• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What's the BEST food you ever ate?

uncle botak, care to tell us what is your favourite food? i think this is a very important question, bet many wants to know as well......

so that we can avoid!!
skali he tel u iz rice! ... :eek:

GoldenDragon said:
For kiam chye ark thng, the best in S'pore is at Sin Min kpt. That stall always long queues from 12-1pm. Ah Orh Teochew Seafood (branch) and a famous bak kut teh stall also there.

Also in the next coffee shop that same stretch, you can find some solid double boiled herbal soup. Cheap and good. Boiled in very large urns.

Catch a stray dog and cook it is the best as my Viet GF showed me how to do it last year. She was only worried if police would arrest her. I reassured her, if you know how to slaughter and cook it, I'd protect you from police. No wonder not many stray dogs around nowadays. Many Viet dog eaters around nowadays. But really, dog is delicious.

That's one weird woman. Hungry was she?? :rolleyes: So what does 'mans best friend' taste like or compare with?

Thanks for the info. I do know about the Sin Ming KPT. Many hidden gems in that area.
Tried to do Kiam Chye Ark myself many times in but something is just not there.

After NS, I was dead broke and working part-time nights and studying full-time days. Most days I would skip lunch and for dinner I would pack a bun with luncheon meat and lettuce from home.

One night I decided to pamper myself and bought a pack of Myojo tom-yam noodles and a small can of Narcisscus spiced pork cubes. And I sat down to the most unforgettable and delicious meal of my life.

After NS, I was dead broke and working part-time nights and studying full-time days. Most days I would skip lunch and for dinner I would pack a bun with luncheon meat and lettuce from home.

One night I decided to pamper myself and bought a pack of Myojo tom-yam noodles and a small can of Narcisscus spiced pork cubes. And I sat down to the most unforgettable and delicious meal of my life.

Myojo big prawn spicy soup noodle is best. Of course no real big prawn in the the pack. Only noodle and spice powder. Want add real big prawn buy extra yourself and throw into the boiling soup. Best lah bro!

Teochew porridge :p

2 Bowls of hot porridge
Small helpings of the following:
-- chye por egg
-- half a salted egg
-- chye buay
-- cabbage
-- fish cake
-- crispy baby sotong
-- lup cheong
-- sambal haebee
-- braised duck
-- otak
Large helping of the pound chilli sauce with vinegar and garlic

:) :p

best food i ever had was Army combat ration..slurp slurp...the stone biscuit..

1. bros, nothing beats homecooked meals hk style mah!
2. for me, soup, soup, and soup!
3. lunch and dinner too.
4. best food eaten outside home: "Foie gras"

That stone biscuit is only nice with hot milo.

i cannot think of any other way to eat it

true ..i will put the biscuit inside the hot drink..let it soften and then drank it..slurp slurp...

On a cold rainy night inside the bunk, the biscuit really taste nice along with a mug of hot piping Milo...

so we can agree our stone biscuit is the best food we ever ate...hahaha..

funnily, the best food seemed to be home cooked food.

the best soup is the watercress soup by my grandma...with fatty pork, the soup is delicious

and the best steamed fish by her too...black talipia, dunno how she steam...i suspect with lard....but the gravy is delicious...can finish 2 bowl of rice just with the gravy

dog meat - tried dog meat soup in Korea, but with a very powerful smell...nothing special...maybe the fried / claypot version will be better...LOL

best sashimi goto be otoro...hands down...the fatty after taste is heavenly...got to savor while blue fin is still around...

Black Olive ?

sdc10647_thumb.jpg

Just porriage with sunnyside up and pickles.

At the time when we were dirt poor.

Wait ... I thought the poorest people I heard was eating rice water with black olive or or 'kana' ? The 'ancient' Sinkies were poor coolies or something. The last time ma friend brought me to a hawker centre to eat this tasteless porridge with salty stuff. Well, they call it plain which supposed to mean "good for health", I guess. When the Commies came here the government official let them taste this to let them have an idea of what the 'ancient' coolies had been eating when they came to Sinkieland.

We tried bacon strips over the turkey, with basting every twenty-minutes or so (from an episode of Martha Stewart) and the turkey was nice and moist. Still, it is quite troublesome compared to other meat dishes. However, once in a blue moon, when in the mood, it isn't too bad.

I do that once a month, as for soft and tender turkey,

Cut the back bone, so turkey will be flat, rub your seasoning under the skin. ( marinated it for more than 24 hrs) day of roasting turkey, depening on weight and how long you need to bake.

cover with tin foil for the first 3 hrs, bast the turkey with the juice from turkey evry 1 hrs for last 1 to 1 1/2 hrs remove tin foil to roast till brown , you need to bast it every hr.

your turkey will be soft and juicy not dry and rubbery.