• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why GLCs employ so many Foreigner customer service staff ?

batman1

:DWhy SingTel employ so many Filipino customer service staff ?
Most of the time,they call up to promote a new product or service and we don't know what they are mumbling about.U mean Singaporeans cannot do this type of job ?Then our education system is useless and should be thrown into the gutter !
Why DBS employ so many Filipino customer service staff ?
Most of the time don't know what they are talking about,don't know they are talking in Tagalog or English
and they want to promote credit card and insurance policies .Once,a lady Filipino called up to say whether "I need accident ? " After some clarifications,she meant "personal accident policy ".WTF,u mean Singaporeans cannot do this type of job ? Then all our education in Singapore is useless and should be thrown into the gutter !
KNNCCB to the PAP !
KNNCCB to the 60 % !:D

Cheap jobs deserve cheap employees.

Being a call center monkey has a low barrier to entry, and it's a dead end job.

Cheap ! Their salary $2k and below no need to pay CPF and best of all not maternity leave.

:DWhy SingTel employ so many Filipino customer service staff ? ...

Why DBS employ so many Filipino customer service staff ? ...
pinoys staffs r chip ... lidat can save a lot of moni 4 singtel n dbs ... lidat can gif mor bonus 2 chareholders lor! ... lidat ah loon can haf mor bonus mah! ...

u want dem 2 dun employ pinoys? ... lidat where 2 find chip staff? ... where 2 save moni? ... u want dem 2 mov their operations out of sinkieland, ah? ... :eek:

proven again GLCs run by Singaporeans are daft. Al they can do is to copycat other country ideas and buy in packages and cheap without finding it can be use in Singapore.

pinoys staffs r chip ... lidat can save a lot of moni 4 singtel n dbs ... lidat can gif mor bonus 2 chareholders lor! ... lidat ah loon can haf mor bonus mah! ...

u want dem 2 dun employ pinoys? ... lidat where 2 find chip staff? ... where 2 save moni? ... u want dem 2 mov their operations out of sinkieland, ah? ... :eek:

Most of the time,they call up to promote a new product or service and we don't know what they are mumbling about.U mean Singaporeans cannot do this type of job ?Then our education system is useless and should be thrown into the gutter !
Most of the time don't know what they are talking about,don't know they are talking in Tagalog or English
and they want to promote credit card and insurance policies .Once,a lady Filipino called up to say whether "I need accident ? " After some clarifications,she meant "personal accident policy ".WTF,u mean Singaporeans cannot do this type of job ? Then all our education in Singapore is useless and should be thrown into the gutter !
KNNCCB to the PAP !

1. honest, whenever i hear a pinoy on the line.
2. i just drop it off!
3. cannot be bother to listen further its mumbling or noise.
4. totally, pinoys cmi hoh!

KNNCCB to the PAP !

so when private companies see govt doing it..........they will follow...........

Dear batman1:

I would say that these jobs are not desired by locals, who prefer to be in executive level jobs. Among other Asians, because English is the language reqqired here, Philippinos are the choice (can't imagine Ah Nehs or Ah Tiongs doing this). Where product/service knowledge is concerned, it is the function of the employer to train them up for it, and select those who are competent.

On the other things mentioned, I agree with you - the education system should be thrown into the gutter, and also KNNBCCB to the gahmen and those who helped put them there.

KNNCCB to the PAP !

Sinkies should be made to study the concept of "negative externalities" in schools. Employers demand cheap labour and foreigners supply cheap labour. Therefore, everything is hunky dory? If they enjoy working and living with pinoys so much, why don't they fucking relocate to Manila? After all, who cares about the quality of life. The purpose of making money is to make money. :rolleyes:

Dear batman1:

I would say that these jobs are not desired by locals, who prefer to be in executive level jobs. Among other Asians, because English is the language reqqired here, Philippinos are the choice (can't imagine Ah Nehs or Ah Tiongs doing this). Where product/service knowledge is concerned, it is the function of the employer to train them up for it, and select those who are competent.

On the other things mentioned, I agree with you - the education system should be thrown into the gutter, and also KNNBCCB to the gahmen and those who helped put them there.

I have worked with Filipino engineers and professionals and I can say that our Singapore-English (Singlish) is better standard than the Tagalog-English.
I came across a PRC civil engineer whose English only seconday school standard but was enrolled in the NUS MBA course FOC,sponsored by NUS and he does not know anything about balance sheet and finance.
Alright,let's repeat the right thing to condemn the PAP. KNNCCB to the PAP ! KNNCCB to the 60% !

Call centre? hard to find call centres in singapore, most outsourced to India & Philippines..

My company uses OCBC bank and every time we call their business hotline, it is locals answering the phone.

I think their call centre is 100% staffed by locals, because we call them quite often and not one time answered by a foreigner.

Not only are they all locals, they are damn knowledgeable. I think OCBC really put in effort to train their call centre staff, really very impressed with them.

By the way, I'm not related to OCBC, how i wish i am :)

My company uses OCBC bank and every time we call their business hotline, it is locals answering the phone.

I think their call centre is 100% staffed by locals, because we call them quite often and not one time answered by a foreigner.

Not only are they all locals, they are damn knowledgeable. I think OCBC really put in effort to train their call centre staff, really very impressed with them.

Thats good unlike a certain bank with so many customers that has a shit skin head that even its locker safety deposit boxes got broken into

Corporate account sure local.
They dont want FT damage their reputation. Everything dont know.
Bank will put FT for telemarketing personal loan/offer credit card/insurance..............

I can say this.. not all call centres are outside SG.. and some (so-called call centres.. cos inside company one) haf pinoys who haf titles as Cust Svc Executives and earn above 2k (on paper.. duno take home or actual is how much).

But.. I agreewith TS.. I CAN'T UNDERSTAND MOST OF WHAT PINOYS SAY..EVEN WHEN THEY SAY THEY ARE SPEAKING ENGLISH.

honestly, when u read or hear employers that give --> "Sporeans dun wan to do..".. I rarely believe them nowadays.. last time.. maybe.. but not now when there are so many feedback from PMEs and even fresh grads who can't secure jobs.

The shortcut is to employ foreigners.. it's the fastest.. and at most times.. the cheapest alternative.
But did the employers and biz owners actually look into WHY the job does not appeal to SG locals?
If i hear or read them say "not of high status", i feel like slapping them.
Give real figures on how many gave that response, and also be transparent on the figures of those who don't want to do the job, why, and also on those who did.. but left.

Since the gahmen likes to do and show statistics so much.. let's go down this road and ask them for REAL HARD FACTS!
I bet wif u, 99% will not dare disclose the true picture.. cos most jus wan to save on hiring costs.. and jus skip over the local and hire the foreigner.. and sometimes can even "force" the foreigner to further wage cuts.

Bro batman is correct in asking, "cust svc jobs in call centre no sg local wan?"
Think of it this way, sit in air-con office (albeit small and cramped workspace.. maybe not for all), sit and take calls, no nid to stand.. no nid to do much running around.. just tok, type on pc screen, whether in-house software, bought programs, or use simple MS office.. NO SG LOCAL WAN??!!!

PUI!!! They are not telling the truth la!!!
and to resound bro batman's last few words in his starting posts... FARK THE GAHMEN, FARK THE 60%!!