What happened to those big black moths ?

NanoRay

I remember when I was a kid at the certain time of the year I would see those eerie big black moths with the shape of a butterfly appearing in the corners of HDB staircases, and sometimes in our house.

I don't seem to see them anymore.

I remember when I was a kid at the certain time of the year I would seek big black moths with the shape of a butterfly appearing in the corners of HDB staircases, and sometimes in our house.

Tiongs catch them and eat.

I remember when I was a kid at the certain time of the year I would see those eerie big black moths with the shape of a butterfly appearing in the corners of HDB staircases, and sometimes in our house.

when i was young, i saw a huge bat above the roof of a sheltered carpark, the wingspan is like a human stretching his arms.
https://www.mandai.com/en/singapore-zoo/animals-and-zones/malayan-flying-fox.html

recent years report
https://mothership.sg/2020/06/flying-foxes-yishun/

My grandmother used to tell me that they're spirits of dead relatives coming back to visit.

Maybe there is a serial killer in your neighbourhood.

They de-metamorphosized into this.....

Image result for shanmugan singapore mp

Few years back there's this giant moth with a broken wing that flew inside my house around 1am. It couldn't fly at all so I took out my macro lens and have a close-up shot of the bugger. I left in on the field downstairs and next day it wasn't there anymore..... I suspect eaten by birds liao.
GPGT.

IMG_COM_20230220_1338_16_8753.jpg

i think 10-15 years back got a lot flew here from M'sia..................had a couple in my home..................when i whacked them, all turned to black powder leh................