• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

where is your favourite mc donald outlet?

that is one reason i see americans sibeh up! i am very amazed by their marketing skills and branding.
if you ever met an american salesman, you will probably go "wow!", "really!", maciam very amazed!
but now, this don't work on me anymore.:p

if got chance, i like to know more about their marketing tactic and psychology.

Mac's is really on top of things in public concern which makes them the number one company in the world. Personally, their food is very ordinary (if not unhealthy, or to most it even sucks) - but I take my hat off to them for marketing. During the eighties (at the height of Reagan's popularity having rebuilt US confidence), I even saw a Mac's poster with an outlet in a Space Station brazenly showing the Golden Arches.

Sales/showmanship, presentations, smooth-talker, glib-tongue, fancy-talker - these are all in-built into the yankee commercial system. ALL their sales people hone their speech abilities, and at the very top of this pyramid are their evangelists, congressmen, and of course - Ze Prez. Like they say - he can sell refrigerators to the eskimos. Now, whether their goods can deliver as promised - that's another story. Maybe that's why the world has had enough of them. But the yanks hold money in one hand, the other hand wields a gun. Few others have any choice but to go along.

that is one reason i see americans sibeh up! i am very amazed by their marketing skills and branding.
if you ever met an american salesman, you will probably go "wow!", "really!", maciam very amazed!
but now, this don't work on me anymore.:p

if got chance, i like to know more about their marketing tactic and psychology.

i'd think:

cocacola,apple, mcD, starbucks...etc...they all have one thing in common, strong branding power. their ability to create impact on the minds of the masses is indeed through very good marketing skills and a bit of psychological manipulation(that's how i classify them):o

Sales/showmanship, presentations, smooth-talker, glib-tongue, fancy-talker - these are all in-built into the yankee commercial system. ALL their sales people hone their speech abilities, and at the very top of this pyramid are their evangelists, congressmen, and of course - Ze Prez. Like they say - he can sell refrigerators to the eskimos. Now, whether their goods can deliver as promised - that's another story. Maybe that's why the world has had enough of them. But the yanks hold money in one hand, the other hand wields a gun. Few others have any choice but to go along.

i'd think:

cocacola,apple, mcD, starbucks...etc...they all have one thing in common, strong branding power. their ability to create impact on the minds of the masses is indeed through very good marketing skills and a bit of psychological manipulation(that's how i classify them):o

Very true. A product like Coca-Cola, actually it is a piece of shit product - but it SELLS!!! Not just their drinks. Coca-Cola caps, T-shirts, memorabilia, you name it. Not all of their products are junk though - Quaker Oats, originally meant as horsefeed is a healthy and affordable product. Many times I do not see US as a high tech country, their strongest products are Campbell's soups and bases, Kellogg's cereals, Nescafe, Marlboro, and of course - junk fast food. However, the best of US is Hollywood - Star Wars, Star Trek, Disney Movies. The rest of the world far, far behind.

I think they opened their first branch at Liat Towers in 1978.

My favourite outlet is at Kallang. Coz after takeaway my coffee and a soft drink for the FL, it would be bonking time at the nearby carpark.

Was it Michael Kwan or Kwang who started the MacD franchise in SINgapore? The first MacD was at Liat Towers Orchard Rd., used to have a milk shake, sit by the windows & watch the girls go by..sigh!. It never 'ponded' there, back then. Then it became Isetan Liat Towers & later Benfood or was it, some trio or? the one that had the franchises for KFC, Pizza Hut, Burger King, owned Liat Towers, Burger King outlet was there for some time.

Sure missed, watching the girls go by on a large cup of millk shake...slurrpp!! both the shakes & the girls!:D

Mac franchise for Singapore was bought by Robert Kwan whose father Kwan Sai Keong was highly respected as the former Vice Chancellor of University of Singapore. Robert however never went to University. The first store at Liat Towers broke the world record for sales. Liat Tower Management believed it the location and booted out Mac and brought in BK and it never came close.

Mac philosphy is not food but property and its long term appreciation. Mac is also the first vendor to price according to location in SIngapore.

Robert became fabulously rich, owning a huge Yacht with a full time crew. His yacht would sail to places like the Andaman Islands and he would fly over and then heli on to the Yacht for diving, fishing and entertaining.

It was gold mine and Mac eventully bought back after Robert and his HK partner had enough.

His is indeed an unusual success story. He is a living witness on how materialistic Singaporeans are with hello kitty etc. At their prime, Mac continued to be the top advertiser in the media for many years. The advertising budget each year ran into millions.

After Bob Kwan finished his A level at ACS, he became a book-salesman.

He was given an ultimatum by his HK partner to sell to him his interest in Mac S'pore or else he was gonna expose him for a very serious crime.

Mac S'pore is now 100% owned by this Honkie chap.

The $30m 110 footer yatch is not solely owned by Bob Kwan. A certain Mr Tang (a very low profile S'porean bizman) owns 50% of it.

The regime must have got wind of Bob's scandal and that could be the reason he was never asked to perform anymore national services.

Re: I Think BK Is Heathier

Church's is back....used to go to the one at wisma.....recently wanted to relive memory and went to the one at nex but sadly disappointed. Now even popeye's is back....last time only got one outlet located at the airport.

Used to go for wendy's when in LOS to rekindle memories....used to pile up the salad at far east plaza. Tried the ones that came back in lau pa sat and Tampines....taste somewhat differs and no more salad buffet, my favourite chilli also taste different.

Back then had more fast food choices....anyone remembers hardees, orange julius and pizza joints like milano's and shaky's?

Really Church is back? But if its not aroi then must forget it. I used to frequent the Bt. Merah Central branch because of Doris, one of those I had a crush on. She's damn chio man.

yes, i know there is one in nex....if you into chicken then there is a few chicken joints like Broasters, Popeye's there as well.

Bt. Merah remembered they had the first 24 hours KFC...few doors away from the A&W's there....used to go to Dalit cinema which had an Orange Julius.

After the A&W at Clementi had closed down, a kopitiam (S-11) took its place. After that, the kopitiam too closed down. The shop space was vacated for some years, and now the entire block (Blk 445) is going to be demolished for enbloc.

This is the sand playground in front of the now vacant shop space:

https://intheweehours.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/old-clementi-playground/

I guessed lots of changes there. I used to live near Clementi Central inside Jln Lempeng. I kindda miss that place because of the food there like the famous rojak in coffeeshop, fried carrot cake in the morning in the hawker centre. Too bad I only live there for 4 years before moving to MacPherson. Nice place. Heard the bus terminal and cinema and others all torn down and now a new shopping mall. Never been there since the new mall was up.

some history about the place if you dun already know...

The japanese garden was relocated there because the original garden (next to chinese garden in jurong) burnt down.....the present MacDonald's came later....it was initially occupied by a shop selling lightings. Used to secretly go at night to catch fish in the pond.

At night the pavilions there were a favourite hanky panky place for many.

I remember going there very often with my sister and her husband.

yes, i know there is one in nex....if you into chicken then there is a few chicken joints like Broasters, Popeye's there as well.

Bt. Merah remembered they had the first 24 hours KFC...few doors away from the A&W's there....used to go to Dalit cinema which had an Orange Julius.

Wow man, you really can revive the warm nostalgic feeling. Dalit, hell I even forgotten about this now that you mentioned its near to the Bukit Merah library I think. The coffeeshop has very good claypot rice. Tio bo?

slight correction.....OJ was at the other cinema (forgot name).....Dalit became a church later as with many cinemas.....the original claypot rice moved to a coffeeshop in clementi.....the bukit merah coffeeshop boss took over the old stall...their claypot rice cmi....but the milfy boss is eye candy.

I guessed lots of changes there. I used to live near Clementi Central inside ....,Too bad I only live there for 4 years before moving to MacPherson. Nice place. Heard the bus terminal and cinema and others all torn down and now a new shopping mall. Never been there since the new mall was up.

Yeah, cinema and interchange torn down. Now there is a shopping centre without a cinema there. The government is smart to build hdb flats above the shopping centre to earn more money. Good location sells.

slight correction.....OJ was at the other cinema (forgot name).....Dalit became a church later as with many cinemas.....the original claypot rice moved to a coffeeshop in clementi.....the bukit merah coffeeshop boss took over the old stall...their claypot rice cmi....but the milfy boss is eye candy.

Hell so the Clementi claypot rice is originally from Bt Merah? Didn't know after dining there in Clementi so many times when living there. Knn now I damn hardup for claypot rice liao, what to do?

Yeah, cinema and interchange torn down. Now there is a shopping centre without a cinema there. The government is smart to build hdb flats above the shopping centre to earn more money. Good location sells.

I think I'll go have a look at Clementi next weekend when I go home and perhaps have some claypot rice. Ya good idea. Planning to be back from Thu to Sun.

No idea where to find claypot rice in BKK...

Clementi one....New Lucky Claypot Chicken Rice. Blk 328 Clementi Ave 2 #01-220. Tel: 6778 7808. Opening Hours: 12 noon - 1.30pm, 5pm - 8.30pm, Off on Wednesdays

Hell so the Clementi claypot rice is originally from Bt Merah? Didn't know after dining there in Clementi so many times when living there. Knn now I damn hardup for claypot rice liao, what to do?

I think I'll go have a look at Clementi next weekend when I go home and perhaps have some claypot rice. Ya good idea. Planning to be back from Thu to Sun.

No idea where to find claypot rice in BKK...

Clementi one....New Lucky Claypot Chicken Rice. Blk 328 Clementi Ave 2 #01-220. Tel: 6778 7808. Opening Hours: 12 noon - 1.30pm, 5pm - 8.30pm, Off on Wednesdays

Thank you Narong. I've been to this before when I lived in Clementi. If next week I go back I will surely go to Clementi to have a look. You can catch me in this coffeeshop with my usual bottle of Guinness.

Too bad I only live there for 4 years before moving to MacPherson. Nice place.

Joe you used to stay at Macpherson's Aljunied Chap Lau?

Aljunied 10-storey. I used to own the Boys' Club and the 79 Hawker Centre there. Ah Long San base camp too.

ah ram is it true that the sims ave, aljunied area is under 369 kuntong and he's the number 3 headman of the entire kuntong nick name fire dragon?

Ram what you guys usually do at the Boys's club? I remembered as a boy walking past there.. Back then staying with my Ah Ma at Circuit Rd..Ah Ram if you can still remember, they got this cool Macpherson Boy's Club T shirt back then in the 80s..