• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why American Fast Food workers go on strike and how it was organised....

TopSage

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/23wLasGH1CE?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

1. American fast food workers make US$7.25 an hour which is the minimum wage.
After much wrangling, Obama managed to push minimum wage to US$9 per hour in some states for 2016.

2. US fast food workers feel that these wages are too low because they are living in poverty unable to raise their families.

3. Most America cities are cheaper to live in than Singapore which is one of the most expensive cities in the world.

4. In Singapore fast food restaurants pay $5-$6 per hour. This is US$3.9 to US$4.7....505-80% lower than American workers today.

5. So what is it like working as a fast food worker in Singapore?

Years ago I was working in a fast food restaurant. I still have many friends from those years working in fast food. I made many friends with these honest hardworking people. The fact is they live in poverty. Many do not earn enough to raise a family. Imagine in the US where you can buy a 2nd car for US$4000 and pump petrol at a fraction of what we pay...their houses are cheaper in suburbs just outside the city where their fast food workers can live. They make 50%-80% more than a Singapore fast food worker who is the lowest paid fast food worker in the developed world living in one of the most expensive city in the world ....yet they go on strike because life is so hard. ...then we must ask ourselves what is life like for a fast food worker in Singapore...it is much tougher.

That is why I left to be a full time trader but not everyone is so lucky to be able to leave their fast food job and they are stuck at the bottom of this 3rd world wage structure that the PAP has created. The PAP is not going to do anything about it because their claim is earning $1000 per month is sufficient to buy a home and raise a family....so there is no need to too much for these Singaporeans. I would really like to see a PAP minister prove his claim that $1000 can do so much ....

Maybe the American fast food workers will succeed to get a fair wage and form a union, maybe they will fail ...but at least they tried.....my point is this, nothing will change unless you make the effort to bring about a change. The Americans understand this so they try to tip the balance. The PAP set up a system in which anyone who tries to make a change to improve his life will be jailed and harshly punished - we have to live in fear, under suppression, as life get tougher. This leave many Singaporeans with only one choice ....the ballot box, that's why the PAP suppress and bully the opposition so they get re-elected even though the lives of Singaporeans are getting worse.

The PAP is not going to do anything about it because their claim is earning $1000 per month is sufficient to buy a home and raise a family....so there is no need to too much for these Singaporeans. I would really like to see a PAP minister prove his claim that $1000 can do so much ....

Please show me a report or news that PAP minister say what u post to support your claim.

Hello can u understand simple English or you twist n turn the minister words?

Responding to concerns expressed by non-constituency member of parliament (NCMP) Gerald Giam in Thursday's session about Singaporeans being unable to afford a flat here, Tharman said that families with household incomes of just $1,000 can now purchase one.

Purchase a flat dun mean a home and raise a family.

A flat is different from a home.

A flat dun mean u can raise a family.

Responding to concerns expressed by non-constituency member of parliament (NCMP) Gerald Giam in Thursday's session about Singaporeans being unable to afford a flat here, Tharman said that families with household incomes of just $1,000 can now purchase one.

The minister must be a fool to say after you afford your flat you have no money to raise a family. Like that I also can say Singaporeans can all afford a Gucci handbag everyweek (after that have no money for food!).
Are you calling Tharman a fool? Besides the article say it is HOUSEHOLD income, you mean ONE HOUSEHOLD is one person?!!!!

In case you have difficulty reading English:

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/4X61EJk3oaM?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

"....a family with an of $1000 with subsidy can purchase a flat..." so now you're calling Tharman a FOOL...a family with $1000 can afford a flat after that CANNOT RAISE THE FAMILY ...no more food?!!!!

The minister must be a foo to say after you afford your flat you have no money to raise a family. Like that I also can say Singaporeans call all afford a Gucci handbag everyweek (after that have no money for food).
Are you call Tharman a fool?

u really a fool, a single also can buy a 2rm BTO with S$1,000, and he can live single for his whole life.

U really dun understand simple English.

u like to twist n turn peoples words and put words into peoples mouth too.

why and how to organize not important....................

people must have the guts to do it otherwise no use...................

if this happen in S'pore leh, all workers will be back at work within 30mins...............with a raise of 50cents an hour

Kenneth, stop arguing over semantics, it's getting pathetic to read.

If it's too chym for you, maybe I can better explain in hokkien for you, 'MAI KONG WU KONG BO LEI...'

I know, I'm too kind, I think so too. My heart always goes out to the less fortunate, uneducated people who have problem reading and understanding simple English, people who kena marginalised by our government and still damn happy about it, people like you. I do sincerely hope you enjoy staying in your one room flat, because that's probably your lot in life.

if this happen in S'pore leh, all workers will be back at work within 30mins...............with a raise of 50cents an hour

LKY was one smart fuck, he jailed all the labour agitators, replaced them with NTUC and filled them with cronies and 'yes' men. He followed it up, with his autocratic laws that made strikes practically illegal.

What we have now is a farce of union, with a secretary-general intent on stealing quality toothpicks, an organisation that toes the government line almost all the time, which concentrates more on running supermarkets, jackpot machine parlours and insurance companies.

Let's face it, guts to do it will likely coincide with a lengthy jail term.

u really a fool, a single also can buy a 2rm BTO with S$1,000, and he can live single for his whole life.

U really dun understand simple English.

u like to twist n turn peoples words and put words into peoples mouth too.

Watch the video lah...Tharman said FAMILY...your logic is Family = Single...you gone case lah you!

The way Kenneth writes,now it is a high possibility that he writes full time for a good living,meaning serving a rich paymaster for his non-logic writing

singapore' s inequality is due to inequality in power

the PAP once it came into power strip the workers and people iof their rights and power.
without power the PAP and commercial.interests to whixh.it is linked can easily exploit the ordinary.pple
who are now experiencing hardship.and struggles.

Watch the video lah...Tharman said FAMILY...your logic is Family = Single...you gone case lah you!

u listen carefully, with subsidy, and not only S$1,000 u mention. after subsidy the 2rm BTO only cost u S$16k, if I am not wrong, with 25yrs loan how much a month?