• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Who to blame – PAP or 60.1% Daft Voters?

The easiest way to look at whether your life now is better compared to your parents time is simply to look at the non-essential material pple now own
Your logic is exactly the same as pappies. Like to compare with the worst but never compare with the best. Ministar pay is the best example and pappies will shamelessly give stupid excuses.
Got smartphone, tablets and travel means better. How many Sinkees buy smartphone without contracts? And more importantly, how many Sinkees have to work their whole life to pay for their pigeonholes?

Your logic is exactly the same as pappies. Like to compare with the worst but never compare with the best. Ministar pay is the best example and pappies will shamelessly give stupid excuses.
Got smartphone, tablets and travel means better. How many Sinkees buy smartphone without contracts? And more importantly, how many Sinkees have to work their whole life to pay for their pigeonholes?

Well said....do a check and see how many 'well to do' middle class are swimming in debt and how many of those HDB heartlanders pay for items in installments

You got quite a few points there. Shit. The teleco contracts have to be fair.

The easiest way to look at whether your life now is better compared to your parents time is simply to look at the non-essential material pple now own

I dun wan quote da rest of ur post la
u oledi put NON-ESSENTIAL,
meaning not reali important.. spend so much on non-important thing is better?
n how many sg ppl haf wat u mention?
i dun see EVERYONE having wad u say leh

elderly haf to work for income.. y? (others haf olso posted dis question)
y price of public housing (HDB) rise so much in these years?
y living costs keep rising? inflation? others haf noticed even in USA, some stuff r cheaper den here.. n not rice n beef hor.

.. hmm.. r u in the 60.1% group/category? Im just asking

Most people see dignity in working so as to pay for the better-things-in-life. It certainly beats being a jobless PMET, of which there are increasing such individuals. So, there is nothing wrong in that.

I doubt there are many people who become oppo supporters simply because they have to pay to buy their smartphones, tablets, vacations etc.

Most people see dignity in working so as to pay for the better-things-in-life. It certainly beats being a jobless PMET, of which there are increasing such individuals. So, there is nothing wrong in that.

I doubt there are many people who become oppo supporters simply because they have to pay to buy their smartphones, tablets, vacations etc.

Dignity in working. You selling it ike those white bastards......tell it to the ah Peks and ah Mahs picking up cardboard drink cans and tissue paper sellers. As for jobless pmet.....count how many are displaced by FTs

I don't think those ah pek and ah mah are picking up cardboard & drink cans to buy smartphones and tablets. Why use an extreme example of cardboard-picking ah pek & ah mah to make a point? Even if they are oppo supporters are they of such numbers to make a difference to the oppo cause?

The recent survey of NUS undergrads political choices, though unscientific and inaccurate, is still a better reflection of reality.

Last time(long,.. long time) the PAP could boast of winning 90+% of votes. That's why they made voting mandatory because they wanted to show that they had support.

Now they have to work hard to "fix" the opposition, use gerrymandering, use their media to obfuscate the issues, break the polling laws, threaten the electorate, use bribery, ..... who knows what other dirty tricks they pull.

Despite all this they have been losing support:rolleyes:

Last time(long,.. long time) the PAP could boast of winning 90+% of votes. That's why they made voting mandatory because they wanted to show that they had support.

Now they have to work hard to "fix" the opposition, use gerrymandering, use their media to obfuscate the issues, break the polling laws, threaten the electorate, use bribery, ..... who knows what other dirty tricks they pull.

Not sure where you got that 90+% figure from. If you look at the 1972 GE, PAP averaged above 70%.
http://www.eld.gov.sg/elections_past_parliamentary1972.html

As far as I know, voting since 1965 has always been mandatory.

As to your other points, why is it that in many other countries the voters do not get cowed or intimidated or bullied so easily?

singapore no opinion polls. i'm quite curious what are the voting trend by various age groups last GE. especially the 21-35 age. if the young people also voted 60-40 in favor of PAP then this is really a hopeless cause for the opposition.

did the opposition do any scientific opinion polls, not straw polls before last GE ?

Not sure where you got that 90+% figure from. If you look at the 1972 GE, PAP averaged above 70%.
http://www.eld.gov.sg/elections_past_parliamentary1972.html

As far as I know, voting since 1965 has always been mandatory.

As to your other points, why is it that in many other countries the voters do not get cowed or intimidated or bullied so easily?

Dun use selective stats only when they suit you la....
Why pap polled 60.1% but hold 81 out of 87 seats? Tan Cheng Bock polled 88% winning margin in 2001....not exactly 90+% but close enough.
Why 60% sinkies get cowed and intimidated easily? Many can provide long list of reasons...need tony to list out for you?

Dun use selective stats only when they suit you la....
Why pap polled 60.1% but hold 81 out of 87 seats? Tan Cheng Bock polled 88% winning margin in 2001....not exactly 90+% but close enough.
Why 60% sinkies get cowed and intimidated easily? Many can provide long list of reasons...need tony to list out for you?

The DPP is considered a joke. And that is just 1 seat. Yet, the previous forummer made a sweeping claim, and I wondered where he got the 90+% from.

Our parliamentary system is drawn from the first-past-the-post system. If TCB had won the PE over TT with just 1 vote, this would not be an issue with anyone.

Sinkies are cowed and intimidated because they are cowards, and their lives are not even at risk. In many countries people's lives are at risk and yet that does not stop them from standing up to bullies. Why excuse a people's pronounced national trait of cowardice plus selfishness? These traits are less evident in many other countries. And this is the real issue. Ignorance and stupidity are not real issues; they are just merely excuses.

The answer is there and clear , the daft 60.1 , there is no smoke without a fire.

Not sure where you got that 90+% figure from. If you look at the 1972 GE, PAP averaged above 70%....

I am really surprised that they only had support in the 70's%
I got the impression it was more. However when I was younger I relied on the Straits Times for my news:o That may explain why I was mislead :o

This thread.. is like so wasteful.

The very good and popular saying goes, "you REAP what you SOW"

Guess what? Pappies got the "fantastic" result from their "herding" techniques.. and prohibitive measures on social and political activness in the sg people.

so much so that even within their ranks.. sheeps can be recognised.. they too have said before, "good ppl are hard to find".

Well, they done "too good" a job.. didn't they think ahead to actually visualize this??

Please don't waste any more time pondering. Yes, the 60+% are still confused and perhaps sleeping.. but I feel it is the FAP who made them snug and tucked them in nicely in the first place.