• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why are asian countries so cramped?

Even in 1st world countries like japan it's so crowded especially in tokyo for eg. The birth rate of japan is falling yet it's so damn crowded and it's a 1st world country. Other places like hong kong, shanghai, singapore etc all have such limited space. Especially HK it's 1st world and yet damnnit they somehow love to squeeze ppl into small spaces.

Contrast this with western countries. The US has population that's 3 or 4 times smaller than china. I bet no city in any european country is as crowded as tokyo pls correct me if i'm wrong.

Is there some sort of mindset of asians that they don't really need much space and decide to crowd around?

same la everywhere in the main cities..london..paris..etc all packed also...only thing about all these countries is that the people got the option to go suburbs or countryside to have some fresh air coz the country is huge..SG?? dont have la..

Even in 1st world countries like japan it's so crowded especially in tokyo for eg. The birth rate of japan is falling yet it's so damn crowded and it's a 1st world country. Other places like hong kong, shanghai, singapore etc all have such limited space. Especially HK it's 1st world and yet damnnit they somehow love to squeeze ppl into small spaces.

Contrast this with western countries. The US has population that's 3 or 4 times smaller than china. I bet no city in any european country is as crowded as tokyo pls correct me if i'm wrong.

Is there some sort of mindset of asians that they don't really need much space and decide to crowd around?

It's punishment for keeping birds in little cages.

most stupid asians forget to put the cover on while doing "business"

also think children are god sent..

In under developed nations they need to have many children because of the higher mortality rates of the young. The children are also seen as investments for older age as the young are expected to look after the old.

It's not just about population size. There are at least two other factors.

The first is opportunity. In most Asian countries, especially under-developed ones like China, India, Indonesia and Pakistan, the rural areas are very far behind the cities in terms of opportunities, living standards and personal freedom. People flock to the cities whenever they get an opportunity.

By contrast, the farmers in the West have for generations secured their political rights and thus ensured their own living standards.

For Japan, this is only part of the explanation. Although Japan has much land, very little of it is suitable for large scale urban development - it is mostly mountainous and volcanic. Because of this, populations have tended to gather at the two places (some say one large space), the Kanto (Tokyo) and Kansai (Osaka-Kobe, etc.) plains. Incidentally, this massive concentration of people is also the reason Japan has the most efficient public transportation system in the world.

bro, agreed with u. but i got another point, atleast other asia countries got place to stay away from the crowded city. but sillypore simply no where to hide!

Eh, how about go up north? JB? Malaca? Penang? Heaps of space there.

50,000 Sinkees in 1 sq km !

is that a world record?

For country Singapore density is rank 3rd almost par with Hong Kong.
Hong Kong in consider density is higher because only less than 50% area/land is use other because is because many hill are too steep. Not like Singapore highest land less than 150m and almost 70% land use.
For city density Singapore not even in the top 10 ranking.

One of the primary reasons is geography. Japan is 70% mountainous as is China. What happens is the population tends to crowd around flat plains, such as the Kanto Plain. That's why it is super crowded.

Japan is only crowded in the metropolis region. In the suburbs and rural areas it is loosely populated, much less crowded than Singapore now.

There's no such thing as limited space in Singapore, rather, there is greed to put the economy on steroids by making it a white collar sweatshop of cheaper FTs and a financial hub (low interest rates to facilitate borrowing and debt).

asia has the largest land mass as a continent, and although much of it is not arable or mountainous, asians use that as a lame excuse to stick to one another as personal space does not exist and folks prefer to get close and smell each other's armpits and genitals. suburban sprawl, a healthy outdoor lifestyle with ample breathing space and country serenity, and a great quality of living are never important to the asian psyche until they see them in the west and start to ape the ang mo love of personal freedom, space, and "getting away from everybody else." unfortunately, only a small minority have the opportunity and money to travel and escape the toad's (not frog's :p) well. the rest have little choice but to put up with whatever is available to them in concentration and density: jobs, businesses, housing, food, etc. the wealthy have their space while the working have their tight spaces. only in sg that the working class has the opportunity to live in spaces away from extreme concentration and density, otherwise known as the "ghetto" in many other asian cities. sinkies, therefore, should consider themselves lucky for a pap gov to have the vision to promote gentrification and encourage and "force" the de-densification of the population from the city center to new towns, and to have the temerity to balance and distribute demographics across the entire island. no matter what shit you wish to throw at the pap and hdb, that was a great achievement, culturally, economically, and politically. digressing from their asian brethens, they broke the toad's well and allowed generations of toads to breathe, see, and live a more equitable space. pap is da best! :D

Asia is so cramped because there is 1.3 billion yellow China man and 1.1 billion shitskin on this earth.now I know that god doesn't exist because god would not create so many disgusting pests on this world.now I'm not a religious man myself like Lee con you but I believe in the bible there's a passage that says when the time is neigh,the gates of hell will be opened and the legions of hell will descend upon the 4 corners of god's kingdom.I believe that has already happened and Singapore and Australia and nz and Canada and many countries has already been overruned.now we can only pray for salvation and a bullet thru Lee hsoen loong(Judas) skull before all is lost.

I think that is becos European countries were cramped last time and so went to search and conquer new land USA, Australia, NZ and now that they set history and transported part of their population to new land they can enjoy space. While Asian countries like China was peace loving and contented with their seemingly huge land area then and now with population bursting no choice but have no space.

Well every Singaporeans can have the opportunities to move away from the crowd.

Why haven't they done it?