Why this year in Singapore so quiet ?

It could be a combination of the followings:-

Poverty, unemployement rate gone up.
Rainy season
Nobody gives two hoots about foreign-manned stalls
People Du lan PAP and now all eyes waiting for the coming election.

Thus no mood to celebrate.

Everyone waiting in anticipation. For the hand outs.

Economy not as rosy as reported in the ST. I am basing my observation on the nightlife entertainment industry. I am out every night so I cannot be wrong here. Feedback from nitelife operators same same - times are bad.

Hari Raya has more atmosphere stimulating awareness than CNY as we can see Malay families in shiny traditional costumes or visiting each others' relatives and friends. It used to be so for Chinese during CNY, but had gone with the wind a long time ago.

Economy not as rosy as reported in the ST. I am basing my observation on the nightlife entertainment industry. I am out every night so I cannot be wrong here. Feedback from nitelife operators same same - times are bad.
I suspect that the potential profit of hundreds of thousands of small timers/owners all kena into pockt of two BIG cheifs,Ah Lim & Adel(son)

They took away billions and growing!Thanks to PAP aka MM LKY

if got money, everyday also new year!

Hari Raya has more atmosphere stimulating awareness than CNY as we can see Malay families in shiny traditional costumes or visiting each others' relatives and friends. It used to be so for Chinese during CNY, but had gone with the wind a long time ago.

yes, I feel the same way too.

I disagree, take a MRT on CNY 1st and 2nd day, you'll see foreigners outnumbered local. The whole train full of Indians, pinyos and ah tiongs.

Why this year in Singapore so quiet ?

Many factors lah:

1. Last time only NTUC (even NTUC so much more), now more heartland Giants and Sheng Siongs - all selling more and more CNY goods. So those people running pasar malam lose out. Only the Bak Kwa shops people got no choice but to go.

2. Rain - Pasar Malam not conducive, all go to the NTUC, Giant etc. By the time the rain stopped, all buy already.

3. The Giants etc all sell much cheaper.

4. Those who did well went overseas. Try booking flights and you'll know what I mean.

But you're right anyway, somehow the mood very different.

handwash4.jpg

I disagree, take a MRT on CNY 1st and 2nd day, you'll see foreigners outnumbered local. The whole train full of Indians, pinyos and ah tiongs.

Everyday you can see foreigners outnumber Sporeans, you don't need to wait for CNY.

I suspect that the potential profit of hundreds of thousands of small timers/owners all kena into pockt of two BIG cheifs,Ah Lim & Adel(son)

They took away billions and growing!Thanks to PAP aka MM LKY

That's true. Money lost there will not be back in circulation. If gamblers had won, and before losing back to the casinos, the money would move around in circulation - makan places, retail outlets, entertainment outlets etc.

huat ah! go but toto lah, today draw money $800k, let there be few winners and i be one of them!:cool:

That's true. Money lost there will not be back in circulation. If gamblers had won, and before losing back to the casinos, the money would move around in circulation - makan places, retail outlets, entertainment outlets etc.

Yes it will. A lot of the money goes to the dealers, the sweeper, the Manager, the IT guy, the security guard etc etc ... these go back into circulation. A lot of the money also comes from Malaysia ($3M a day according to the JB politician), $1B a year, 15% goes to government taxes for goodies and infrastructural projects, let's say 20% goes to paying the people who work there, that is 350M just going into the economy.

You really think RWS and MBS will survive on Singapore customers?

whoa! i didn't know you know a lot of things, really amazed by your writeup!:rolleyes::D

Yes it will. A lot of the money goes to the dealers, the sweeper, the Manager, the IT guy, the security guard etc etc ... these go back into circulation. A lot of the money also comes from Malaysia ($3M a day according to the JB politician), $1B a year, 15% goes to government taxes for goodies and infrastructural projects, let's say 20% goes to paying the people who work there, that is 350M just going into the economy.

You really think RWS and MBS will survive on Singapore customers?