• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Which is more inhuman - Shoebox or $1,700 psf 99-yr suburb in heartland, Mr Liew?

"TELL me what is more inhuman? Giving a young person an opportunity to buy an affordable first apartment in a good location, or making people cough up $1,700 psf for a 99-year leasehold residential unit in the suburbs or HDB townships?"

That was the reaction of Oxley Holdings boss Ching Chiat Kwong when asked about recent arguments against "shoebox apartments".

Oxley has been at the forefront of "shoebox" developments, with projects in locations within the city, in the Bukit Timah and East Coast areas and elsewhere around the island.

But in recent weeks, these apartments have been the subject of heated debate and discussions within property and official circles.

Two weeks ago, CapitaLand chief executive officer Liew Mun Leong said in a Bloomberg report that Singapore should curb the increasing trend of shoebox apartments.

"I am dead against shoebox developments," he said. "The government should intervene. Singapore's land is very precious and you are wasting your scarce resources (by building shoebox apartments)."

"It's almost inhuman, it's not good for the welfare of the family to feel that constrained," said Mr Liew, who, according to the report, grew up in a one-bedroom apartment with nine people and often slept along the corridor.

A week earlier, the government said that it was concerned that shoebox apartments were mushrooming in the country as private home sales surged to a three-year high with record purchases of units that are smaller than 500 sq ft.

Mr Ching said that "when a young man or woman leaves the parent's home for the first time, they want a nice affordable pad which provides adequate personal space".

"This is a first purchase. In time, they will upgrade, as they get married, and have children. But they can leverage on this first purchase to upgrade to a larger unit. Tell me, what is inhuman about that?"

His reference to $1,700 psf properties would not have been lost on buyers of CapitaLand's Sky Habitat in Bishan.

BT

I am trying to understand why he is speaking against shoebox units. Is there a conflict of his business interest?

That is what happen when you only have one person to speak up while the rest of the Sinkie taking up the rest of the day looking for their long lost balls.

retarded shit,
its our country not yours. dont kaypoh. fuck off.

We are going the way of Hongkong. Is there any choice? As a country develops, land tends to go up in price because more land is used. This is why land is expensive in developed country. So the next best solution is to introduce small parcels of land so that people can afford.

I am trying to understand why he is speaking against shoebox units. Is there a conflict of his business interest?

He is protecting his business.

"Two weeks ago, CapitaLand chief executive officer Liew Mun Leong said in a Bloomberg report that Singapore should curb the increasing trend of shoebox apartments."

This is conflict of interest.

Of course all speaking for own business.

Liew Mun Leong (Capitaland) and that Mr Cheng (Wing Tai) are whacking shoebox because their properties in the market are mostly above 500 sft.
Mr Ching (Oxley) is trying to get Oxley listed on mainboard and Oxley has 14 developments in the market with lots of shoebox units at prime locations. 11 of the 14 developments are 100% sold and the big boys are jealous.

I say all are arseholes. All are inhumane. But youngsters who buy them have only themselves to blame for their own stupidity.

Shoebox apartments is not unlike hawker stalls giving you smaller amount of rice/noodle, giving you one less fishball, one less dumpling etc, while keeping the price unchanged.

The underlying problem has not been solved: there is massive inflation in Singapore right now, and the government is not giving a flying fuck about it.
They don't care, or don't know what to do about it... or they're the ones causing it.

The underlying problem has not been solved: there is massive inflation in Singapore right now, and the government is not giving a flying fuck about it.
They don't care, or don't know what to do about it... or they're the ones causing it.
why should they care or bother? As long as the figure remains at 60.1% then they are set for life.

When a Singaporean pontificates to you the morality of certain matters, you can be sure that he has nothing but his own selfish interests in mind. Consider yourselves warned. :)

Of course all speaking for own business.

Liew Mun Leong (Capitaland) and that Mr Cheng (Wing Tai) are whacking shoebox because their properties in the market are mostly above 500 sft.
Mr Ching (Oxley) is trying to get Oxley listed on mainboard and Oxley has 14 developments in the market with lots of shoebox units at prime locations. 11 of the 14 developments are 100% sold and the big boys are jealous.

I say all are arseholes. All are inhumane. But youngsters who buy them have only themselves to blame for their own stupidity.

Both are doing legal business. Each of them provides alternative options for private buyers.
Both putting money down to earn money. Nothing wrong with them.

The irony is that he who is condemning shoebox units is one of the reasons why they are in such high demand.