• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

where is your favourite mc donald outlet?

you never go there long time already. the whole lion city hotel has been taken down. the seng siong and kopitiam next to it also gone.
the oldest building there before demolition should be the Hollywood cinema

Re: I Think BK Is Heathier

The cinema with Orange Julius was Regal Cinema under Cathay, it is located next to the former HDB main office. It also had a McDonald but it ceased operation in 2010. Right now, this cinema is being demolished.
Yes Regal. HDB is gone, swimming pool also gone, the Oriental is now NTUC.

the oldest building there before demolition should be the Hollywood cinema

hollywood cinema brings a lot of memories. when i was in sec school i used to buy just 1 ticket and bring my younger brother along for afternoon shows. no choice because not much $ then. the uncle there collecting the tics will close 1 eye and let me in. after the cinema closed, in its place is a church, then later become seng siong. dont know whats going to happen after this, maybe another condo. :(

No idea where to find claypot rice in BKK...

Clementi one....New Lucky Claypot Chicken Rice. Blk 328 Clementi Ave 2 #01-220. Tel: 6778 7808. Opening Hours: 12 noon - 1.30pm, 5pm - 8.30pm, Off on Wednesdays

This evening with a friend who lives in Holland Drive and was telling him I wanna go Clementi to have the claypot rice he told me its moved out to the Holland Drive market 2nd floor where the hawker centre is. He told me the market is block 44 Holland Drive. Please update everybody.

Oh I almost forget, he told me that its not as delicious as before and the owner is very "tao" now a day.

Re: Liat Tower Was The First One In 1979

man i use to luv the original A&W drive-in on dunearn rd opp. the old university bukit timah campus now nus law fac n lky school...mama n papa burgers; chili con carne wif crackers; chicken in the basket; fresh waffles wif vanilla ice cream; ice chilled root bear glasses filled wif root bear n vanilla ice cream...not forgetting those coney dogs every tuesday being coney dog day...n this drive-in was true 50s americana style type where u parked yr car in the side slots wound down the window n the staff attached a tray to the car window to serve the food...kinda like fm a scene in 'happy days' at arnold's...v sad that a&w cld not build sustain their biz in sin...

recall when macs first set up at liat towers...the queues were unbelievable...also grandma being brought in by grandchildren trying her v first ever hamburger...the shakes in those were even thicker than ones now...bob kwan really hit the jackpot on this one...when his dad first sent him to the hamburger uni his friends tot he was nuts...best investment ever...

also recall that jennie chua was offered a slice of the kfc franchise before it was set up in sin...she somehow tot it wld not work out...turned out to be her worse financial decision...

oh yes talking abt drive-ins...can anyone recall the open air cinema in jurong where u attached a speaker to the window of the car to enjoy the movie being screened on a super large screen...also had drive in style food...hot dogs n burgers...sometimes use to sit on the roof of my car to enjoy the screening...great times n happy days...

The 1990s were the golden era of fast food. Back then KFC and McDonalds were constantly trying to outdo each other with tit-for-tat promotions. McDonalds tried offering fried chicken. KFC had its unique Creole chicken and many interesting side orders (e.g. 'golden coins', onion rings). KFC also started the 'Colonel's country breakfast' to counter McDonald's breakfast menu.

Back then, BK's quality was better, and Long John Silver was not only very generous with its batter, its food was also not too salty, dry or burnt. Perhaps less outlets = better quality control, less complacency.

And no one can forget A&W with its waffles and root beer floats. My first taste of A&W food was at the zoo, back in the 1980s

luved the milano's joint in that old walk up flat apt block off holland grove road...strawberry shakes were damn shiok so too their all combo pizza wif soft fresh cooked egg floating ard wif the gooey stringy cheese...orange julius' hot dogs were quite nice...

Back then had more fast food choices....anyone remembers hardees, orange julius and pizza joints like milano's and shaky's?

Thanks for the update. Lucky thing you checked.

Owner Tao? No need patronize then...there are many other good ones around. But have to admit their soup also good.

Chinatown complex got a few good claypot rice stalls.
Another one in maxwell market.
Geylang lor 30+ (with good zhi char).
Beach road army market.

This evening with a friend who lives in Holland Drive and was telling him I wanna go Clementi to have the claypot rice he told me its moved out to the Holland Drive market 2nd floor where the hawker centre is. He told me the market is block 44 Holland Drive. Please update everybody.

Oh I almost forget, he told me that its not as delicious as before and the owner is very "tao" now a day.

luved the milano's joint in that old walk up flat apt block off holland grove road...strawberry shakes were damn shiok so too their all combo pizza wif soft fresh cooked egg floating ard wif the gooey stringy cheese...orange julius' hot dogs were quite nice...
milano's was special because the stores were all owner franchised like 7-11....so service was usually very personal.
Used to go with my girlfriend to the one in lucky plaza....the owners were a nice old couple, who added other home made dishes in their menu. The staff and regular customers were like family.

i also use to like the old plaza singapura during its yaohan days...top floor had the yamaha music school...dorame food court...yaohan supermkt...

Yeah Queensway Shopping Centre. Let's cherish the old shopping malls, for they may cease to exist in the near future.

City Plaza
Katong Shopping Centre
Thomson Plaza
Coronation Plaza
Beauty World
Bukit Timah Shopping Centre/Plaza
Queensway Shopping Centre
Far East Plaza
Holland Shopping Centre
Fu Lu Shou
Lucky Plaza
Golden Mile

i also use to like the old plaza singapura during its yaohan days...top floor had the yamaha music school...dorame food court...yaohan supermkt...
Swensen's was there....like going there to eat the earthquake.
Bought my first pair of soccer boots from uncle choo's diadora sport shop.
Americaya on the ground floor...
Think yaohan was the first to introduce food stalls concept in the basement

That's not their own car park unlike Kallang and AMK Park where 1st hr free.
Don't forget to put coupon.
If its own carpark they would like drive-thru liao...
Car dealers nearby used to make use of the kallang carpark...

hey i too use to like swensen's earthquake...also coit towers(think that was what it was called!)...

ah uncle choo's shop...bjorn borg was the top tennis player during those days...n uncle choo's brought in all bjorn borg's stuff...diadora shoes, fila shirt, shorts n socks n the donay raquets...

Swensen's was there....like going there to eat the earthquake.
Bought my first pair of soccer boots from uncle choo's diadora sport shop.
Americaya on the ground floor...

that holland drive market has a good kway chap stall too!

No, I think food stalls (food court) concept first start at Jumabhoy's Scotts shopping centre in the basement

The idea was taken from the popular one in Bangkok Sukhumvit road hotel, cannot remember the name, in the mid 70s

Agree that food court concept (aircon hawker center) began with Picnic @Scotts. ...remembered movenpick was next door. This was in the 80s.
I was referring to supermarkets (usually Japanese) that sold food (non hawker fare) at their basement. I think Yaohan pioneered that here much earlier.

Anyways did not realized food court concept was copied from LOS, always thot that MBK had the first food court then (circa mid 80s).

No, I think food stalls (food court) concept first start at Jumabhoy's Scotts shopping centre in the basement

The idea was taken from the popular one in Bangkok Sukhumvit road hotel, cannot remember the name, in the mid 70s

oh yes talking abt drive-ins...can anyone recall the open air cinema in jurong where u attached a speaker to the window of the car to enjoy the movie being screened on a super large screen...also had drive in style food...hot dogs n burgers...sometimes use to sit on the roof of my car to enjoy the screening...great times n happy days...

Thanks for the reminder PR, have fond memories of brother-in-law driving us there in his pickup or nissan bluebird to watch Bruce Lee and other shows.

JurongDriveInCinema.jpg

Thanks for the update. Lucky thing you checked.

Owner Tao? No need patronize then...there are many other good ones around. But have to admit their soup also good.

Chinatown complex got a few good claypot rice stalls.
Another one in maxwell market.
Geylang lor 30+ (with good zhi char).
Beach road army market.

Tomorrow I free I think will go Chinatown for claypot rice. Yes the ones in Chinatown Food Centre is very good I remembered.

Yeah Queensway Shopping Centre. Let's cherish the old shopping malls, for they may cease to exist in the near future.

City Plaza
Katong Shopping Centre . . . . . . . . . .

Just went Katong Shopping Centre this evening to buy 6 bottles of perfume for myself and wife and . . . . . . . friend recommended there because sell genuine perfume as frequented by SQ staff. Because I central guy so not familiar with this shopping centre found that there are like 20 maids agencies all over the place inside. Sad.

Queensway Shopping Centre is best remembered for our schoolday footballing gears, - jerseys and boots etc. We could order custom jerseys for a whole team then, not like now football jerseys are fashion wears.

Narong I remembered I was only 8-9 years old when it opened. Have fond memories of my late dad bringing me there to the basement food centre outside the check-out counters of the supermarket to eat fried chicken wings and I believe it was 60 cents at that time each. Best of the best chicken wings I've ever eaten. (Thank you dad)

that holland drive market has a good kway chap stall too!

Yes closed to the main road side of the market, I think its very very good.

Planing to go Ghim Moh market for breakfast tomorrow morning - eating the indian torsai best best