proxy of LKY. Only diff is that he appears more personable than Lee, but all else expect him to be as hard as nails as the Old man. A Rotweiler which looks like a golden retriever.

Simple. All 3 men were from the PAP. So there is a ruler to measure them equally. And the one with the highest measure will get the most votes.

Tony Tan made it to minister, Tan Cheng Bock made it as a PAP candidate but never became minister and Tan Kin Lian couldn't even get a candidacy despite being CEO of an organization so close to PAP. All being under the same system, people would judge in a way that the highest to lowest votes will be in order of TT, TCB then TKL.

For the opposition, it is different. None of those in the WP Aljunied team has ever been with the PAP. No one knows if LTK will ever be fit for PAP MP, Sylvia Lim would ever become a minister or whether Show Mao could be PM. So the PAP and WP team were seen as equals. Ditto for NSP, SDP etc. despite losing. Ditto for Chua Kim Yeow in 1993 who was seen as equal to OTC.

Once the PAP starts selling this angle, TT is clear winner.

Perspective

Have to agree with you. Most Singaporeans are aware that the office of President is pretty much ceremonial. They will likely pick along the lines of stature and past stately accomplishments. The political angle and therefore the oppressive nature of his past will not be a big factor.

Notice the Emeritus Goh has started promoting and selling his former PMship rival, rather than the man he brought into politics who was his sec sch friend, or his former branch secretary.

Perspective

All the more I will never vote for TT.

Vote a candidate who advanced the most under the PAP in order to serve as a safeguard against a potentially rogue PAP?

Problem is all 3 are PAP. Who do you want to vote for? The most appearingly independent was out of PAP due to being disgruntled by being slighted by PAP over various things and not because of change of heart. I see a lot these types in the opposition as well. After 5 years never the Sec-Gen jumps ship becomes Sec-Gen in new ship in 1 year of planning to getting it.

If Mike Lee had qualified and stood, then he would be the only non PAP (as far as I know).

sirus

The check and balance of the GIC/GLC already so dark. TT is the ideal candidate to make it pitch-dark to the highest degree if he ever got elected.
How to measure darkness? Think again.

Porfirio Rubirosa

read an even simpler ans by a member of the public in ST...60% of the electorate still voted PAP in GE11, so why sldn't a PAP endorsed candidate win PE11!!...bwahahahahaha...
Simple. All 3 men were from the PAP. So there is a ruler to measure them equally. And the one with the highest measure will get the most votes.

Tony Tan made it to minister, Tan Cheng Bock made it as a PAP candidate but never became minister and Tan Kin Lian couldn't even get a candidacy despite being CEO of an organization so close to PAP. All being under the same system, people would judge in a way that the highest to lowest votes will be in order of TT, TCB then TKL.

For the opposition, it is different. None of those in the WP Aljunied team has ever been with the PAP. No one knows if LTK will ever be fit for PAP MP, Sylvia Lim would ever become a minister or whether Show Mao could be PM. So the PAP and WP team were seen as equals. Ditto for NSP, SDP etc. despite losing. Ditto for Chua Kim Yeow in 1993 who was seen as equal to OTC.

Once the PAP starts selling this angle, TT is clear winner.

Porfirio Rubirosa

inclined to agree wif u bro...but saying that a week is a long time in politics...

actually i think TCB hit the nail on the head when he apparently made reference to TT's now past role in GIC...to me this is the 1 critical fundamental issue that TCB sld continue to play on agst TT...

No sure bet TT will win, given the recent political climate in S'pore. I opine it will be a good fight between TT and TCB, if the latter clears the first hurdle of qualification.

TT now distances himself away from the MIW. Also reported he opposed the casino idea. Best of all, he claimed to have made the decision himself. Must be a liar! More likely he was nudged to this EP thing by LKY. Coz LKY is the only THING TT will listen to.

Porfirio Rubirosa

u too hv hit the nail on the head bro!!...
Its amazing that just one day ago, TT is chairman of GIC, he has to "report" to the president. And today, he is contesting for president. And if elected, he will be "reported" to by GIC chairman. Are there really nobody to become president?? Uniquely Singapore... really.
!&!!

ballsathome

Yawn.... so predictable...

LHL : Come Tony give me your hand and i will show you the way... :biggrin:

<iframe width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/OAAq0bn4h_Y?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

so who was the 1st in this version bro???...

According to "that version of the story", :o

The 1st choice was Chee Onn and the third Dhana.
Both choices made by the "know-it-all oldman" and eventually decided by the same person that they were not suitable at that time. :rolleyes:

But one version of story only hor. :biggrin:

hey dont rule out the incumbent just yet hor!!!!!...bwhahahahahaha...

Hey Porfirio, why don't u write anymore on 3 topics that used to be your favourites: Walter, LWL and chicken rice.

Getting a bit tired of the 3 Tans................ :o

Porfirio Rubirosa

oic...i tot this was post chee onn leaving the cabinet n ntuc for keppel...

u know i hv always wondered why harry tot chee onn was of pm material in the first place?...no doubt chee onn has the intellect n gravitas, however he has never struck me as a person wif political EQ which i think is necessary in the character make up of any potential political leader...nice unassuming chap though...

Both choices made by the "know-it-all oldman" and eventually decided by the same person that they were not suitable at that time. :rolleyes:

Porfirio Rubirosa

hahahahaha...sorry bro, me actually lost interest in this forum...however the local political heat inevitably pulled me back kicking n screaming!!...

mind u since u raised the topic of chciken rice...if u r anywhere near bukit timah shopping centre/beauty world n in search of v gd chicken rice i suggest u pop down to bukit timah food centre...sorry can't recall the name of the joint but just follow the queue...somewhat similar queue to tian tian at maxwell...wif an award sign to boot!...
Hey Porfirio, why don't u write anymore on 3 topics that used to be your favourites: Walter, LWL and chicken rice.

Getting a bit tired of the 3 Tans................ :o

Chee Onn was removed from NTUC NOT BECAUSE of his poor EQ with trade union leaders and workers. That was only a show to allow him to step aside with face intact. PAP's too. His poor EQ skills did not come about suddenly! He had poor EQ all along. The hard truth - he was investigated by CPIB. Period.

Conqueror

All Shun This Issue

if all 3 dogs are PAP dogs.......................meaning LKY's puppets..................

then doesn't matter who's president liao what......................

Img243610022.jpg

Everyone shuns this issue completely - Revolution. Are you willing to pull the trigger ? After 20 years, there's a likelihood that PAP will still be in power.

This issue can separate the real men from the half-men. Are you testosterone charged ? The unwillingness to fight is a sign of pacifism and feminism. All women are like that !

The wise Wu Zi Xu blurted out, "Ha! A woman's point of view !"

annexa

Re: All Shun This Issue

Tony Tan has very good media training and support. The other two sure lose one.

ah_phah

before sgporeans buy the concept that the shit times is trying to sell... we need to establish an understanding that all 3 were ex-miw croonies. of the 3 stooges, who was the most successful balls licker??? TT of cos...! lets ask ourselves what TT did right in the eyes of the papaya, that warrants them to insist that TT is the most suitable.

• when he was in edu ministry, his primary school streaming condemned many ppl's lives
  • when he was in trade & industry, he screwed our salaries introducing productivity formulae, so employers can abuse employees
  • when he was in defence, he introduce 2.5yrs & 13yrs reservist
  • when he was in GIC, our $$$ was burnt in toxic investments
  • when in SPH, propaganda flows in favor for the MIW

so now, do u still think that TT is the best candidate???