• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why is our gov giving scholarship to foreign students?

always thought CHAIRTY BEGINS AT HOME but now i m doubting it :(

a NUS lecturing pal just revealed to me that our gov is giving scholarship to foreign students as ulu as vietnam, cambodia and all those very drawback countries. one of the conditions would be to bond the FT student with a few years work contract in singapore. later, those FT grads would be given priority to become PR, then singapore citizens. in the process, gov tempts them with more goodies to stay put.

is all this a fact or fallacy?

cos if they give scholarships to FT students, then obviously now singaporean kids would have been sacrificed and deprived of such benefits?

i think the gov should add a final compulsory conditions to sponsored FT scholars when they wanna to be sgp citizens. that is, they must "breed"and at least produce 2 kids to aid our dwindling nation. if they have male kids, then he must serve NS. only after all that have been adhered to are they allowed to emigrate to another country.

if not, i believe every singaporeans would feel short-changed and taken for a ride :(

agree?

this could be a fact cos my li'l brother leetahsar would be having a new viet boy sponsored scholar as the new tenant. his weird FT IT tenant has quit the place after getting his sg citizen. he's planning migration soon.

Your brother bobby is lucky to have a live in bf soon. A lot of Viet men are gays. Don't believe, go vietfun chatroom and check it out :D

usually scholarship should be given to own people first if they qualify. then balance give to outsiders.

strangely, gov plans the life paths for those "outsider" FT scholars with the probability that they would not stay put to breed for the country. how many such played-out cases does sgp experience until now? would the gov ever gonna disclose such national embarrassment?

ME no understand too. I spoke to an Indian girl on SIA sch'ship n
she tells me her heart is not here n dont like it here. Will leave after.

They are recruiting those left overs or 2nd grade students that fail to enter their country top university. Heard of no fish prawns also can.

a NUS lecturing pal just revealed to me that our gov is giving scholarship to foreign students as ulu as vietnam, cambodia and all those very drawback countries. one of the conditions would be to bond the FT student with a few years work contract in singapore. later, those FT grads would be given priority to become PR, then singapore citizens. in the process, gov tempts them with more goodies to stay put.

cos if they give scholarships to FT students, then obviously now singaporean kids would have been sacrificed and deprived of such benefits?

i think the gov should add a final compulsory conditions to sponsored FT scholars when they wanna to be sgp citizens. that is, they must "breed"and at least produce 2 kids to aid our dwindling nation. if they have male kids, then he must serve NS. only after all that have been adhered to are they allowed to emigrate to another country.

if not, i believe every singaporeans would feel short-changed and taken for a ride :(

agree?

one very obvious excess is in sports scholarship especially those given to PRC table-tennis players. they come sgp with a bat and could be planning to return prc as millionaires. what does singapore end up with? a few pieces of lesser than $100 medals?

Maybe, it's due to free trade agreements. The SG govt promises to set aside a certain number of scholarships for overseas students. In exchange, Singapore/Temasek gets to invest in those countries.

one very obvious excess is in sports scholarship especially those given to PRC table-tennis players. they come sgp with a bat and could be planning to return prc as millionaires. what does singapore end up with? a few pieces of lesser than $100 medals?

The imbeciles in charge of managing sports have their KPIs to meet. Their bonuses are probably directly tied to the performance of the national squads in international tournaments. After their miserable failures in attracting true blue Sinkies to take up sports as a career and developing the existing budding talents to their potential, the only thing these pea brains can devise is to import foreigners, give them citizenship, and draft them into our national teams. They are just covering their lazy fat asses and protecting their bonuses.

SACK THESE BUGGERS!

Please lah... they come with table-tennis bat and leave with a HDB flat nia... which table-tennis player is a millionaire???

agree?

Many of these scholarships for foreign students have been in place since the 70s. The idea is to attract foreign talents as in... real talent. I can vouch that this is a successful measure which caused a brain-drain from Matland.