• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Jacky Chan looked older than Bruce Lee?

this is where the 1 inch punch comes in to demo to those students the power is damaging enough, get the idea behind this thinking now?

i learn a bit of boxing and wingchun before (more wing chun), if you ask me which one is better, i will say both are just 2 different school of thoughts that works in 2 different ways.

but most boxer will kill most chinese martial artist due to conditioning LOL

ok i get it liao , thankyou ...it just for demo . as what you have wrote just now one inch punch is not for real fight . but why cant the student think that the demo cannot apply in real fight ?

Once, I was queuing with my colleague to board a ferry that brings us to the Statue of Liberty in New York. It was a very long queue and in order to make the wait more bearable, there were some sideshows being performed by buskers to entertain those in the queue. One particular act was captivating performed by a team mainly made up of blacks but some whites as well. There performed some spectacular kunguf stunts and announced to the audience that their stunts were inspired and influenced by Bruce Lee. They said Bruce Lee was the greatest kungfu exponent ever lived. While they went round to collect money, one of them asked me if I was related to Bruce Lee. He said if I were, he would be very afraid of me as I would likely to possess great kungfu skills. He went on to say that Bruce Lee is being worshipped in the US as a kungfu god and that he was indeed a legend. Now this was almost 30 years after Bruce Lee died. My previous boss, a Norwegian has a giant poster of Bruce Lee behind his bedroom door. I asked his wife if she objects to that and she said she was also a great Bruce Lee fan. I hope this will put to rest the thinking that Bruce Lee was a nobody in the west.

its not only angmo got his pin up poster ..even 2 of my japanese friends have bruce lee poster pin on the wall ...

ok i get it liao , thankyou ...it just for demo . as what you have wrote just now one inch punch is not for real fight . but why cant the student think that the demo cannot apply in real fight ?

I believe the forummers on this thread has the misconception that Bruce Lee intended his one inch punch to be used in all fight situations. Nothing is further from the truth. Bruce invented the one inch punch for close encounter fighting that particularly address situation of a robbery while the mugger is very close to the one being robbed. In those instance a one inch punch is enough to momentarily stun the mugger to be followed up other types of fist punches or even kicks. The one inch punch is for real and serve a certain purpose. It's not meant for show only. Bruce Lee demonstrated this technique fighting another opponent in a lift. Bruce Lee has a much wider repetoire of kungfu moves than just the one inch punch.

here's the basics of throwing a punch.....

both arms tucked, protecting your face. put like 65% of your weight on the same foot as the hand you're punching with ( if you throw a left, your weight is on your left foot). twist your hips and push up with your legs kind of. throw your arm out straight and extend it and then bring it back. keep your other hand up so that you don't get counter punched.

how the fuck i know LOL

now got so many fuck up instructors who dun even know this actually LOL (btw i am not even qualified to teach this even though i learn this for 5 years, i know my own standard)

I believe the forummers on this thread has the misconception that Bruce Lee intended his one inch punch to be used in all fight situations. Nothing is further from the truth. Bruce invented the one inch punch for close encounter fighting that particularly address situation of a robbery while the mugger is very close to the one being robbed. In those instance a one inch punch is enough to momentarily stun the mugger to be followed up other types of fist punches or even kicks. The one inch punch is for real and serve a certain purpose. It's not meant for show only. Bruce Lee demonstrated this technique fighting another opponent in a lift. Bruce Lee has a much wider repetoire of kungfu moves than just the one inch punch.

i fuck you, bruce lee never invented this. this was in wing chun syllabus for at least 200 years

yes one inch punch is good for close combat and can only use once and for suddenly attack ...that is if his one inch punch is strong enough to stun the other fellow and move in for the kill .

how the fuck i know LOL

now got so many fuck up instructors who dun even know this actually LOL (btw i am not even qualified to teach this even though i learn this for 5 years, i know my own standard)

whahahaha...true how the fuck you know ..whahahha.. that explain ppl want to believe what they wanted to believe ;)

its meant to demo the concept behind this sch punching believe, this was its original intention. who the hell will be so stupid to stand there to absorb the punch deliver in that fashion? of cos it will never work, but then again i met enough idiot in my life, so we never know. LOL

whahahhaa...its like buying a washing detergent from a salesman doing a demo on how to use that deterget to wash clothes ...but your intention is to use it to wash oily kitchen floor ;)

here's the basics of throwing a punch.....

both arms tucked, protecting your face. put like 65% of your weight on the same foot as the hand you're punching with ( if you throw a left, your weight is on your left foot). twist your hips and push up with your legs kind of. throw your arm out straight and extend it and then bring it back. keep your other hand up so that you don't get counter punched.

agree, but i am sure you do not do this after both your arms are already tucked

u do not pull back more b4 u throw a punch to exposed ur face for a jab right (this is what i meant)

Once, I was queuing with my colleague to board a ferry that brings us to the Statue of Liberty in New York. It was a very long queue and in order to make the wait more bearable, there were some sideshows being performed by buskers to entertain those in the queue. One particular act was captivating performed by a team mainly made up of blacks but some whites as well. There performed some spectacular kunguf stunts and announced to the audience that their stunts were inspired and influenced by Bruce Lee. They said Bruce Lee was the greatest kungfu exponent ever lived. While they went round to collect money, one of them asked me if I was related to Bruce Lee. He said if I were, he would be very afraid of me as I would likely to possess great kungfu skills. He went on to say that Bruce Lee is being worshipped in the US as a kungfu god and that he was indeed a legend. Now this was almost 30 years after Bruce Lee died. My previous boss, a Norwegian has a giant poster of Bruce Lee behind his bedroom door. I asked his wife if she objects to that and she said she was also a great Bruce Lee fan. I hope this will put to rest the thinking that Bruce Lee was a nobody in the west.

I must say that there are mnay bruce lee worshippers and they are black and white in the west but u see there's always this nagging doubt from some ppl that he wasn't and the main basis of it is becos he's chinese. You don't really see it with other stars. Someone says pele is the greatest footballer more often than not ppl will tend to agree you don't see much opposition. Seriously you'll always see ppl somehow unwilling to acknowledge an east asian star and the worst are like the indians and what not. They'll boast about their own despite having 0 accomplishments and they'll put down others no matter how good they are.

agree, but i am sure you do not do this after both your arms are already tucked

u do not pull back more b4 u throw a punch to exposed ur face for a jab right (this is what i meant)

yes of course ...but also depends on the situation .. each fight is unique because each fighter is unique. even the best fighters need some time to figure out what distance is optimal in a match.

true of cos must see situation, if that guy already blur from previous attack, of cos i will pull back for more power to finish LOL

yes...thats why we are also trained to have a clear mind when inside the ring ...but its not easy . imagine you kena hit , the next moment confirm you lose your cool and wanted to finish him off immediately ..and that is very dangerous .

i be honest with u lol

i also train MMA for a year. i dunno why pple will lose their cool, cos for me when i was inside(even for other martial art competition), maybe my stamina sucks, the first thing in my mind was catching my breathe LOL. lose ur cool? not enough breathe where got cool to lose LOL

i be honest with u lol

i also train MMA for a year. i dunno why pple will lose their cool, cos for me when i was inside(even for other martial art competition), maybe my stamina sucks, the first thing in my mind was catching my breathe LOL. lose ur cool? not enough breathe where got cool to lose LOL

its true that stamina plays a important role in fighting ..most competition fights last longer than 10 seconds. without having sufficient levels of endurance, you'll turn into a limp-wristed Nancy-boy by the 11-second mark.... after all, your most powerful energy system usually wear out within 10 seconds.

if you havent developed the second energy system that comes into play, you're in a heap of trouble. We have all seen those monstrous muscle-heads walk into UFC or pride fights that end up gasping for air shortly after the first round begins. those dudes rarely end up with their arm raised at the end of the bout because their eyes are still in the back of their head while the winner is announced ;)