• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

where is your favourite mc donald outlet?

memories :D

4496761174_d7a7af4895.jpg

I don't think Sg ever had the MacDLT (slight left of centre.) It was a very novel idea. Pattie and fresh veggies were both kept in separate compartments until time to chow, then you put them both together - pattie still warm, veggies still crisp. Don't know why it didn't take off. Must be Mickey Dees suck.

No favorite outlet. 'Cept for their Breakfast Burritos, I really don't like Macs.

i hear they did away with the styrofoam cos of the environment and how it would damage the ozone layer when the styrofoam gets broken. up till now mac is still the most successful fast food franchise here. They also increased the price of their double cheesebuger and mac chicken. I would order these 2 with no coke rather than a meal cos i figured eating 2 burgers would be more healthy than french fries.

i hear they did away with the styrofoam cos of the environment and how it would damage the ozone layer when the styrofoam gets broken. up till now mac is still the most successful fast food franchise here....................................

Mac's is really on top of things in public concern which makes them the number one company in the world. Personally, their food is very ordinary (if not unhealthy, or to most it even sucks) - but I take my hat off to them for marketing. During the eighties (at the height of Reagan's popularity having rebuilt US confidence), I even saw a Mac's poster with an outlet in a Space Station brazenly showing the Golden Arches.

My favourite at Serene Center . Use to have big breakfast there with a ex after spending Friday night at her place .That place always smell nice because of a cookie shop .

Now no more? Space taken over by Thai joint Black Canyon?
Used to go there with my gf too back then when she was undergoing training at the nearby IE.

Liat Tower Was The First One In 1979

McDonald's opened its first restaurant in Singapore in 1979. And what an event it was! The world's highest volume of hamburgers was served that auspicious October day at Liat Towers. Today, 6000 staff in over 120 McDonald's restaurants across the island keep the McDonald's machine running ship-shape. Together, we serve 50 million customers every year.

Jan, 2000 - Hello Kitty McDonald's launched six exclusively designed pairs of limited edition Hello Kitty and Dear Daniel plushes in wedding attire. The most successful promotion to date, there were record sales of the plushes and 'Kitty Mania' made headlines around the world.

Jan, 2001 - New Hello Kitty and Dear Daniel plush series launched in Singapore ahead of the rest of the world Singaporeans' fascination with Hello Kitty and Dear Daniel prompted McDonald's to launch its new series of "Royal" Hello Kitty and Dear Daniel here, ahead of other countries.

I remember the Hello Kitty foray and fight that caused a glass door to break as reported in the news. My bro and I laughed - so funny ! These people were nuts. I didn't bother to queue up for such 'attraction' of the day.

2000kittyplush.jpg

Re: Liat Tower Was The First One In 1979

The 1990s were the golden era of fast food. Back then KFC and McDonalds were constantly trying to outdo each other with tit-for-tat promotions. McDonalds tried offering fried chicken. KFC had its unique Creole chicken and many interesting side orders (e.g. 'golden coins', onion rings). KFC also started the 'Colonel's country breakfast' to counter McDonald's breakfast menu.

Back then, BK's quality was better, and Long John Silver was not only very generous with its batter, its food was also not too salty, dry or burnt. Perhaps less outlets = better quality control, less complacency.

And no one can forget A&W with its waffles and root beer floats. My first taste of A&W food was at the zoo, back in the 1980s.

I Queenstown boy so naturally favoutlrite is jip-pun-huay-hng (Japanese Garden, Ridout Garden) same same Narong la. Somemore school just opposite New Town. But my time in sec sch still don't have Mac la.

I Think BK Is Heathier

Back then, BK's quality was better, and Long John Silver was not only very generous with its batter, its food was also not too salty, dry or burnt. Perhaps less outlets = better quality control, less complacency.

And no one can forget A&W with its waffles and root beer floats. My first taste of A&W food was at the zoo, back in the 1980s.

Yah, A&W was gone ! My fav outlet was Clementi - can hangout with friends and drinking root beer floats. Now, got Koi tea. BK is tastier, not so greasy and salty. Mc Don a bit cheapskate. Wendy's ?

I have a few favourites: West Coast Park (free parking, mcCafe and drive-thru), Ridout Garden (almost free parking), KAP (mei meis and drive-thru), Pasir Ris Central (new place not crowded and drive-thru).

Serene Centre Macs is stll open lah. Black Canyon rented another unit.

Re: I Think BK Is Heathier

Yah, A&W was gone ! My fav outlet was Clementi - can hangout with friends and drinking root beer floats. Now, got Koi tea. BK is tastier, not so greasy and salty. Mc Don a bit cheapskate. Wendy's ?

First burger in my life is the A&W Papa Burger from the outlet next to Cathay. Love A&W burgers because the meat is very juicy and full of fresh vegetables. Yes I do like the one at Clementi especially more and more are gone. Hey anyone remember Texas Church Fried Chicken? Beat KFC right?

Church's is back....used to go to the one at wisma.....recently wanted to relive memory and went to the one at nex but sadly disappointed. Now even popeye's is back....last time only got one outlet located at the airport.

Used to go for wendy's when in LOS to rekindle memories....used to pile up the salad at far east plaza. Tried the ones that came back in lau pa sat and Tampines....taste somewhat differs and no more salad buffet, my favourite chilli also taste different.

Back then had more fast food choices....anyone remembers hardees, orange julius and pizza joints like milano's and shaky's?

After the A&W at Clementi had closed down, a kopitiam (S-11) took its place. After that, the kopitiam too closed down. The shop space was vacated for some years, and now the entire block (Blk 445) is going to be demolished for enbloc.

This is the sand playground in front of the now vacant shop space:

https://intheweehours.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/old-clementi-playground/

I Queenstown boy so naturally favoutlrite is jip-pun-huay-hng (Japanese Garden, Ridout Garden) same same Narong la. Somemore school just opposite New Town. But my time in sec sch still don't have Mac la.
some history about the place if you dun already know...

The japanese garden was relocated there because the original garden (next to chinese garden in jurong) burnt down.....the present MacDonald's came later....it was initially occupied by a shop selling lightings. Used to secretly go at night to catch fish in the pond.

At night the pavilions there were a favourite hanky panky place for many.

japanese garden at ridout rd. actually more accurately, the location should be along queensway. althought the services there stink, the pleasant environment is a consolation. the kids just love to watch and feed the terrapins which are over crowding an algae infested pond.