What's the point of having our National Anthem and Langugage being in Malay?

As you've studied it, you'd know that Bahasa Kebangsaan means National Language, 国语。

You must understand that there're four official languages, English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil. Of these four official languages, English is the first language and Malay is the national language. Whatever language we want to speak at home or in the streets, that's our personal affairs.

Oi kotek .... lu drunk atau apa ? Blah blah blah .....

Committee tell u look into tender issue, lu pergi kaypoh PE binya .... this is infuriating to say the least ......:mad::oIo::D

Encik Erotica. Tak boleh tukar bahasa negara kita. Bahasa Melayu ialah dan mesti bahasa negara Singapura.

en cheek!, sa pa lu char kap?? we sing the national anthem..ma li gi ta. ra yak sing ga pool la! lah! ha ha ha. During my time, Malay was our third language, it was no an examination subject but was a requirement, up to Secondary School. Slowly over the years, the younger generation do not even know a single word of Malay...never mind singing the Anthem in Malay!!

do they bother Bahasa Melayu, bahasa Negara SINgapura..skaran Bahasa Negara SINgaura, Bahasa Cina!!:p

Sg is smack right in the centre of the Malay Archipelago. Her National Language is Malay.

If the language of her anthem is is to be changed, it has to be for the benefit of the majority of her citizens. Their language is Singlish. Not English.

Oi kotek .... lu drunk atau apa ? Blah blah blah .....

Committee tell u look into tender issue, lu pergi kaypoh PE binya .... this is infuriating to say the least ......:mad::oIo::D

mimum chivas neat lah! encik!...my tiong kok neighbour complain, my assam ikan pedas cooking smell, they dak boleh tahan!

You must understand that there're four official languages, English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil. Of these four official languages, English is the first language and Malay is the national language. Whatever language we want to speak at home or in the streets, that's our personal affairs.

english mandarin malay & tamil..... i wonder y they choose tamil?? tamil is the 2nd main language of sri lanka and a dialect of India...

Most of the Indians were indentured laborourers from Southern India, there were Ceylonese ( Sri Lanakans) here, as well..if most of them were from Northern India..Hindi may had been the language instead of Tamil.

i concur as well...but most chinese were from Fujian or Southern Fujian....how come min nan/hokkien is not chosen instead of the national language of china?? besides Hindi is the national language of India...whether you are from north south east west....if an Indian cant speak hindi...hes definitely not from India...either from Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh or sri Lanka

I think Tamil established in Singapore before there was an united and independent India with Hindi as national language. Beijing Mandarin has been national language of China I don't know how many centuries ago.

At least I know Ramseth is a young boy. Go look at old posters. Malay, Chinese, Indian, English. Pap was trying very hard to be politically correct then.

If you know Chinese History, you know the North of The Yangtze or South of The Yangtze...and who was the centre of the 'universe' that Mandarin was chosen to be the National Language or common language.

Maybe this from wiki...

The official languages of the Republic of India are Standard Hindi and English. According to the article 343 (1), "The Official Language of the Union shall be Hindi in Devanagari script."[21] The individual states can legislate their own official languages, depending on their linguistic demographics. For example,the state of Maharashtra has Marathi as its sole official language, the state of Punjab has Punjabi as its sole official language, the state of Andhra Pradesh has Telugu as its sole official language, the state of Tamil Nadu has Tamil as its sole official language and the state of Karnataka has Kannada as its sole official language and the state of Kerala has Malayalam as its sole official language, while the state of Jammu and Kashmir has Kashmiri, Urdu, and Dogri as its official languages.

Article 345 of the Indian constitution provides recognition to "official languages" of the union to include Standard Hindi or any one or more of the languages adopted by a state legislature as the official language. Until the Twenty-First Amendment of the Constitution in 1967, the country recognised 14 official regional languages. The Eighth Schedule and the Seventy-First Amendment provided for the inclusion of Sindhi, Konkani, Meiteilon and Nepali, thereby increasing the number of official regional languages of India to 18.[22] Individual states, whose borders are mostly drawn on socio-linguistic lines, are free to decide their own language for internal administration and education.

The following table lists the official languages, aside from English, set out in the eighth schedule as of May 2008

I don't get it. Why don't they change our National Language to English?? After that, change the National Anthem to English too?

:rolleyes:

lianbeng replies, "that enchik who composed our national anthem had passed away and no one else could take over him lor.":D

oredi got ppl say earlier ... juz take 1 lady guagua song n change ze lyrics la ...