• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What will you do if you are trapped?

If you say so:D

i dont say so , its the fact...theres many proof that prayer does not work at all ;) try asking amputees to pray for a leg or ask the sky to rain gold ..and you will know what i mean ;)

prayer dont work ...two hands working can do more than a thousand clasped in prayer ;)

If not enough, 2 legs also start to kick! Like Marx said, 'religion is the opium of the people'. Better to depend on oneself.

But the MRT one worked, no one was hurt or injured.:):D

i dont say so , its the fact...theres many proof that prayer does not work at all ;) try asking amputees to pray for a leg or ask the sky to rain gold ..and you will know what i mean ;)

If not enough, 2 legs also start to kick! Like Marx said, 'religion is the opium of the people'. Better to depend on oneself.

ya lor if prayer works then all temples and churches steeple with a lightning rod for what ? scare kena kena by lightning is it ? ;)

Does the video give sufficient assurance for passengers to act independently?

the video provides enough information for astute and watchful passengers with leadership abilities only. passengers who are conditioned in the sinkie way of relying solely on authorities (including blaming them for everything) will not act intelligently no matter how much info you throw at them. too little info, they will complain and cast blame later; too much info, they kpkb and then ignore or too stressed to absorb details. same everywhere in any country. infomercials and safety messages are fully absorbed only by few persons with a proclivity towards future dangers and risks. these are the same persons who made it in life on their own. they are the natural born leaders of any society. the messages are specially designed for them, hoping one or two will be present with sheep to lead them out of harm's way.

Reasons were given for the breakdown, and in rectrospect there was no danger..........in rectrospect. But what cause the claws to loosen:confused: After COI, then we know, I guess.

There was never any danger, perceived or otherwise........I feel relief now.:p

the root cause might be publicized as dropped claws that held the 3rd rail together. but what caused claws to loosen and fall off are still of great speculation. reports from local papers claimed that special tracks designed to dampen vibrations to buildings in the urban core might have contributed to vibrations in the tracks, including joints with claws in the 3rd rail. this may be valid as vibrational energy needs to be dissipated somewhere. if it is not absorbed and dissipated in the surroundings including ground and buildings, it will dissipate on tracks and anything connected to the track system. i only visited sg for 2 weeks, and in the week when failures happened, i learned all these pieces of nuggets from all the disconnected dots. it may turn out that the powerful private real estate lobby has a hand in the track re-design and counter measures to transfer destructive energies from surroundings back to mrt tracks.

Survival instinct will take over, doing everything and anything to remove the perceived threat.

About 95% Sinkie have lost their survival instinct. Go JB even with few gut NS train kena rob by few Ah Beng. Take taxi in Vietnam some more is SG police also being carrot cake.
Too sad that the truth.

Maybe in future, a salegirl will author one titled "How I got fucked".:)
Young or old...tat wat most ask when taking courses...now u noe y ONI 1 fella break window...n not much creative sinkie around...haizz...:D:D

A good thread.I would further add.That MRT MUST have a SOP,that in an event no instructions from office head-office or whatever within 20 mins.The driver takes over with his/her initiative and evacuate the passengers.All drivers must be trained by the SMRT for such an eventuality .Which of course follows that in an event with no instructions from the driver within 30 mins than the commuters are free to break loose themselves and walk to the nearest station.Commuters can be educated by SMRT or LTA through TV and other campaigns.

The biggest problem lies in what if the commuters with or without the driver's imitative ,while on evacuation,runs into an on coming train or kill themselves by being electrocuted .This is where the SMRT must overhaul it's system that any breakdown more than 20 mins in any of it's line must trigger safety valves for evacuation.It automatically follows that just as SMRT has clear markings and charts above any of it's station it must also have such signs and marking below in the tunnel illuminated .Because if pilots can die suddenly MRT drivers can too.Therefore commuters having to evacuate themselves must be forecasted.

The hitch is,that it can always be argued that it's better to wait 1 hour in train,while help arrives, than commuters or with the help of the driver evacuating themselves since the over-all time taken by such intiative may be much longer,as passengers need to be accounted and etc.But the gist is that the over all safety as human is paramount .You can put canned sardines on hold for a whole day or even animals for few hours but the physical and psychological damage caused is tremendous.

COI for MRT,please take note.

In addition to my first post.

Imagine if you are not in the train, but your child or wife/husband, or mother is in the train;

4. How will you hope that your family members/individuals would have reacted, if they are in the train?

5. For those who said that they will ascertain the suitation and reaction accordingly; Can your aforementioned family members handle the situation in the same manner?

Reference to the recent train breakdown, I still could not reconcile the fact that all passengers except one smashed the window, whereas the rest just sat and waited, even though there was no announcements in the trains (I hope I gotten this fact correct).

Many of us would have friends, family members, kids, relatives and colllegues using the MRTee one time or other. What if this occurs again due to other reasons?

Public was told that they couldn't handle a terrorist incident in the youtube video at 00:1:55. Even if in future, there is a plan; Who can guarantee that contigent plan will work?

That leads me to the following questions hope forummers can participate and get the thoughts going:

1. What will you do if you are trapped in the train without any announcement to keep the passengers informed?
2. How long will you wait in silence before reacting?
3. If you decided to react and smash windows or pry the doors, what will be your worries?

I am just writing this in the hope that people can get out of harms way if there is an eventuality, because my family memebers or friends may also be in the thick of it.:(

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/4-g5ed_CXVs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

In addition to my first post.

Imagine if you are not in the train, but your child or wife/husband, or mother is in the train;

4. How will you hope that your family members/individuals would have reacted, if they are in the train?

5. For those who said that they will ascertain the suitation and reaction accordingly; Can your aforementioned family members handle the situation in the same manner?

My family member will act like most Sinkie wait wait wait.
Too bad that the fact.

there is an intercom system to the driver in every carriage right?

after 10 minutes without announcement, use the intercom and ask the driver what is wrong. Ask him to open the doors if there is lack of oxygen.

if the driver says no, break the windows.

there is an intercom system to the driver in every carriage right?

after 10 minutes without announcement, use the intercom and ask the driver what is wrong. Ask him to open the doors if there is lack of oxygen.

if the driver says no, break the windows.

U really Sinkie wait to die.
Train driver should be the one inform passenger what happen within 1 min/less.
Not wait 10 min use intercom to call driver.

For me.
10 min no announcement no aircon/fan function. I will smash the window also. That why many train prepare glass breaker/hammer in case of emergency. If not why need to put such hammer in the train.
Why need to worry break the glass in case of the emergency. Even bus example overturn and block the door. Of course need to break the glass right to exit. Sinkie will lan lan sit and wait some one or fireman come to break the glass.
Just like airplane. If emergency landing with fire or on the water. Then need to open the emergency door.
There once air stewardess ask me to exchange seat to sit next to the emergency door because the passenger assign to that seat not understand or uncomfortable. I tell her Ok and don't worry.
Sinkie will die in emergency because all are waiting for order what to do.

When the situation is really bad breaking one window or more depending on the number of people trapped will be the right thing to do. The glass on the door is too small for escape.

Many a years ago I was a station staff working for MRT. Back then there were no large gates for prams and disable people to enter the station to take the trains. 1 day while sitting in the control room I noticed an expecting mother having trouble entering the station with her pram. Feeling good hearted and pityful for the mom I opened the survice gate for her to enter and helpped her to the platform. However when she alighted at orchard station the station manager refuse to help her and when he found out I used the survice gate to let her pram in he made a hell of a complain all the way to the top. I kana lecture by 2 ASPs about rules and procedures 1 from ord base and the other from my base and kana warning. So what I am trying to say is don't blame the train driver they do not dare to do anything if not stated in the rule book for fear of of getting a warning and having their bonus doced.
Now back to kana stuck in a SMRT train for a long time :
1. Don't panic if everything goes according to plan you got 45mins of eme. lighting and fresh air fan ( NOT AIRCON HOR! ). This is from the UPS batt. from the train.
2. After 45mins pray to your maker having cooped in that cabin for 45mins the batt. in the train starts to fail and there goes your fresh air. This is the time u see if the control sup at occ got the sense to on the tunnel fans to pump in fresh O2 and if the train driver the the balls to call occ to ask permission to open the train doors to let in the O2 ( Its not in the rule book and its not sop )
3. Now worst case.
a)The train is packed,
b)The fans stopped working,
c)No fresh air is comming in as the trains are quite sealed,
d)After 45mins due to lack of O2 paxs starts to faint,
e)Very much later CO2 build up in the cabins and 1 by 1 of you go meet your makers due to CO2 poisoning :)

So what you think am I talking cock or am I right. Now u know why SMRT, LTA and Police did not KPKB when people start breaking the windows after being trapped so long in the train.