Why Ip Man Was Shown On ND? Because LKY Loves It!

Last evening, straight after NDP telecast, Ip Man was shown on TV.

After Foshan fell under Japanese occupation, Ip Man had a disciple who turned translator for Japanese soldiers. When Ip Man found out, he was very angry and slapped him, "You lackey, don't you have any integrity?"

He replied, "I'm not a lackey; I'm just a translator. I need to eat and live too." Later, he did use his translator position to help Ip Man and other Chinese, his character being reportrayed as a victim and somewhat hero.

What the fuck does Internet Protocol (IP) have to do with a Kungfu flick?????

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
:D

Sounds like LKY during his translator days, which he betrayed many....

Later he felt so guilty that he became the PM of SGP...and build HDB flats for everybody....:D

LKY is not bad in some way....without his visions and many other Singaporeans efforts....I cannot study and work overseas....he just need to retire and admit political plurarism is good and healthy for a developed society.....:D

You want to 'suck eggs' suck properly...before HDB was the SINgapore Improvement Trust..aka SIT...they build flats you see in Upper Pickering Street ( now demolished) & many places...there were already municipal flats in Mosque Street...etc..

HDB isn't exactly LKY idea....it was needed for an expanding population.....:(

After Foshan fell under Japanese occupation, Ip Man had a disciple who turned translator for Japanese soldiers. When Ip Man found out, he was very angry and slapped him, "You lackey, don't you have any integrity?"

He replied, "I'm not a lackey; I'm just a translator. I need to eat and live too." Later, he did use his translator position to help Ip Man and other Chinese, his character being reportrayed as a victim and somewhat hero.

Ip Man should be banned in Singapore for the innuendo !

210px-President_of_Singapore_SR_Nathan.jpg

me also, "I'm not a lackey; I'm just a translator. I need to eat and live too."

Ip Man should be banned in Singapore for the innuendo !

What ban? The movie should be awarded a national honorary star like best cultural film award or something. Donnie Yen should be awarded Temasek Star First Class. He still won't outshine Lee Kuan Yew anyway, awarded Rising Sun First Class.

ISD should arrest Donnie Yen. Remember to bring stun gun, because Donnie Yen is an expert in Yong Chun fist.

No lah...they show ip man for the sake of Ah Tiongs community in sinkapore.
More than 500,000 Ah tiongs....itz time to reward them a 2 hrs movie.

:o :( :o

No lah...they show ip man for the sake of Ah Tiongs community in sinkapore.
More than 500,000 Ah tiongs....itz time to reward them a 2 hrs movie.

:o :( :o

Ah Tiongs are not impressed at all with Wing Chun lah! To them, it's just one of the less popular martial arts. The major ones are Shaolin, the 3 internal arts (Tai Chi, Bagua and Xingyi), Hongjia Quan etc. WC is only popular in HK and the western countries.

this one should be the most practical of chinese martial arts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sanshou

Ip Man 's china wife was quite pretty :D

Ip man is for show only... U think he can defeat the Japanese n they still allow him to stay alive meh!

Every Chinese love to see their fellow country man kick the ass of the Japanese.

fistoffuryb.jpg

李小龙:"我不是东亚病夫"!

Ip man is for show only... U think he can defeat the Japanese n they still allow him to stay alive meh!

Of course the Japanese were hunting for him. Ip Man (the man not the movie) did kill some Japanese and fled to HK, where he eventually opened a martial arts school. Bruce Lee, who began as a street fighter without disciplined training, enrolled in that school.

aiya, first and foremost, why would an educated Japanese armies with well verse English, Chinese & Japanese soldiers need a translator? BTW, who ever heard mm speaks Japanese?

Did the Japanese advertise for translator positions, or the locals just ask for it themselves?

shia-labeouf-paper-bag-head.jpg

I use to see drama, where the japanese soldiers lead a local traitor out with a paper bag covering his face to identify anti-japanese resistants, wonder if those are also translators?

the best scene not fighting scene. but ip man reject the food when he was locked up by the japanese and he said "you invaded my country, i dont appreciate your hypocrite!"

aiya, first and foremost, why would an educated Japanese armies with well verse English, Chinese & Japanese soldiers need a translator? BTW, who ever heard mm speaks Japanese?

Did the Japanese advertise for translator positions, or the locals just ask for it themselves?

I use to see drama, where the japanese soldiers lead a local traitor out with a paper bag covering his face to identify anti-japanese resistants, wonder if those are also translators?

All Japanese could read and write half of Chinese (with the common Kanji script), but very few could actually speak it in Chinese. There were many bona fide translators in China for China and Japan during the War. For both sides, they were sourced from Chinese with backgrounds of having studied in Japan before. Of course then, being on the Chinese side (lower pay) was honored patriotism and on the Japanese side (higher pay) branded treachery.

For a non-Japanese (especially from direct enemy side) to qualify as a Japanese war translator, the language proficiency and measure of loyalty had to be satisfied. As for Lee Kuan Yew and S.R. Nathan, I've never heard of them speak a word of Japanese before, or having any background of studies in Japan before.

don't know but anyway my grandfather used to drive lorry truck for Japan army during singapore WWII. I was told ( don't know true or not), the Japs entered the villages as per routine, he was caught and forced to drive lorry. After that incident, he was a Jap army lorry driver for a short period.

maybe he should tell them - your army so big and powerful, nobody to drive lorry? must get me to drive. :D

don't know but anyway my grandfather used to drive lorry truck for Japan army during singapore WWII. I was told ( don't know true or not), the Japs entered the villages as per routine, he was caught and forced to drive lorry. After that incident, he was a Jap army lorry driver for a short period.

maybe he should tell them - your army so big and powerful, nobody to drive lorry? must get me to drive. :D
Maybe Imperial Japan also want "cheaper, better and faster" foreign talent drivers.

Some Japs have short legs so they cannot drive lorries.. They may not be able to reach the accelerators or brake.. :D:D