• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What will you do if you are trapped?

Unrepented

Reference to the recent train breakdown, I still could not reconcile the fact that all passengers except one smashed the window, whereas the rest just sat and waited, even though there was no announcements in the trains (I hope I gotten this fact correct).

Many of us would have friends, family members, kids, relatives and colllegues using the MRTee one time or other. What if this occurs again due to other reasons?

Public was told that they couldn't handle a terrorist incident in the youtube video at 00:1:55. Even if in future, there is a plan; Who can guarantee that contigent plan will work?

That leads me to the following questions hope forummers can participate and get the thoughts going:

1. What will you do if you are trapped in the train without any announcement to keep the passengers informed?
2. How long will you wait in silence before reacting?
3. If you decided to react and smash windows or pry the doors, what will be your worries?

I am just writing this in the hope that people can get out of harms way if there is an eventuality, because my family memebers or friends may also be in the thick of it.:(

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/4-g5ed_CXVs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

..... with a revolver, an ah neh and five poisonous snakes ? :eek:

For me.
10 min no announcement no aircon/fan function. I will smash the window also. That why many train prepare glass breaker/hammer in case of emergency. If not why need to put such hammer in the train.
Why need to worry break the glass in case of the emergency. Even bus example overturn and block the door. Of course need to break the glass right to exit. Sinkie will lan lan sit and wait some one or fireman come to break the glass.
Just like airplane. If emergency landing with fire or on the water. Then need to open the emergency door.
There once air stewardess ask me to exchange seat to sit next to the emergency door because the passenger assign to that seat not understand or uncomfortable. I tell her Ok and don't worry.
Sinkie will die in emergency because all are waiting for order what to do.

1. Emergency seat good, can see stewardess underwear during landing and takeoff:D:o

2. Is ten minutes too long? What were your assumptions that you decide on ten minutes?

For me.
10 min no announcement no aircon/fan function. I will smash the window also. That why many train prepare glass breaker/hammer in case of emergency. If not why need to put such hammer in the train.
Why need to worry break the glass in case of the emergency. Even bus example overturn and block the door. Of course need to break the glass right to exit. Sinkie will lan lan sit and wait some one or fireman come to break the glass.
Just like airplane. If emergency landing with fire or on the water. Then need to open the emergency door.
There once air stewardess ask me to exchange seat to sit next to the emergency door because the passenger assign to that seat not understand or uncomfortable. I tell her Ok and don't worry.

1. Emergency seat good, can see stewardess underwear during landing and takeoff:D:o

2. Is ten minutes too long? What were your assumptions that you decide on ten minutes?

I estimate 10 min because never trap before dont know the situation. If really unbearable then even 1 min or less will break the window.

Assuming no further info on situation, will you stay in the train or leave the train?

I estimate 10 min because never trap before dont know the situation. If really unbearable then even 1 min or less will break the window.

It depend if have fire sure leave if stay sure die . If no danger stay on because no light and might have power on the rail haven't cut off .

Seems like you are the only one thinking:o

But if no announcements, how you know there is no danger:confused:

It depend if have fire sure leave if stay sure die . If no danger stay on because no light and might have power on the rail haven't cut off .

Initiative ?

For me.

Government did not say so mah. Some will just wait till there is a fainting or an emergency situation. Perhaps, that was the last straw. Or else, most will think that it will be unsafe to venture out without any proper advice.

Survival instinct will take over, doing everything and anything to remove the perceived threat.

1. What will you do if you are trapped in the train without any announcement to keep the passengers informed?

Dey...me oso not sure coz neber kena b4...got 10 yr series 2 refer 2 onot ar? :confused::D:p

go towards the emergency exit and see if it can be opened manually. the sg mrt has an emergency exit at the end of the last car. observed the video more than 2 weeks ago while visiting. does anyone watch the video for emergency drills or train breakdowns in tunnels? it comes up occasionally if you 're observant.

Does the video give sufficient assurance for passengers to act independently?

go towards the emergency exit and see if it can be opened manually. the sg mrt has an emergency exit at the end of the last car. observed the video more than 2 weeks ago while visiting. does anyone watch the video for emergency drills or train breakdowns in tunnels? it comes up occasionally if you 're observant.

Were the passengers too complacent..........that's the question.

S'poreans are generally complacent by nature. We leave everything to the cheng hu. No mind of our own. But when faced with an imminent threat to our dear lives and with no PAP around to babysit us, I opine S'poreans will react accordingly. That's why I said survival instinct takes over.

Reasons were given for the breakdown, and in rectrospect there was no danger..........in rectrospect. But what cause the claws to loosen:confused: After COI, then we know, I guess.

There was never any danger, perceived or otherwise........I feel relief now.:p

S'poreans are generally complacent by nature. We leave everything to the cheng hu. No mind of our own. But when faced with an imminent threat to our dear lives and with no PAP around to babysit us, I opine S'poreans will react accordingly. That's why I said survival instinct takes over.

religious ppl will tell you they pray ;)