Why SG spends so much on defence

It's already bare skeletal budget. Singapore should spend more on defence and police. Get some nukes for defence and machine guns for police.

there plenty of MGs in singapore but the polis are stoopid to operate them so none were issue to the polis.:D

GPMGs are only issued to certain SAF units. They're even more stupid but can operate it. They should be issued to SPF too. Any idiot can operate a GPMG after one hour of training and briefing. SPF patrol cars should be armed with GPMG. Let them out there know, in case of rioting, just spray them with bullets. Singapore'd be a safer place. Currently, SPF officers are only trained in S&W.38 revolver for routine patrol and M16 rifle for riot control. Not power enough.

nah beh...give GPMG mount on where? Those subarus with flashing klaxon? or mount on those ang chias?

by the time the mata take out GPMG, assemble n ready for fire, criminal take taxi go JB liao LOL

no lah, mata won't use GPMG, after firing must write leeport, so tedious.

They better use their watergun between their legs LOL ...come Geylang....

Totally agree. Poodles need all the help they can get, as recent results against rowdy PRC dogs have demonstrated.

the problem polis too stoopid that no amount amount of training can make them proficient in the GPMG. why be contended with a gpmg mounted on the subaru when polis should procure the saf terrex as a crowd control vehicle, can fire gpmg, convert smoke launchers to tear gas launchers plus gun ports to shoot protesters from safety of the vehicle. oh... i forgot, polis also too stoopid to operate that vehicle. :p

That's not a matter with police anymore. I'd draw the line at machine guns for police enforcement powers. LKY has already said, if scenarios like that happen, the army shall be called in. It's army problem, not police problem. Go ahead soldiers, train yourselves well up to the tasks. :D

I thought the S&W are already replaced by Taurus .38?

Sometime in 2002 or 2003. Was told LHL played a key role in this. He spotted his SO carrying a S&W and was shocked the SPF was still using this piece of outdated antique. No one in the entire SPF ever thought of that or was brave enough to put forward a proposal to update.

Lets put it this way - In Singapore where firearms are strictly controlled and normally not owned by members of the public, a S&W is still many levels up in firepower against a siao nang armed with nothing more than a parang or his fists. Although i have to admit that its stopping power is hardly useful against a crazed determined attacker.

Tthe reason why we have GPMGs and you guys don't is for us to shoot at the lot of you easier when shit happens.

I'd have shot the hell out of the shits for you guys, our Singaporeans, in my time. But too bad, I've passed expiry date and ROD now. I don't know how police is trained now. The news like three officers getting beaten up by one rogue already rocked me off my chair, not rolling on the floor laughing, but lamenting.

Yeah, why buy firepower when you can't use it. Fucking stupid

Yes, training is most important. Must train police to beat the shit out of troublemakers whether armed or not, and to open fire without hesitation in a weapon confrontation.

Thanks for the info GD. Yep they changed to the five-shot Taurus Model 85 in 2002 it seems.

True or not GD? Standard or short nose 2inch 5 round cylinder SW38? Bodyguard you know. To protect the Lee Crown jewels. Got time to reload even with speed reloader? I know the SPF is very compartmentalised. But 5 round revolvers?