• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why people believe in religion...

......because they're retarded. Period.

religion is bullshit

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/6RT6rL2UroE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
......because they're retarded. Period.

because people are emotionally weak and fear of dying. they also dun trust human enough so they have to create an imaginary friend to get support.

Each individual has their own unique reasons (or rather excuses) to believe in a religion.
Some claimed it's a miracle for them while other claimed that they've encountered "complete healing".

Case #1
A NS guy who is a "bobo shooter" decided to anyhow pray to Jesus one day in the firing range asking for help to shoot better.
After praying he got all his shots inside the target. He become a Christian after that.

Case #2
An old classmate of mine always quarrel with his sister. One day he decided to follow his friends to a church.
After going to church a few times, his relationship with his sister has improved a lot. He become a Christian.

Case #3
My ex colleague claimed that he was curious about Christianity. One day he decided to follow his friends to the church.
After that he felt uneasy and at a loss if he don't go to church anymore. So he decided to become a Christian.

The above 3 cases are true stories. Is it really a so called "miracle" for all of them?

Maybe its a change of mindset,,,,like getting some counselling. But for me, things got worse when I went back to Church,,,so different people have different experiences,,,also look at the converts of shitty harvest cult,,i doubt they got 'divine inspiration'.

Each individual has their own unique reasons (or rather excuses) to believe in a religion.
Some claimed it's a miracle for them while other claimed that they've encountered "complete healing".

Case #1
A NS guy who is a "bobo shooter" decided to anyhow pray to Jesus one day in the firing range asking for help to shoot better.
After praying he got all his shots inside the target. He become a Christian after that.

Case #2
An old classmate of mine always quarrel with his sister. One day he decided to follow his friends to a church.
After going to church a few times, his relationship with his sister has improved a lot. He become a Christian.

Case #3
My ex colleague claimed that he was curious about Christianity. One day he decided to follow his friends to the church.
After that he felt uneasy and at a loss if he don't go to church anymore. So he decided to become a Christian.

The above 3 cases are true stories. Is it really a so called "miracle" for all of them?

Case 4- I always cannot get a girlfriend so decided to go church and ask God why. After going to church, I got to hug many girls and even kiss their cheeks. After 2 weeks, I got a girlfriend and get to lose my virginity. I decided to change church after that.

i'll pray very hard to Jesus to let me strike the Big Sweeps Lottery first prize in June 2014, i'll convert to a Christian and my whole family too! :):):)

"Lord, hear my prayers! let me be the winner of the first prize for the Big Sweeps Lottery in the coming month of June so i may use the money to help the poor and the sick as you would have done. i pray for all these in your most holy name, Jesus Christ, Amen! in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, Amen!" :):):)

Religion is a personal thing. For those who choose to believe, they've got their own reasons. Some call it faith, others call it spirituality. To me, the question of the existence of divine ones is up to one's experience, background, education, family, blah blah. What I see in religion (or at least organized religions) is the social grouping, fellowship, its role as a community cement in secular societies. Religious bodies have played major roles in establishing schools, hospitals, aid organizations, rehabilitation homes, orphanages and have been instrumental in laying down various national laws. Of course, it can also be abused. Leave that to the politicians. At the end of the day, if someone finds comfort and meaning in what they believe, it is their choice, as long as he or she does not impose his own beliefs and practices on others, I have no problem with that. I believe in freedom of worship.

See what this opposition leader says about God

“If we say that we believe in democracy, if we say that the fabric of a democratic society is one which allows for the free play of idea…then, in the name of all the gods, give that free play a chance to work within the constitutional framework.”
- Opposition leader Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore Legislative Assembly, Oct 4, 1956

After he become gahment, he go against God and turn SPH into Shitty Times.

Maybe its a change of mindset,,,,like getting some counselling. But for me, things got worse when I went back to Church,,,so different people have different experiences,,,also look at the converts of shitty harvest cult,,i doubt they got 'divine inspiration'.

Marx said it's the opium of the people. He's not wrong. Just ask followers of KH.

Because everytime you hear a newborn baby cry, someone will come to show the way ?:confused:

Religion is an excuse to satisfy one's need, desire, covert and yearn for divine blessings and a divine and supposedly true meaning of life, that another fellow in one's midst has seemingly found. If one is however, persecuted by religion and not instead, blessed, one will ignore, refute or discard religion altogether. Meanwhile, the moment the door to religion is opened by one, it becomes a little more difficult to close it, because religion is like a gift but you need to unwrap it to know what the gift is. It is the unwrapping to savor the gift that is potentially addictive and habitual. Hence, religion is merely one's need, desire, covert and yearn for blessings and a definitive true meaning of life in exchange for your belief and servitude. The moment one refuses to believe and serve, religion has no hold on one.

It's like this: Those who need a religion are most likely those who are kia-si, kia-su, kia-boh, kia-gui, kia-lan, simi pun kia type of retards. Period.

Atoning for aLL the Sins they haVe commited; just to teLL mentaLLy that they haVe confessed, and hence a sense
of mentaL freedom, yet again..:cool:

Religion is bullshit!! All the gongkias and gongchees please wake up!!!!

http://ladyatheist.blogspot.sg/2011/06/top-ten-reasons-why-religion-is.html

READ the 10 awesome reasons by lady atheist, no bullshit but truth, truth, truth.

1. Basis in the personal revelation of one person or a string of a few loonies. Personal revelation can be lies, misrepresentations, migraine auras, hallucinations, delusions, or hoaxes. Just not a reliable source of information for basing an entire lifestyle on.
  2. Precarious transmission of the "Word." Again, lies, misrepresentations and hoaxes are possible sources of "information." There's also scribal errors, interpolations, deletions, and organizational or personal agendas to consider. Just because a text is "ancient" is no reason to grant it any kind of status. Just the reverse.
  3. Fairy tale explanations for the natural world. Genesis is only one of hundreds of creation stories. Every culture on Earth seems to have one. This would indicate there's something innate about the human intellect that needs answers for things like the movement of the stars and why humans can talk but frogs can't. The fact that there are so many of these stories leads to only one conclusion: they are all false. The scientific method is showing all of them to be false, too.
  4. Human qualities of "gods." The Genesis story gets around this by saying that God made us in his image, not the other way around, but it's not very convincing if you think about it.
  5. Tribalism. Us vs. Them. Our group of primates wants to survive and make the other group not survive. If we dehumanize them by making their belief systems wrong, it's easier to kill them. They may look like us, but it's not murder if you kill someone who's different on the inside. How do you know if they're different? If they're our neighbors, only their gods will be different.
  6. Bullshit rules. Rules about food. Rules about sex. Rules about hair. Rules about clothes. Rules about bullshit ceremonies. WTF? I can see how societies might want to regulate some antisocial behaviors, but what's antisocial about cutting your hair or eating a ham sandwich?
  7. Bullshit ceremonies. Speaking of bullshit ceremonies, again, I can see how a society might want to put its seal of approval on marriages or say goodbye to the deceased (in a way that won't bring maggots into the town) but the rest...? Christians have their cannibalistic ritual. Hindus have magic powder that they dribble around. Muslims stick their asses in the air five times a day. Haitians dance around until they believe they've been possessed. What a bunch of hooey. I don't do any of those things and I don't think I'm missing out at all.
  8. Life after Death fantasies. This is another commonality. Sure, we don't want to die. We also don't want to believe that our loved ones are truly gone when they die, but this life is very likely (like 99.99999%) all there is. Again, the fact that every culture has this fantasy and that none of them have the same fantasy is pretty good reason not to believe any of them. Notice that when people talk about Heaven they never mention anyone but the people they knew in life as hanging out there? And maybe their pets. They don't think that their granny might be in Hell or that they'll be sharing praise duty with millions of babies that died from cholera and dysentery before society started cleaning up water supplies.
  9. Fantasy of being able to make things go your way. This has probably been going on since before recorded history. Make it rain. Make it stop raining. Make the crops grow. Make the antelope slow down. Make the stock market improve. Make my team beat your team. Make the little girl with leukemia survive. None of religion's promises to change events has ever been shown to make a difference except to give comfort and false hope to the people entertaining the fantasy. Comfort and hope are not bad things, but do you really have to deny reality to feel better in times of stress? And doesn't it create more stress when things don't go your way despite praying or dancing or chanting for the supernatural being(s) to intervene?
  10. Resistance to change. Sure, tradition is one of the things that binds a community but religion gives people an excuse to resist positive change. People are against marriage not because of their prejudices. Believers who aren't prejudiced seem to handle the idea of people making a lifetime commitment just fine. Ditto, in the old (I hope) days when it was illegal for people of different races to marry.

Fantasy of PAP regime and idolizing of old fart counted as religion? And CPF contribution a form of tithing? The father, son and the Holy Gogh fixed nicely in the framework. Istana is maciam vetican.