• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Rental Discrimination is Still Common in Singapore

Wah did you get any special payments?
nope. be totally professional, business like, and must not fall into temptation when renting out homes. after tenant moves out, that’s a different situation altogether. she paid on time every month but was very needy and pesty when it came to minor issues such as door hinges loose, sliding door dusty and creaky, light bulbs not working, mould in bathtub, toilet making noises, electrical bill too high. i had to rescue her with a spare key when she locked herself out on the balcony one hot summer. told her the spare key was necessary for emergencies and welfare checks. she was ok with it as it saved her life, and she wanted me to keep the spare key with me at all times. after 3 years with no rent increases (it was sexpensive to be begin with), i sold that condo. huat ah!

LordElrond

nope. be totally professional, business like, and must not fall into temptation when renting out homes. after tenant moves out, that’s a different situation altogether. she paid on time every month but was very needy and pesty when it came to minor issues such as door hinges loose, sliding door dusty and creaky, light bulbs not working, mould in bathtub, toilet making noises, electrical bill too high. i had to rescue her with a spare key when she locked herself out on the balcony one hot summer. told her the spare key was necessary for emergencies and welfare checks. she was ok with it as it saved her life, and she wanted me to keep the spare key with me at all times. after 3 years with no rent increases (it was sexpensive to be begin with), i sold that condo. huat ah!
All sounds like a script from pornhub

bobby

Rental of accommodation is a business. Like all businesses, it is up to the business owners to state the rules and chooses the product they want to sell.

If a restaurant choose to sell bak kut teh...is it discriminatory to the Muslims ?
If a clothing store does not sell clothes over size 16...is it discriminatory to obese people ?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Rental of accommodation is a business. Like all businesses, it is up to the business owners to state the rules and chooses the product they want to sell.

If a restaurant choose to sell bak kut teh...is it discriminatory to the Muslims ?
If a clothing store does not sell clothes over size 16...is it discriminatory to obese people ?
In the current climate of woke. The answer to both your questions is Yes. That is if the customer feels discriminated.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Liddat then male & female designated toilets are also discriminatory to non-binary users ?
Yes.

Basically the idea in today's world is to be all inclusive. Say yes to everything that people ask you to say yes to. And say no to everything everyone asks you to say no to. I am talking as a business or service etc.

If you cant then you have to apologize and pledge to do better.

bobby

Yes.

Basically the idea in today's world is to be all inclusive. Say yes to everything that people ask you to say yes to. And say no to everything everyone asks you to say no to. I am talking as a business or service etc.

If you cant then you have to apologize and pledge to do better.

Liddat then all restuarants better have gluten-free, halal, kosher, vegetarian, pescatarian & vegan options in their menus.

If the Chinese in Malaysia (being minority) faces the same situation, they suck it up & move on, create their own cluster, own business environment. They dont kpkb why people look down on them, unfair .... etc. I am sure if the situation is reverse in SG, for the Chinese being the minority, it would turn out practically the same result.

Why dont all these so-call being unfair treated minority come together, group-rent the entire condominium project & live life happily ever-after. Ohh ...possibly even their own kind reject their own when it comes to rental property ?
Chinese have their own mandarin speakers only barricade.
Indians in between suffer the most.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Liddat then all restuarants better have gluten-free, halal, kosher, vegetarian, pescatarian & vegan options in their menus.
Thats how it works.

As you can see in Singapore almost all restaurants are halal.

The point is who are the customers who complain about being discriminated against and give bad publicity via social media etc.

There is probably some critical limit on how many get angry which then signifies real impact on the business to need to cater to that group.

Does local sinkies born and bred in Singapore but of Indian race willing to rent their unit to overseas Indian?

searcher1

Does local sinkies born and bred in Singapore but of Indian race willing to rent their unit to overseas Indian?

Of coz not all CECA behave like that, but significant numbers of their bad experience is enough to deter other landlord !
So far we dont hear any bad experience on Japanese tenant, they are the top choices for landlord. :biggrin: